Super Tuesday Recap - Comic Book & TV Show Reviews

Follow Super Tuesday Recap - Comic Book & TV Show Reviews
Share on
Copy link to clipboard

Super Tuesday isn’t just for politics anymore. Now it represents the day of the week where we get CW’s The Flash and ABC’s Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD back to back. Dpalm and Kriss are here to recap and nerd out about both shows. Join Us. We also cover Arrow & Legends of Tomorrow and Shanna & the Doct…

MTR Network


    • Jul 10, 2022 LATEST EPISODE
    • weekly NEW EPISODES
    • 44m AVG DURATION
    • 295 EPISODES

    4.9 from 90 ratings Listeners of Super Tuesday Recap - Comic Book & TV Show Reviews that love the show mention: kriss and dpalm, agents of shield, legends of tomorrow, super tuesday, recap shows, character corner, comic book knowledge, guysnightmovies, mtr network, flash, aos, arrow, dies, it's impossible, universes, egypt, thanks guys and keep, unlimited, review show, great companion.



    Search for episodes from Super Tuesday Recap - Comic Book & TV Show Reviews with a specific topic:

    Latest episodes from Super Tuesday Recap - Comic Book & TV Show Reviews

    The Flash Season 8 Episode 19 & 20 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 10, 2022 39:54


    Kriss and Dpalm wrap up this last season of The Flash. Overall we liked what they did here but there are definitely some moments that felt rushed towards the end. It's also very clear that they were taking some big themes from the Williamson run.  We also talk about the latest in the Ezra Miller saga and just how much of a bind WB is in with the Flash movie. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash Season 8 Episodes 17 & 18 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 21, 2022 37:27


    We're back after a little bit of a break to talk about the last two episodes of the Flash. We get the guy that always makes Flash episodes better, Thawne. And this time what's better than one Thawne? Two Thawnes. I don't care if Thawne has lost his memory and found love, he's never to be trusted. Never. On sight. ON SIGHT. There are two more episodes left and we know that Thawne is going to be part of that. So that's going to be fun. It's a little sad that they seemed to close the door on Diggle becoming a Green Lantern but with CW being sold, we get it.  Oh and we have to talk about the "other" Flash, Ezra Miller. What a dumpster fire that is. WB is in a tough spot to have a star that at the center of your multiverse plan being what seems like, a groomer. Can't be good.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Halo Season 1 Episodes 8 to 9 - This is Not a Good Show

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 6, 2022 59:07


    Halo Season 1 was not good. Let's just get that out of the way right now. This isn't coming from the perspective of a Halo stan/fan. Objectively, this show was a mess. It had no idea what story it wanted to tell and whenever it got a decent idea of a good story, it would then shuffle off to something no one cared about. Episodes 8 & 9 weren't bad, but coming off of that terrible episode 7 there was really no where to go but up anyway. The the real problem with episodes 8 & 9 are that they should have been episodes 4 & 5 and been the focus of the story the whole time. Instead because they weren't, so much gets crammed into them that they are illogical and the key points don't hit how they should. This show has some good action scenes and there are some good ones in 8 & 9 but it seems like overall the show is allergic to the thing it does best. Considering there's no follow up on Kwan and what they were trying to do in episode 7, one has to wonder why that was even a storyline to waste time on in season 1. But the entire first season of this show is full of that kind of confusing nonsense.  We also need to talk about how this show does a terrible job with female characters. It seems to fall into that old trope of "Oh look, this female character has emotion so let's show her being irrational and compromised." It was bad enough when they did it with Kai-125 but then they turn around and did it with Makee in the last 2 episodes. Makee goes from unflinching coldness when killing a whole ship of people to being a frail, scared woman holding a gun cause she fell in love with John and got some dick after 1 day? Come on. It's insulting.  Halo is getting a second season but it doesn't deserve it. The writing and execution of season 1 was a huge disappointment. Rewarding this show with a second season is just going to reenforce all the things it did wrong.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash Season 8 Episodes 15 & 16 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 1, 2022 42:31


    Kriss and Dpalm discuss the last two episodes of the Flash. This season has felt disjointed. The way that things are unfolding don't make a lot of sense. The show goes from caring about Iris disappearing in episode 15 to opening with a fun D&D game. Then there's the fact that nobody checked on Caitlyn until the very end of episode 16. And when Barry does, he basically turns her into a villain. It's all just really weird. We also discuss some random news and trailers that have come out over the last 2 week.s  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Star Trek Picard Season Two Ep 10 Farewell- Vibes

    Play Episode Listen Later May 21, 2022 64:42


    Okay time to wrap this up. Picard Season Two was a bit of a mess operating mostly off of vibes and good will. We get into why we like what we like from this season and a lot of what we did not like from this season. Overall, this was a C+ for us, but we will keep watching Picard for Season 3 to see what the TNG Crew will do.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S813 & S8E14 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later May 17, 2022 35:29


    Kriss & Dpalm review the last two episodes of The Flash Season 8: Death Falls and Funeral for a Friend. Death Falls sees Frost sacrifice herself to stop Death Storm and well...it's a choice. Didn't seem like it was entirely necessary to do that but maybe they're working on something else with this storyline considering what we see Caitlyn do at the end of 14. Episode 14 though is just...not good. It didn't seem well thought out. We get what they were trying to do but the execution just wasn't there. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Halo Season 1 Episodes 5 to 7

    Play Episode Listen Later May 11, 2022 56:56


    Halo Season 1 is such an incredibly frustrating and disappointing show. That in itself is an amazing feat since before the first episode, we really had no expectations for this show. But the first two episodes (particularly the opening of the first episode) really showed a lot of great potential. What followed though was a disjointed and inconsistent show that is suffering from an identity crisis that would put Marc Spector to shame. This season constantly sets up rules which it doesn't follow. In the first episodes, Master Chief and Silver Team are heavily monitored. But since then, Kai has been completely off her meds and doing weird shit and no one seems to notice but Master Chief. Nothing makes sense.  And then there's episode 7. Hands down the worst episode of the season. This show has done everything to make Kwan not likable and then they make the character the center of an episode that structurally just doesn't make sense. All the sudden Soren is back home (with no real explanation), doing another job but then comes back to save Kwan? What? Why? This is so dumb.  Can Halo stick the landing in the last 2 episodes of this season? Probably not. At this point the hope is that they hit the drawing board when it comes to Season 2 and start fixing things.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Moon Knight Season 1 Episode 6 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later May 7, 2022 41:02


    One thing fans need to realize with these Disney+ series is that even if some are only mini-series, they're never meant to be the end of the story when the season/series comes to a close but a beginning. And the finale of Moon Knight clearly shows that. Marvel has listed episode 6 now as a season finale instead of series finale. But will there be another season? Who knows. But what we do know is that what they did with the characters here is clearly meant to carry on. From turning Layla into the Scarlet Scarab to revealing Jake Lockley in the after credit scene, it's very clear that the is more to these characters that Marvel is planning on continuing on with.  This entire series has been nothing but character studies. Even Khonshu vs Ammit is a battle of philosophies and extremes (and both maybe wrong). It's truly amazing what Marvel does in only 6 episodes but it's also worth noting that because they have so many avenues to revisit these characters on screen, it's really a cheat code. They don't have to tell a whole, complete story because they always have the option of spreading it out into additional movies and TV series. Moon Knight is definitely one of their more unique offerings. It helps to have someone like Oscar Isaac who has such great chemistry with himself (lol).   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Moon Knight Season 1 Episode 5 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later May 2, 2022 56:57


    The penultimate episode of Moon Knight really shows the strength of Marvel's Disney+ series when it comes to diving into characters and exploring what makes them tick. This episode sees us get the backstory on why the Steven (and Jake) personalities exist. And it's kinda heartbreaking. Instead of being a weakness, Steven was created to be a strength for Marc. Marc having to come to terms with all of his memories and experiences to balance his scales made for a great watch. In the larger picture, it also shows how the MCU can use these shows to give us the character studies and background on characters in these limited series without needing to use that time in the movies.  This is a busy upcoming week. We have the final episode of Moon Knight as well as Doctor Strange and the Multiverse of Madness hitting theaters. The embargo for the film is up at midnight on the 3rd so get your filters ready if you're trying to avoid spoilers..   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E12 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later May 2, 2022 30:11


    The Flash is back this week and Barry is stuck cleaning up everyone's mess. Barry is so much better than us because he's not petty and doesn't bring up the fact that Caitlyn and the rest of the team are the reason Death Storm is here. We get it. It's family. But Iris is also going through some wild shit and Barry would have been well within his right to tell them all "You created this mess, you clean it up while I go take care of my wife". But like we said. Barry is much better than us. We also talk about more shakeups at DC. Sadly Legends of Tomorrow and Batwoman are officially cancelled. What does that mean for the other CW projects that were announced? Will next season be the last season of The Flash? It's starting to look like the era of superhero shows on CW is coming to an end. It's kinda sad but then it's also been almost a decade and it's been a great ride.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Moon Knight Season 1 Episode 4 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 25, 2022 52:11


    It continues to be amazing how much stuff gets packed into each episode of Moon Knight without it feeling too crammed. It's hard to believe there's only 2 episodes left. This episode starts off as a Mummy-like expedition with Steven and Layla trying to make it to Amunet's tomb before Arthur and his cult. And they're trying to do it without Marc or Khonshu. And it goes about as well as you would expect.  And then there's the end. Pulled straight from Jeff Lemire's 2016 run. Giving us just enough to wonder if this whole thing was made up in Marc's head but then also showing us that no, no this is very real. Also gotta love that Marc and Steven knew to leave Jake in his sarcophagus.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E11 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 25, 2022 28:42


    This is one of those episodes where we missed having Cisco. Because we go this entire episodes with Caitlyn talking about resurrecting Ronnie and no one made a Pet Sematary reference about how this was not a good idea. Barry had the right idea that this probably shouldn't be happening and Cecile's powers are never wrong. But no one wanted to listen so now we have Death Storm. What could possibly go wrong? Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Halo Season 1 Episodes 3 & 4 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 19, 2022 33:32


    The first episode of Halo opened up strong and while we appreciate them trying to build out the world and a larger story, we really want them to get back to what got us in the door. We're in a golden age of streaming TV shows right now and what we've learned is that you can tell a really great story without needing 22 episodes. Halo has a 9 episode first season and each episode is almost an hour. Yet it doesn't feel as if the show is using that time efficiently to tell its story. We haven't seen Master Chief (or Silver Team) in action since that first drop-in during episode 1 and that's really a shame.  That doesn't mean that the story they're telling is bad. It's not. It just needs to be supplemented with more action. Right now the show isn't playing to Pablo Schreiber's strong suit. It's funny because The Mandalorian had the perfect blueprint for how to do this but Halo is really struggling to figure out exactly what story it's trying to tell and how to tell it. There are still some interesting things it's trying to do and plenty of time for it to right the ship. Let's hope they can.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Moon Knight Season 1 Episode 3 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 18, 2022 51:33


    Episode 3 of Moon Knight picks up the action as Marc, Layla and Khonshu head to Cairo to stop Arthur and it doesn't go well. First off, we get more confirmation of the 3rd personality (Jake) as things get a bit more violent and neither Marc or Steven know who was in control. Also we see why Khonshu is kinda on the outs with the rest of the Gods. Even when he's right and they should be listening, he comes off as completely unhinged. Both Marc and Khonshu look completely out of control compared to Arthur. It's one of those things that shows that you can convince people you aren't a threat by keeping a cool head and acting completely unthreatening.  Halfway through the season Moon Knight has done a great job of keeping the spirit of the characters while making much needed changes. Layla is clearly supposed to be more like Marlene but with much more agency and a much better character overall. We're also clearly on a journey to see all of Marc's personalities come to terms with each other (along with Khonshu). This is the first time we've seen Khonshu actually be nice to Steven and not talk down to him. Making each personality have their own skillset has really paid off. Listen as Ro, Kriss and Dpalm talk about episode 3 of Moon Knight.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Moon Knight Season 1 Episode 2

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 12, 2022 34:13


    Marvel has gotten pretty good at getting a lot of story into a short amount of time with their Disney+ series and Moon Knight is no exception. We get our first appearance of "Mr. Knight" with Steven summoning his version of the suit. This series has been surprisingly funny and part of that has to do with how out of his depth Steven is. This series is continuing the theme of the hero needing to find peace with themselves and in this case, Steven/Marc (and possibly Jake) are literally having to do the same thing inside of one person. Add in the very petty, violent and annoyed Khonshu and this is one of those times when maybe you do need to listen to the voices in your head.  But that also is what makes Arthur such a good villain. As the former avatar for Khonshu he knows exactly what Steven/Marc are hearing from him and how much of a blunt instrument Khonshu treats his avatars. But this is why Arthur is so dangerous. Because he's smoothly talking people into killing kids. Among other things.  Listen as Kriss, Ro and Dpalm talk about the latest episode of Moon Knight.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E10 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 11, 2022 26:07


    It's hard to tell what was more reckless this episode. Frost and her mother using her as bait to lure the Black Flame or Iris knowing she has this unknown sickness going around and still trying to track down Tinya's mother. We know which one caused the bigger issue. Iris out her blinking people out of existence. It does make us think that the end of this season really will be Iris being taken to the future.  Also the WB/Discovery deal is done and so now the questions are: What now? There's a Flash movie coming out with a troubled star (Replacing Miller with Gustin just isn't going to happen). And there are all the delayed movies. It's all just one big mess that a new team is going to have to sort out.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E9 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 5, 2022 43:56


    This episode of the Flash gives us more information on the mysterious Meta that is killing people. It's feeding on grief and we think it might be a version of Cobalt Blue. This would make sense with the changes that we saw happen in the Bart/Nora episode as well as the fact that well...everything leads back to Thawne. It would really make sense if this was Eddie Thawne as well.  One thing that is a valid criticism of this episode is that it didn't lean on the fact that the previous episode had Barry being motivated by his own grief and loss of his father. This should have been an easy link to what Chester was going through and it was a missed opportunity. Work smarter not harder. We also handle some listener emails while also talking about the horrible decisions Sony is making with their Spider-Man-less Spiderverse movies. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Moon Knight Season 1 Episode 1 - The Goldfish Problem

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 4, 2022 49:13


    We're back to cover another Marvel Disney+ show. But this is a first. All the previous Marvel shows, while introducing new characters, have largely revolved around diving into existing characters. Moon Knight however, is the first series based on an entirely new character. And what's even more interesting is that it's not an origin story. What really works with this first episode is that we the audience are in the same position as Oscar Isaac's Steven Grant. We have no idea what's going on just like Steven and we get plopped down into situations just like he does. It's a great way to introduce a character and get the audience to invest. Marvel also continues its trend of bringing the heat when it comes to acting talent. Oscar Isaac always brings it 100% with his characters. It's what makes Fox's Age of Apocalypse such a travesty. How do you have Oscar Isaac playing Apocalypse and don't utilize that to his full potential? In Moon Knight, we get Isaac playing two completely different characters at the same time and it's a Master Class. It also helps that he's playing off of Ethan Hawke also does a great job. Add in F. Murray Abraham as the voice of the irritated and annoyed Khonshu and what's not to love? Listen as Kriss, Ro and Dpalm talk about the first episode. Make sure you subscribe to MTR Network/Super Tuesday Recap so you don't miss an episode of our reviews.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E8 Review - Villain Origin Story

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 29, 2022 32:08


    This episode of the Flash was a villain origin story. When Taylor destroys Allegra's life, just know, it was deserved. We appreciate that the show didn't smooth things over and make it seem like everything was okay. Nope. Allegra pulled a really terrible move (and Iris reenforced it) and so when Taylor burns down the Citizen, well...they had it coming.  For the main story, it was nice to see how Barry was dealing with the emotions of his father's birthday. This episode didn't paint him as being completely irrational or compromised by his emotional state. Rather, it made him lean on his instincts and the evidence in the case to bring a different perspective. This storyline would have hit a bit harder if Jaco was a villain the audience had more of a connection to. It could have built the doubt about his innocence a bit better. It will be interesting see what they do with this new Meta and if it ties into a larger story. Also, the Flash is officially coming back for season 9. Flash and Superman & Lois got the green light for their next seasons. We're still waiting to see what happens with Legends of Tomorrow, Naomi and Batwoman. In non-Flash news, the Morbius director decided that the best way to get people to see his movie was to...spoil it? Bold move Cotton... Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Star Trek Picard Season 2 Ep 1-3: Time is Broken

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 28, 2022 110:52


    The year is 2401, Our Heroes are scatted across the known universe. Picard is back on Vineyard, Seven is with the Ferries Rangers, Raffi, Chris, Elnor are in Starfleet, and Angus, Soji are Ambassadors on behalf of the Synths. But things quickly change when a time portal opens in space and the people on the other side are asking for Picard. Ep1: Star Gazer Ep2: Penance, and Ep3: Assimilation.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E7 Review - Lockdown

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 22, 2022 33:47


    This episode of the Flash was pretty straight forward. The show has figured out how to deal with a more mature Barry with a very elevated power level without completely breaking the show. We also have some thoughts on how this season/series might end with the mystery around what's happening with Iris. We also talk about some of the upcoming comic events coming for DC & Marvel and the director of Moon Knight calling out the Director of Black Adam for not making the movie more diverse.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E6 Review - Impulsive Excessive Disorder

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 15, 2022 29:24


    The only live action Flash we're getting in 2022 is back. With news that The Flash movie is delayed...again, that leaves Season 8 (and potentially Season 9) of CW's The Flash the only version we're getting. It seems like the merger between Discovery & WarnerMedia is leaving a lot of things in flux right now. Normally the CW shows are all renewed by now butt so far nothing really is. There is news that Grant Gustin is locked in for a Season 9 but no announcement that the Season is actually renewed. So with that in the backdrop, we have the show returning after it's very long break after only 5 episodes. This episode focuses on the kids, Nora and Bart. We get to to see what this show would be like if it transitioned to new leads and you know what? Not bad. It was fun to see Bart & Nora working to restore the timeline, even though we know there is still something weird going on. The question becomes, whose making the time changes? Nora being the calm steady one while Bart struggles that he's not good enough to one day take on the mantle of the Flash was a great way to have some familiar beats with new characters. With everything in flux this season is apparently being written as a series finale. We'll see how everything pans out. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E12 & 13 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 11, 2022 42:33


    Legends of Tomorrow hasn't been renewed yet for Season 8 but we hope it does. We really want to see how the introduction of Booster Gold goes on the show because there's so many fun things they could do. But even outside of that, this was a really great season that really did a great job exploring different aspects of the characters and letting them grow. Episode 12 could have served as a series finale in a way, giving the Legends a glimpse of what their lives could be if they moved on from being heroes. But in the end, the Legends show that if their individual happiness comes at the expense of someone else's, particularly a member of their family, they won't hesitate to give it all up to help. For as silly as this show goes, it does a really great job of growing characters and completely embracing inclusion storylines. The moment when Sara doesn't even hesitate to call evil Gideon a fascist was a prime example. This show doesn't try to "both sides" the issues or sit on the fence. It constantly makes genuine stances and does it unapologetically. And for that, we love it. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    From Comixology to Doctor Strange and the Multiverse of Madness Trailer - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Feb 21, 2022 80:36


    So this is what happens when we don't check the release schedule for Legends of Tomorrow. Apparently while we thought we were going to be reviewing the last 2 episodes of the season, turns out those episodes haven't aired yet because the show has been on break for 2 weeks. Oops.  But out mistake is your benefit as we decided to still hop on the mic and chat. This isn't really a Mailbag episode because we don't read any emails but we do talk about some of the latest news items that popped up the last couple of weeks. From the super terrible Comixology app update to Evangeline Lilly's decent into bad takes to DAT DOC STRANGE TRAILER. We're here to discuss it all. We'll be back in March to wrap up Legends of Tomorrow and start the Flash so stay tuned for that.  If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode! Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account! Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E11 - Rage Against the Machines

    Play Episode Listen Later Feb 7, 2022 25:32


    Another solid Legends of Tomorrow episode directed by one of the cast. This is Jes Macallan second time directing a Legends episode and as usual we get a good mix of the silly, over-the-top Legends hijinks with some serious moments. We're also two episodes out from the finale and while Gidget is still around it makes us wonder what's really going to happen. We're still suspicious of Thawne and think he's not really dead and is up to something. Also the announcement that Donald Faison would be joining the show in finale to play a character that sounds a lot like Booster Gold. And if that's the case, we have some speculation of the direction the show could be going.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E10 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 30, 2022 46:15


    Legends of Tomorrow continues to be one of the most progressive shows on TV. You gotta love it when they have Thawne show up and yet the thing that we spend most of our time talking about is how they're handling sexuality. This show constantly doesn't care about what others might think and that's a good thing. Not only did they have Spooner come out as asexual but the storyline with Davis is really dealing with the conflict of faith and being gay. There are a lot of shows that deal with LGBT issues that talk about how some individuals struggle with their feelings because others are telling them their feelings are wrong or evil. But Legends is saying the quiet part out loud and has Davis feeling like he deserves to be punished by God for his sexuality. And it's great that Ava was there to step in and tell him that he shouldn't believe that. For as silly as this show gets, it's really great that it can still make these kinds of stories serious and genuine.  And then there's Thawne. No one should believe that he's helping Sara and is completely reformed and isn't going to use this next 40 minutes to do something really terrible. There are 2 things that are certain: Death and Taxes. And Thawne has beat both (Remember he left that tax bill for Barry to deal with).  We wrap up this episode talking about how the Arrowverse goes down first ballot Hall of Fame. When you look at where super hero television came from and the fact that no one has done more episodic superhero shows than Berlanti and crew and well, props are due. You don't have to like all the shows or even where they are now. But when you think back to the days of Smallville or even Lois & Clark from the mid-90's, it's not even up for debate.   Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E9 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 24, 2022 43:51


    The Legends head to a Reality TV show from Hell because of course they do. What's so great about this show though is how they take silly premises and make them really great ways of exploring their characters. That's probably the best contribution that Legends of Tomorrow has right now. The story is the story (and there's nothing wrong with that. It's fun). But it's the larger journey of how this show continues on, unapologetically being who it is. And it's pretty progressive as well. We also talk about that Moon Knight trailer as well as a 2 hour and 47 minute runtime for The Batman. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E8 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 17, 2022 44:46


    Legends of tomorrow is back from break and so are we. This episode gives us a look at what's been happening with the evil Android team of Legends. It also carries on the theme of "What makes one human?" as we see that Gidget (evil Gideon) is controlling the evil androids by removing the most human parts of them. This becomes true with what happens to the android version of Sara when she's reprogrammed to just be an assassin and reduce her leadership skills to keep her in line. What makes this really work is that we've seen this in previous seasons with Sara struggling to accept that she's more than just an assassin. So to see Gidget reduce the android version of her to that was a good call back. We also do a mini-Mailbag episode and cover some listener emails from the last few months, CW sale speculation as well as David Ramsey's potential Justice U show. Kriss also has a confession to make about The Batman.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Hawkeye Season 1 Episode 6

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 27, 2021 42:44


    Kriss, Ro and Dpalm are back to wrap up this season of Hawkeye. While it was one of the shows that might not have been on the top of the list for us before it dropped, it really turned into one of the best Disney+ series. It feels like Marvel got better and better (on top of already being really good) with each series they dropped this year. With Hawkeye, they did a really good job of filling out the characters of Clint, Kate, Yelena and even Natasha while also building up future stories with Maya. This series had some really great emotional moments. We also want to see more Kate and Yelena together.  And then there's "The Big Guy". Bringing Wilson Fisk into the MCU officially (it's still up in the air how much of the Netflix shows will remain canon) was great. He's clearly gotten a physical upgrade and we don't think he's dead for a second.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash Season 8 Episode 5 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 23, 2021 34:53


    The Flash Armageddon event wrapped up pretty nicely. We get a conclusion to the Thawne/Allen rivalry (for now) with Barry saving Thawne's life by removing his speed. We also get a visit from Mia who seems to be sticking around for a while. Looks like we might end up with a bit of the story they were trying to do with the Green Arrow spin off.  What really works for this episode is that it centers on Barry being a hero and what that means. In this case it means deciding if they should let Thawne die or help save his life, despite all that he's done. With a little nudge from Joe, Barry and Iris make the right call (until of course Thawne gets his speed back and kills again).  And then there's the gold boots. Finally. Taken 8 seasons but they're finally here and they looked great. More of this please Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Hawkeye Season 1 Episode 5

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 21, 2021 56:00


    Florence Pugh is lovely. Gotta love how she plays Yelena in a way that's so disarming yet also reminds you that she could kill you at any moment. This episode of Hawkeye does well to set us up for the finale. It also does a great job of showing why it was a good idea to put Black Widow after End Game. It's very clear that the Phase 4 MCU theme is how different people deal with grief. When you look at this show, we have Clint, Yelena, Maya and even Kate all being individuals that had different (and in many ways toxic) ways of dealing with grief.  Also, get you someone that has your back like Laura has Clint's. She basically told him to "Do what you gotta do and hurt who you gotta hurt".  And then there's the reveal of who the "Big Guy" is. We all kinda knew but it was still great to get confirmation. Also, Marvel are a bunch of assholes for how they did it (a grainy cell phone video? They knew we wouldn't care). We can't wait to see how the finale plays out.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Supergirl [S#E#] Review [Insert SEO Title] - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 18, 2021


    It's a good thing we didn't get to these final two episodes until December because we can say "You sit on a throne of lies". Y'all this finale was not good. The final two episodes of Supergirl do not pay off any of the arcs they've been building on instead choosing to conveniently wrap up Nxyly and the arduous search for the totems in the first ten minutes of the finale episode so they can spend the next thirty on an overly long wedding scene that could have been a montage. And in spite of the show being called Supergirl, the person who really carried these last two episodes was tiny little Esme (Mila Jones). We know that baby's back is tired.  Unfortunately, as we predicted, the show seemed unsure of what to do with Kara this season, wrapping up her story with the reveal to the world that Kara Danvers is Supergirl. It's no "I am Ironman" moment, that's for sure. We talk all of this and the many ways we would have closed out this run of Supergirl's final season on this week's podcast.      Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork @shittybonmots @TheDrIsHere21 Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Hawkeye Season 1 Episode 4

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 13, 2021 45:08


    It's all fun and games until a Black Widow assassin shows up. Kate was starting to make a little progress getting Clint to accept her but as soon as Yelena shows up, Clint shuts everything down because it's clearly gotten way too serious.This episode revealed a lot (while still having so many questions). This really is all about a watch. And it might just be a regular watch with nothing fancy in it. Probably a retirement gift that traces back to  Laura. And Laura is clearly not just some quiet, simple housewife. The minute Clint starts asking Laura to run things down for him, it's clear she's got deeper connections to the "game" than anyone thought. While we don't think they'll officially making her Bobbi, it wouldn't be a shock if she's a former SHIELD Agent who had the codename Mockingbird. We also get more of what we talked about last week with Clint revealing the way he sees himself. Not as a hero but as a weapon that needs to be pointed at the right target. It's clear that Clint hasn't given himself any grace and isn't seeing himself as worthy of redemption which is even more reason why he needs it. There's only two more episodes left and we can't wait to see how this all ends.      Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E4 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 13, 2021 29:22


    Thawne proves once again that he's a master manipulator of time. He didn't just change a few things in the timeline this time, but rather decided to completely take over Barry's life and basically become him. To top it all off, he fixed a mistake from the first time he tried to stop the Flash and made sure to kill Barry as a child. Thawne really won this time and if it wasn't for Damien Darhk having a soft spot for his daughter, Barry would have been screwed. Overall this episode was really good. There are a couple of things that didn't work (as well). First, once again the show leans super heavy on the "love being the key" theme. While it makes sense to continue to have that theme throughout this show, it felt out of place at times. We really didn't need the Chester/Allegra part with Alex playing therapist. It just felt forced and repetitive from what we were getting in other parts of the show. Also while it was nice to see Ryan Choi for the first time in the Atom costume, he really was just sitting there like we were supposed to already know his relationship with the rest of team Flash (and even his own personality). Again, none of these things take away from the overall episode but did stick out. It will be interesting seeing how all this concludes. While Barry was able to get the timeline back to normal (including Joe), now Thawne is pissed because he's the only one allowed to manipulate time. This could be the end of the Allen/Thawne conflict.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Hawkeye Episode 3

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 7, 2021 59:23


    Kriss, Ro and Dpalm are back to discuss episode 3 of Hawkeye. We talking about the introduction of Echo (Maya) as well as the potential to bring back Fisk into the MCU. This was before the news from Feige that if Daredevil comes back to the MCU, they would not recast and would use Charlie Cox. So it's not too far fetched to think that Vincent D'onofrio's Fisk could make a return as well. We also discuss Clint's road to redemption and why it first has to start with him thinking he deserves to be redeemed. Clint has always tried to keep his two world's separate and we see the dark path that took him on during the Blip. Natasha at least found a purpose during that time while Clint was struggling with the fact that he lost everything that he thought made him good. We'll see how this all plays out over the next three episodes.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E3 Review - Of Course It's Thawne

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 6, 2021 41:13


    No Legends of Tomorrow this week (apparently the last episode was the mid-season finale) so it's only The Flash this week. We get confirmation that of course it's Thawne behind all of Barry's problems. Thawne couldn't match Barry face-to-face so now we see that he's gone to his go to: Messing with Time. Outside of the Thawne reveal that we knew was coming there are other things we liked and are keeping an eye on. First, Cecile and her powers are probably greater than most people realize. She's not really training not user her powers so we only get glimpses of what she can do but every time she ends up going well behind what we think are her limits. Also, in the scenes with Barry and Black Lightning, we get more hints that there are things that have happened that we haven't seen since all the worlds merged. That was a nice touch. We wrap up this episode talking about the Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Part One) trailer (22:49). Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Hawkeye Season 1 Episodes 1 & 2

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 29, 2021 35:09


    We're back with another Marvel Disney+ show. This time Hawkeye takes center stage. The first two episodes dropped on the day before Thanksgiving. So far there are several things we like about this series. First, its good to get some in-depth focus on Clint. While Black Widow only recently got a solo movie, that character got a lot of screen time in other movies. Hawkeye has always been a bit of a mystery. Even with the Blip, we know he became Ronan and went to a really dark place but we never really got a lot of details on that. Looks like this series we may be getting more of that. Not only that but we see Clint dealing with basically PTSD from his time working as an Avenger. He's losing his hearing, clearly is still messed up from Nat's death and just wants too spend some time with his family for Christmas. Clint gives off big Murtaugh from Lethal Weapon vibes this whole time. Then there's Kate Bishop. She idolizes Hawkeye (The show does a great job showing a flashback from 2012 and the Battle of New York). She's also dealing with her mother and her shady boyfriend who is CLEARLY Swordsman. Kate clearly has the skills but is also not really ready for the amount of shit she's gotten herself and Clint into. It's going to be fun watching both of them being forced to work together. So far the show feels pretty straight forward but we know we're going to get a twist. What was the big deal with the watch the thieves were trying to steal? Is Kate's mom just as shady as her boyfriend/fiancé? What's the deal with Echo leading the Tracksuit Mafia? Lot of questions to ask and we can wait to see what they have coming for us.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter:   @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork   Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E7 & The Flash S8E2 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 29, 2021 41:54


    Kriss and Dpalm are back to review the latest episodes of Legends of Tomorrow and The Flash. On Legends, we see the trend continuing of the Legends being stuck in history and trying to keep a low profile but not pulling it off. The Legends are doing the thing that's always talked about in time travel. If you go back in time and see injustices happening, do you just sit back and not do anything because you need to "protect the timeline" or do you do the morally correct thing? We also see that evil Gideon has been busy and has created a team of evil robot Legends so that should be fun to deal with. On the Flash side our suspicious are confirmed. Joe West is dead. We're not the only ones just receiving that news as Barry is shocked to learn that Joe's been dead for 6 months. Of course for Despero this just just more evidence that Barry is going bad. Barry also lost his job because he's under investigation and Star Labs is condemned. To us, this all smells like Thawne. Thawne can't beat Barry one-on-one now and Thawne causing everything around Barry to collapse feels right up his alley. Timestamps: 16:51: The Flash Season 8 Episode 2 Review Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Flash S8E1 & Legends of Tomorrow S7E6 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 23, 2021 55:04


    The Flash is back for Season 8 and it's kicking off with a 5 part event, Armageddon that will span the Arrowverse and bring some familiar faces. Like Ray, the Atom. Who it was good to see again. Honestly we're already liking the direction the show is going. Barry being confident in his powers and really settling into that mentor role. Also Iris is running her own media company which feels like a great step up for the character.  On Legends of Tomorrow, the show is really leaning into the AI/Robot route and flipped the script on us a  bit. Doesn't look like they're recycling Bishop as the big bad and instead looks like it might be evil Gideon.  And we end the episode talking about THAT trailer. Yes, the Far From Home Trailer. Sony owes Feige and Marvel Studios so much. Timestamps: 17:40 - Legends of Tomorrow Review 35:18 No Way Home trailer discussion Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E4 & 5 Review and Disney+ Day 2021

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 15, 2021 42:52


    We're back to review the last two episodes of Legends of Tomorrow. But first, a bit of a change in how we're handling Super Tuesday Recap episodes going forward. First, we'll be adding the Mailbag to our weekly reviews. This makes it easier for us to stay up on big news drops (Like the Disney+ Day news that dropped Friday). We'll also read any emails that come in that week. The second big change is that starting next week, our reviews for The Flash and Legends of Tomorrow will happen in one episode. No need to download two separate episodes to hear our reviews now. We feel this will make things more streamlined for everyone moving forward. So with this episode, we start by talking about episodes 4 & 5 of Season 7 of Legends of Tomorrow. At timestamp 23:01, we start our discussion about the big Disney+ Day news that dropped. Next week we'll have The Flash, Legends of Tomorrow and any additional news that drops. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Supergirl [S#E#] Review [Insert SEO Title] - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 9, 2021


    Rest in peace William Dey!  And Andrea needs her behind beat.  The back and forth for the totems continues, Lex is in love, and Alex is leaning into her parenthood.  Esme becomes the center of the penultimate battle as the love totem begins to manifest itself in her body, and Kara continues to work on discovering the things about herself that the totems and the battle against Nxyly are revealing to her.  The only challenge is we don't know where Kara ends after the season and there is no hint of where this is going, but we are along for the ride.   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork @shittybonmots @TheDrIsHere21 Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E3 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 2, 2021 22:52


    Legends of Tomorrow's 100th episode was a welcomed surprise of some of the OG Legends. It was great to see Snart, Hunter, Jax, the Professor and yes, even Carter again on the Waverider. As silly as it is, Legends of Tomorrow is such a smartly written show. Much like how Agents of SHIELD did everything with a purpose, Legends does the same thing. By centering Spooner, Astra and Gideon, we get a really good "You're a Legend now" episode. We get one of those every season but every season it still feels fresh and different. It was also interesting to see Bishop again. Recycling a villain is not new for Legends and this one feels like its going to pay off. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Supergirl S6E15-16 Review – Beautiful Nightmare - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 26, 2021


    This week Shanna and The Doctor are catching up on two new episodes of Supergirl "Hope for Tomorrow" and "Nightmare in National City".  In "Hope for Tomorrow" Nyxly is still trying to find the totems and realizes that trying to inspire hope is for the birds (ed. note: #relatable) so she'll just let Kara get the totem and force her to hand it over. Nyxly uses the only leverage she can think of, kidnapping William who is the official scribe of the Super Friends. After trying (and failing) a bunch of times, Supergirl and the rest of the team manage to avert a potential nuclear war which gives the world a glimmer of hope and allows them to acquire the Hope totem. Supergirl decides to destroy the totem so Nyxly can never assemble the All-Stone but Nxyly receives an anonymous gift that may turn the tide back in her favor.  This takes us right into "Nightmare in National City". Nia has been searching for the Dream totem and she finds out that her sister Maeve took all of their mom's research books and ran away after their father found out that Maeve told Nia she's not a real woman. Nia has to work with her sister who is a wealth of information even if she is a b*tch. Meanwhile, Nyxly is working with a new mech suit courtesy of Lex Luthor, and when she manages to grab the Dream totem by the skin of her teeth, Lex uses it to reappear. Oh Nyxly, if you thought your father was a problem, you have no idea.  We talk totems, Alex's new role as an adoptive mom, and Kara's burnout all on this week's podcast.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork @shittybonmots @TheDrIsIn2015 Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E2 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 25, 2021 23:52


    So...apparently we're doing robots this season of Legends of Tomorrow. Maybe. Possibly. Who knows? Honestly, it doesn't even matter. This show has a winning overall format and it's sticking to it. As silly as everything is, this show knows when to throw in the serious as well as the social commentary. They don't play around or sit on the fence about J Edgar Hoover and clearly state that he was a terrible man. They even go as far as giving us a rich vs working class debate right in the middle of that episode. This is what makes Legends of Tomorrow not only good but consistently good. They lean on their cast, split them up and dive right in. And they know when to make you care. Not a Spooner and Astra fan? Too bad because you're going to have to be.  Next episode will be the 100th episode and we know they're going to have something special for us. Can't wait.  Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Legends of Tomorrow S7E1 Review

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 16, 2021 27:28


    We're back with a new season oof Legends of Tomorrow. If it feels like season 6 just ended, it's because it literally ended last month. And the show picks up like we never left. The Legends are stuck in the 1920's with no Waverider or Time Bureau technology. So what do the Legends do? First they start pretending like they're part of the circus to explain the alien invasion. Then they set off on a crime spree as bank robbers on their way to New York to try to find a professor that could help them with time travel. Oh and they accidentally kill J Edgar Hoover on the way. This season is off to the typical Legends start.  Also what makes this show work is how they're able to integrate new characters and keep everything fresh. Sara is the last of the original Legends but the crew still feels like the Legends, even with the new members. Everyone has a role to fill and play and it all works so well. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Supergirl S6E14 Review – A City of Karens & Chads - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 12, 2021


    This week on Supergirl, Nyxly is after the totem of humanity and this gauntlet is like no other because while the totem draws the humanity out of the humans around Nyxly, it also channels all that humanity into her. Losing their humanity turns National City into a city full of Karens and Chads with everyone displaying their absolute worst selves. Even the dream couple that Kelly places one of her foster kids with turns out to be the worst when they're caught by an angry mob. And even though Nxyly has some moments of empathy in this episode, ultimately, she doesn't seem to be fully internalizing the lessons she's learning from her totem trials and it seems like that's going to be the key to truly defeating her brother and father.  Lena, on the other hand, is learning a lot about herself as she tries to master the magic she's inherited from her mother. It's a struggle for her because magic relies on intuition and feeling rather than facts and figures but with William's help, she's able to see past her frustration.  William, you ask? He's finally embedded with the Super Friends and he's granted exclusive access to their headquarters and behind the scenes of their missions. Initially, Kara and the others want to keep certain details of their missions under wraps but they realize that telling the public what's happening will garner more trust than holding back. Andrea (who has low-key become a J. Jonah Jameson-level villain) is still pushing for more. If she keeps going, she's going to end up causing serious damage in her pursuit to sell newspapers.  We talk about all this and more below. And let us know your predictions for the end of Supergirl because we're looking for some good theories about how this wraps up.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork @shittybonmots @TheDrIsIn2015 Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    The Great Substack Migration - Mailbag #46

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 11, 2021


    A little delayed but we're back with a new Mailbag episode. We're at a weird point. By now the Fall shows have usually started and we're already reviewing them. But COVID messed all that up. Now Legends is going to be back already but Flash doesn't start until November. It feels both too early and too late at the same time. But either way we're here with the mailbag. We discuss a range of topics from X-Men to comic creators taking their talents to Substack and what that could mean.  Oh and news that came out after we recorded: We FINALLY have a date for Saga's return: Jan 26 2022. It's about time. Kriss and Dpalm record the Mailbag at the end of every month. If you want to send in your own questions and thoughts, email us: Mailbag@MTRNetwork.Net   Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode! Follow us on Twitter: @Dpalm66 @InsanityReport @TheMTRNetwork Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account! Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network

    Supergirl S6E16 Review – Courage to Heal - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 5, 2021 24:33


    This week, we begin the search for the totems, and the first one up is the totem of courage. When Kara and Nxyly get to the totem at the same time, they end up breaking it in half and the only way to possess the full totem is to face their fears. Surprisingly, Nxyly manages to complete the gauntlet before Kara when she has the courage to be vulnerable. Seeing her father and brother in the gauntlet is only making us more excited for when she faces them for real.  We talk the gauntlet, Lena's newfound magic, and the aftermath of last week's episode. Let us know what you think in the comments.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork @shittybonmots @TheDrIsIn2015 Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Supergirl S6E12 Review – MESSAGE! - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 28, 2021 32:57


    We absolutely loved this week's episode of Supergirl but ... y'all gone get these jokes. Co-written by our own Kelly Olsen (Azie Tesfai), "Blind Spots" is Supergirl's "racial reckoning" episode focused on Kelly's fight to be seen and heard by her teammates whose focus is on giant cats and fifth dimension sized problems that create blindspots (MESSAGE!) to the very real problems that Kelly and Orlando and the other residents of the Ormfield are dealing with.  When Kelly finally breaks down and calls her brother to vent, he sends in Diggle (another Arrowverse cameo from David Ramsey, who also directed this week's episode.) as back up and Kelly and Dig bond about how their everyday problems can be overlooked by their teammates when imps and aliens are around. Although the episode is well done and manages to ride a fine line between superheroing and realism, it does tip over into preachy and prescriptive especially when Kelly talks to her white friends and it feels like she's reading straight out of White Fragility (which also gets a cameo in the show alongside Ta-Nehisi Coates' Between the World and Me).  Overall, this episode does a great job of discussing race directly without the metaphors around Kara's alienness and it's a great reminder that just because you experience some oppression, it doesn't mean you understand all oppression. I do think if Supergirl wants us to buy Kelly Olsen as a superhero in the suit, they need to stop making her an even better superhero outside of one. Listen to us discuss all of this and way more on this week's podcast.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork @shittybonmots @TheDrIsIn2015 Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!

    Supergirl S6E11 Review – Sacrifice - Super Tuesday Recap

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 21, 2021


    We asked and Supergirl immediately answered. On this week's episode "Mxy in the Middle" we check back in with Lena and the search for her mother's origins. Lena travels to Newfoundland, Canada (which is actually home to a large Irish immigrant enclave) and finds that her mom wasn't the sweet, innocent she'd come to think she was but Lena's mother also isn't the bitch the townspeople think she was. Instead, she was a witch. That's right. Lena Luthor is the daughter of a witch and it looks like Lena may have a touch of magic inside her as well. And that's going to be helpful because with Nxyly powered up and Mr. Mxyzptlk back in town, it's going to take magic to fight magic. Because she doesn't know about Nia's part in freeing Nxyly from the dream realm, Kara is blaming herself for the havoc Nxyly is bringing to National City. And while the Super Friends do everything they can to protect Mr. Mxyzptlk without sending Nxyly back to the Phantom Zone, in the end, Mr. Mxyzptlk sacrifices himself to atone for his role in Nyxly's banishment. We'll see how the rest of the season plays out but we're hoping that Nyxly can switch sides and gain the support of the Super Friends to take down her father and brother who seem like the real bad guys here.    Like what you hear? Subscribe so you don't miss an episode!   Follow us on Twitter: @TheMTRNetwork @shittybonmots @TheDrIsIn2015 Our shirts are now on TeePublic:  https://teepublic.com/stores/mtr-network   Want more podcast greatness? Sign up for a MTR Premium Account!