Premier League Preview Show

Follow Premier League Preview Show
Share on
Copy link to clipboard

A weekly preview of the biggest, most exciting league competition in the world - The English Premier League. Presented by Tom Rennie with talkSPORT's Football Editor David Walker. All the major games previewed, with interviews, comments and action replay. Every Thursday. Find more from talkSPORT a…

talkSPORT

  • Nov 23, 2020 LATEST EPISODE
  • weekdays NEW EPISODES
  • 45m AVG DURATION
  • 265 EPISODES


Search for episodes from Premier League Preview Show with a specific topic:

Latest episodes from Premier League Preview Show

Penalty Schmenalty!

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 23, 2020 48:00

Hello GameDay fans, the Premier League Post Match Podcast is here once again with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and coming off the bench to make his GameDay debut it's former Manchester City and England winger Trevor Sinclair. This week we look back on what's been a crammed weekend of action which saw Spurs take top spot following a victory against Man City, but will it last? There were yet more penalties, Arsenal muddled through with a ten man squad and Liverpool went second with a big win over Leicester!   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

'It's Boring Now...' 

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 19, 2020 52:57

Another international break is over which means your ultimate Premier League Preview is here with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis.Join us as the guys look ahead to a weekend packed with action, there's bold predictions, yet another heated Pogba debate and we ask how Leicester will handle a Liverpool side riddled with injury.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front With... John Hartson

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 14, 2020 48:06

Up Front with - takes a look at the art of goalscoring, speaking to some of the best strikers in the game. In this episode , you can hear the former Arsenal, West Ham and Celtic striker John Hartson in conversation with Sam Matterface.Over the course of the hour they discuss playing alongside the likes of Dennis Bergkamp and Thierry Henry, scoring in a European Final at just 20 years of age, and what really happened on the training ground with Eyal Berkovic during his time at West Ham.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Dramatic Referees And Problem Players 

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 9, 2020 53:28

Hello GameDay fans, the Premier League Post Match Podcast is here once again with 100 Club member Darren Bent, talkSPORT transfer guru Alex Crook and of course Sam Matterface!This week the Gunners are firing blanks during an embarrasing 3-0 defeat, there's yet more VAR drama, Crook suggests Kane as a possible replacement for Aguero at City and we ask, what's going on with Goalkeepers in the Premier League?   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Whispers of Pochettino Around Old Trafford

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 5, 2020 55:10

Your ultimate Premier League Preview is here with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis.Join us as we preview all the action ahead of what will be a big weekend for Ole with whispers of Pochettino around Old Trafford. We look ahead to the heavyweight clash between Liverpool and Manchester City and ask, does the game have a problem with double standards when it comes to criticising players?  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Penalties Galore!

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 2, 2020 54:20

Join Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Matt Holland for another Premier League Post Match Podcast!This week we look back at a weekend which saw Bale get his first goal since returning to the Premier League, Man United suffer yet again at home and there were penalties...lots of them!   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Don't Be A Hypocrite! 

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 29, 2020 49:48

Your ultimate Premier League Preview is here with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis.Join us as we preview all the action ahead of 8 massive weekend fixtures, call out the hypocritical fans amongst us, learn about Crooks' fear of birds in a very strange roulette rivalry and ask if there are weaknesses within Manchester City.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Tis The Season For Sacking

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 26, 2020 53:15

Join Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Ambrose for another Premier League Post Match Podcast!This week we look back at a weekend which saw Crystal Palace get some shots on goal... for once, there's another Ralph loving from Crook, we ask where does Arteta go from here and it's approaching sacking season but who's heading for the chop?   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

There's A Long Way To Go...

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 22, 2020 45:16

Your ultimate Premier League Preview is here with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis.This episode we discuss what a 'good season' for West am would look like, ask how City will cope without Fernandinho and it's been a tactical masterclass from Ole but only time will tell if he put together a strong run of games. Also has anyone heard from Mason Greenwood?  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

The Comeback Of All Comebacks

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 19, 2020 54:26

Well it's been another one of those packed Premier League weekends. Join Sam Matterface, Darren Bent and Alex Crook as they dissect all the action!This week West Ham made the comeback of all comebacks and only needed 10 minutes. There's worries for Liverpool as Virgil van Dijk suffers injury in the Merseyside derby and It's been a strange old season so far but could we see some strange title contenders?Also this week our football Editor Jason Bourne speaks to Bernardo Silva following Manchester City's 1-0 victory at home to Arsenal.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Is Ole On Borrowed Time?

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 15, 2020 48:00

Your ultimate Premier League Preview is here with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis. Join us as we preview all the premier league action including the Merseyside derby! We ask if Ole is on borrowed time? We get everyone's view on pay-per-view and look forward to hopefully seeing our very first glimpse of Gareth on Sunday, where he could join the frightening front of Son and Kane!  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front With... Darren Bent

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 13, 2020 48:00

Up Front with - takes a look at the art of goalscoring, speaking to some of the best strikers in the game. In this episode we hear from one of our own, former Spurs and England striker Darren Bent in conversation with Sam Matterface.Over the course of the hour they discuss his career defining goals, what it takes to keep scoring goals at the very highest level, and that infamous beach-ball goal for Sunderland against Liverpool in 2009...  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

A Golden Generation Or Underachievers?

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 12, 2020 41:39

Hello GameDay fans, join Sam Matterface and Alex Crook as the guys review all the action following England v Belgium. We also have a special guest dialling into the studio in the form of former England striker Andy Cole!We give you all the latest on 'project big picture,' wonder if Southgate really does have a problem with Grealish and could Belgium be the next 'golden generation' or simply underachievers?  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

GameDay International Special

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 9, 2020 36:54

Join Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis as the guys review all the action from the international scene. There were dazzling debuts, penalty shootouts and goals galore! Crook reflects on transfer deadline day and we wonder if England will find victory quite so easy against Belgium...spoiler alert, they won't!   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jaw Dropping Football

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 5, 2020 53:45

Hello GameDay fans. Wow, what a weekend!Join Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Matt Holland as we try and dissect what has been a weekend of truly jaw dropping football! Champions Liverpool receive a smashing from Villa, Solskjaer has his worst day yet with Man United, Sam brings you an exclusive interview with Kai Havertz and are Fulham already destined for a return to the championship?Dream Team fans will also hear from our fantasy expert Andrew Butler! Remember to join our league by heading to: dreamteamfc.com and using the pin: SGGAME2  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Keep Your Hands To Yourself

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 1, 2020 50:18

Your ultimate Premier League preview is here with Sam Matterface and Alex Crook!Join us as we look ahead to all the action with the help of the Mirror's newly appointed Assistant Editor Darren Lewis (oooooooo fancy.) This week Crook plays Ed Woodward Bingo, we look at all the remaining movers and shakers in the transfer window, and we are all reminded to keep our hands to ourselves as the pesky handball rule is still causing drama.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

We Have Lost The Plot! 

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 28, 2020 52:49

Hello GameDay fans. Sam Matterface, Darren Bent and Alex Crook are all here to bring you the Premier League Post Match Podcast!Join us as we look back on all the action from the weekend! There was a shock victory for West Ham, the cracks began to show for Man City and we discuss if football has lost the plot with more handball drama, late winners and surprise scorelines. Dream Team fans will also hear from our fantasy expert Andrew Butler! Remember to join our league by heading to: dreamteamfc.com and using the pin: SGGAME2  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Goals Galore and Cup Chaos!

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 24, 2020 46:36

Hello GameDay fans. Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis are all here to bring you the Premier League Preview Podcast!Join us as we preview all the weekends action. We look ahead to the first Yorkshire Derby between Leeds and Sheffield United, discuss if testing should be mandatory across all football leagues and there may have been Carabao Cup chaos but can Chelsea perform so highly against West Brom? Also talkSPORT's transfer guru Crook looks at all the latest transfers following some surprise signings!  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Post Match: Handball?!

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 21, 2020 54:07

Hello GameDay fans. Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Matt Holland are all here to bring you the Premier League Post Match Podcast!Join us as we look back on a packed weekend which saw Arsenal get lucky against the Hammers, Kepa had yet another calamity, Spurs thrash Southampton thanks to Sonny and we ask was it really a handball?!Dream Team fans will also hear from our lovely Andrew Butler! Remember to join our league by heading to: dreamteamfc.com and using the pin: SGGAME20  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: A Potential 'Bale' Out For Spurs 

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 17, 2020 49:17

Your favourite Premier League podcast is back with Sam Matterface and Alex Crook!Join us as we preview every single Premier League match with the help of the Mirror's Darren Lewis. This week can we look ahead to our first heavyweight clash of the season Chelsea v Liverpool! We delve in Crooks' contacts book to get all the latest transfer news and are Spurs on the verge of a 'Bale' out?  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Post Match!

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 14, 2020 55:02

Hello GameDay fans. After what has been a phenomenal start to the new season, Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Bent are all here to bring you the Premier League Post Match Podcast!Join us as we look back on a weekend that saw fearless Leeds take on the mighty Liverpool, Tottenham get into trouble and we look ahead to Monday's fixtures, how will Brighton cope with Chelsea's shiny new squad?Dream Team fans will also hear from our lovely Andrew Butler, bringing you top fantasy league tips. Remember to join our league by heading to: dreamteamfc.com and using the pin: SGGAME20  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Season Preview

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 10, 2020 58:21

Your favourite Premier League podcast is back with Sam Matterface and Alex Crook!On this edition we are reunited with Darren Lewis as we preview a brand spanking new season of football. We take you through all the latest including Frank's spending spree, ask if Leeds could be this year's Sheffield United, as well as bring you our season predictions, will there be another fairytale at Anfield?Oh and of course we haven't forgot you fantasy fans Dream Team's Andrew Butler is here and don't forget you can sign up to our podcast fantasy league by heading to: dreamteamfc.com and using the pin: SGGAME20  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Graeme Le Saux: My Sporting Life Archive

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 3, 2020 80:15

Hello GameDay fans, only a few more days until we are back in action! Until then we have a special archive edition of My Sporting Life, in this episode Danny Kelly is joined by a man who played a key role in Blackburn Rovers triumph in the Premier League, Graeme Le Saux!  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front With... Jermaine Beckford

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 31, 2020 47:23

Sam Matterface brings you another episode of Up Front With...In this episode we hear from the former Leeds United, Everton and Leicester City striker Jermaine Beckford!Over the course of the hour they discuss his career defining goals, life in the lower leagues, what it meant to him to score for Leeds United at Old Trafford and how kicking up a fuss about a shirt number got him into the starting lineup at a former club.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front With.. Tony Cascarino

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 28, 2020 48:00

While you wait for the season to kick off here is the next instalment of Up Front with...In this episode Sam Matterface speaks to the former Republic of Ireland striker and talkSPORT favourite Tony Cascarino.Over the hour we hear about the early days of his career at Gillingham, confrontations with Chelsea fans, playing in France, and how his international career ended with a brawl...  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front With...Andy Gray

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 24, 2020 48:00

In this episode we hear from the former Aston Villa, Wolves and Everton striker Andy Gray.Join Andy and Sam Matterface as they discuss his rise to becoming one of the First Division's top strikers, moving to Aston Villa as a teenager, and the biggest regret about his departure from Everton.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Danny Murphy: Liverpool In My Words

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 20, 2020 46:20

Former Reds midfielder and lifelong Liverpool fan Danny Murphy brings you a talkSPORT special. We hear about his experiences with the Merseyside club!   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front with... Billy Sharp

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 17, 2020 47:31

In this episode we have the former Leeds United, Southampton and current Sheffield United striker and captain; as we go Up Front With…Billy Sharp. Billy tells Sam Matterface all about his career defining goals, plying his trade in the lower leagues, why it didn't work out at Southampton, what life was like at Leeds under Massimo Cellino, scoring the most goals this century in England and how it feels to be a legend at his boyhood club.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

The Evolution of Jordan Henderson

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 14, 2020 42:43

What a year it’s been for Jordan Henderson!Laura Woods hosts a tribute to Liverpool's Premier League winning captain and the FWA's Player of the Year - Jordan Henderson. We hear from the man himself as well as those in the sport who both rate and slate this extraordinary player.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

The Lonely One: The Life of a Goalkeeper

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 10, 2020 47:03

The Lonely One: The Life of a Goalkeeper is a talkSPORT special documentary hosted by Hollywood actor David Harewood, that dissects one of the oldest cliches in the book: that goalkeepers are a different breed!Guests such as Peter Shilton, David James and Scott Carson (to name a few) discuss the position, the highs and lows of their careers and the effects that playing the position can have on an individual's mental health.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

The King: A Tribute to Kenny Dalglish

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 10, 2020 45:39

In a special documentary, Actor and Liverpool fan Stephen Graham throws the spotlight on his idol Kenny Dalglish. We hear from coaches, teammates and many more who have admired this true legend of the game.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front With...Mark Hughes

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 7, 2020 47:57

The Up Front with series returns with the former Manchester United, Barcelona, Chelsea and Wales striker Mark Hughes in conversation with Sam Matterface.We hear about his two spells at Manchester United, an unsuccessful spell at Barcelona, winning multiple trophies under Sir Alex Ferguson and why he ended up playing two competitive games in one day!  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Danny Kelly's Record Book: The 2019/2020 season awards!

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 3, 2020 54:30

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.This week, Danny is joined by talkSPORT's Tom Rennie and comedian and broadcaster Mark Smith to reflect on the most bizarre of football seasons after the domestic football calendar finally came to an end four months later than expected.We discuss the impact of VAR in it's debut season, pay tribute to some of the Premier League's brains trust and there's a word of criticism for almost every footballing authority around the world.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Final Previews, Reviews and Sea Views

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 31, 2020 49:08

It’s your final instalment of Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis…well for now anyway, as we bring you another cracking GameDay podcast. We preview the FA Cup Final between Chelsea and underdogs Arsenal, look ahead to the Championship Play-off Final which sees Brentford take on Fulham.  The guys also reflect on what’s been one hell of a season and it’s also time to see if Dream Team’s Andrew Butler can redeem himself in the end of season quiz.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: It's Squeaky Bum Time!

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 24, 2020 59:25

Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis are here to bring you another ultimate Premier League Preview!This week it really is squeaky bum time as we preview the weekend fixtures and make our final relegation predictions! We discuss average Everton, Kepa ‘butterfingers’ Arrizabalaga, the possible new managers of next season, Andrew Butler brings you top fantasy football tips and there’s a tumbleweed moment when nobody knows who Eirik Bakke is…  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Leeds United: Ups and downs

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 22, 2020 48:39

After Leeds United secured promotion back to the Premier League, talkSPORT bring you a special programme looking back on their sixteen year exile from the Premier League.Hosted by former Whites striker Jermaine Beckford, we hear from a host of former players such as Shaun Derry and Brian Deane about their experience of playing for the club as financial uncertainty loomed over Elland Road.Hear also from IBF Featherweight World Champion Josh Warrington, a lifelong Leeds fan who explains how it felt to watch his boyhood club drop from the dizzy heights of the Champions League to the lows of midweek League One football in less than a decade.And we look back on the incredible two years under Marcelo Bielsa which has guided the club back to the Premier League  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: No Ordinary Season!

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 20, 2020 50:48

After all the weekend drama Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Matt Holland are here to bring you all the latest along with your ultimate football preview!We react to the shock departure of Nigel Pearson, question if Man United are in desperate need of a new Goalkeeper, preview all the upcoming fixtures and of course Dream Team’s Andrew Butler is back with some top tips ahead of the midweek action.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Danny Kelly's Record Book: Pep's jeans & "Mossy's" boots

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 20, 2020 49:37

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.This week Danny is joined by talkSPORT's Mark Webster and former Spurs and Wimbledon defender Chris Perry to review the latest week in football.The trio discuss Leeds United's sensational season and equally brilliant social media department, Arsenal shocked just about everyone with their win over Man City but was Pep Guardiola's outfit choice partly to blame for City's performance? And there's not one but two bizarre sackings with just two fixtures remaining.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jack Charlton: A GameDay Special

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 18, 2020 42:49

Today we bring you something different, following the passing of football icon Jack Charlton.A hero, legend, brother, winner. Just a few words to describe England World Cup winner Jack Charlton. He spent his entire career with Leeds, making a club record 773 appearances and helped the club win the first division title, an FA Cup, a League Cup and their first ever European trophies. Charlton also led the Republic of Ireland to their first major finals at Euro '88 and the quarter-finals at the World Cup in 1990. During this programme, several former players, managers and fans pay tribute to an icon of the game and celebrate his extraordinary life.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: Life’s A Beach…For Liverpool

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 17, 2020 48:00

It’s Friday, which means time for another Premier League Preview with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis. This week, life’s a beach for Liverpool and they are already playing in their flip-flops. We discuss the future of Dean Smith, that troublesome VAR, Danny Ings’ link with Leicester City and of course we don’t forget those all-important FA Cup Semi Finals!   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: 'They're An Absolute Nightmare'

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 14, 2020 49:39

Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are here once again to bring you your ultimate preview to all the midweek Premier League action. This week former England, Spurs forward and all round nice guy Darren Bent joins us. We ask is Mourinho sucking the life out of Spurs? Do Villa have a fighting chance? Also Andrew Butler is here to bring you top Dream Team tips!  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Danny Kelly's Record Book: Good riddance Norwich

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 13, 2020 48:39

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.This week, with Danny on the sidelines, Tom Rennie is in the hot-seat alongside former Premier League striker David Connolly and comedian and broadcaster Mark Smith to dissect the recent week of top flight football.We say goodbye to Norwich after they mathematically became the first team to be relegated, slightly above them we pay tribute to all the struggling teams in the league who decided to start winning when it matters, and slightly above them we discuss why Graham Potter's dress sense could be the reason why he is struggling to get a tune out of his Brighton side  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: ‘More Mark Noble…Less Lanzini’

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 22, 2020 48:00

 Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are here to bring you the ultimate GameDay Premier League Preview show.This week we are joined by former Tottenham and England front man Darren Bent! We reflect on the rage of Roy Keane, and come up with a solution for West Ham’s sloppy squad. While Andrew Butler comes along to bring you top Dream Team tips and has a heartfelt apology for Crystal Palace.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Danny Kelly's Record Book: Bad barnets, malfunctioning tech & AFTV....the Premier League is back!

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 21, 2020 49:07

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.This week Danny is joined by talkSPORT's Tom Rennie and former England defender Paul Parker to reflect on the return of the Premier LeagueThe trio discuss how they've been consuming football in the new era, the concept of using 'finishers' now there's nine substitutes available and who's sporting the best haircut after three months in isolation  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: ‘They’re A Liability’ 

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 18, 2020 48:00

Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are back to bring you a second helping of the Premier League Preview podcast.  Along for the ride Darren Lewis is here to talk more about fairy tales and football.  Alex chats to Bournemouth midfielder Lewis Cook about Injury problems at the club and his desire to get back in the England squad. While Andrew Butler comes to share his top fantasy football tips ahead of a packed weekend of fixtures.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Premier League Preview: It’s Back!

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 15, 2020 48:00

Football is back and luckily for you so is the Premier League Preview Podcast with Sam Matterface and Dean Smith’s best mate Alex Crook!This week we have a man who has a bookcase almost as impressive as his career, it’s former Charlton, Ipswich and Republic of Ireland Midfielder Matt Holland. Also on the pod we have interviews with Sheffield United Captain Billy Sharp and Everton’s Theo Walcott. Not forgetting all you fantasy fans Dream Teams' Andrew Butler is here.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Danny Kelly's Record Book: The return of the three legged dog

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 14, 2020 24:37

Despite the lack of action on the field Danny Kelly and Tom Rennie discuss what's happening off the field during the global football lockdown.With the Premier League closing in on a return Danny has concerns that it won't be the anywhere close to what we were used to pre lockdown, Tom has his own concerns but they are focussed more on the obsession of fake crowds ad crowd effects being used on television and the handball rule reared its ugly head this weekend, but we'll explain why it's about to change from next season.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

The Imbalance Of Football

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 10, 2020 47:59

On this week’s GameDay Podcast top Journalist and all-round smooth operator Darren Lewis joins our lockdown lads, Sam Matterface and Alex Crook. We speak about the on-going issues of racism within the game, what can be done the address the imbalance of football?30 years on from the tournament Stuart Pearce joins us as we relive Italia 90, which saw England suffer a devastating loss on penalties to West Germany. Former Bournemouth, Palace, Stoke, West Brom and Borough boss Tony Pulis tells us about his training regimes and how he would prepare for pre season. We also take a look at La Liga with author of 'The Frying Pan of Spain: Sevilla v Real Betis' Colin Millar.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Up Front With... Andy Cole

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 9, 2020 48:00

In this episode we have the former Manchester United, Newcastle and Blackburn striker; as we go Up Front With…Andy Cole. Andy tells Sam Matterface all about his career defining goals, his favourite strike partner, why he didn't get on with Graeme Souness during his time at Blackburn and what made Sir Alex Ferguson a phenomenal manager.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Danny Kelly’s Record Book: "I'll have the McVardy & Red Bull"

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 7, 2020 24:45

Despite the lack of action on the field Danny Kelly and Tom Rennie discuss what's happening off the field during the global football lockdown.With the Premier League honing in on a return Danny and Tom discuss the off field activities of some of the leagues top players, including Jamie Vardy who was seen gorging in his local McDonalds after Leicester training. We discuss the idea of crowd noise in empty stadiums and Danny boasts of his new magazine subscription which has been keeping him sane over the last few months.  See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Transfers Everywhere ft Darren Anderton

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 3, 2020 49:37

As the transfer gossip goes into overdrive make sure you join Sam Matterface and Alex Crook for your weekly fill of football with The GameDay Podcast.This week Darren Anderton relives Euro 1996 and predicts great success at next summer's European Championships for England. The Stoke boss Michael O’Neill tells us about the 4-hour training sessions, also Aston Villa and Republic of Ireland international Conor Hourihane on hard graft and the influence of playing in League 1 and 2.   See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Claim Premier League Preview Show

In order to claim this podcast we'll send an email to with a verification link. Simply click the link and you will be able to edit tags, request a refresh, and other features to take control of your podcast page!

Claim Cancel