Sesho's Anime And Manga Reviews

Follow Sesho's Anime And Manga Reviews
Share on
Copy link to clipboard

Reviewing all types of manga, anime old and new with a critical and passionate eye. Email: seshos@hotmail.com

Sesho


    • Aug 1, 2022 LATEST EPISODE
    • every other week NEW EPISODES
    • 13m AVG DURATION
    • 430 EPISODES


    Search for episodes from Sesho's Anime And Manga Reviews with a specific topic:

    Latest episodes from Sesho's Anime And Manga Reviews

    Podcast Episode 275: Kiss Me at the Stroke of Midnight Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 1, 2022 15:06


    I review the first volume of the manga Kiss Me at the Stroke of Midnight by Rin Mikimoto. 

    Podcast Episode 274: Tropic of the Sea

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 1, 2022 12:32


    This week I review the manga Tropic of the Sea by Satoshi Kon. 

    Podcast Episode 273: Magical Explorer Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 17, 2022 17:52


    Podcast review of the manga Magical Explorer Volume 1 by Iris, Yukari Higa, and Noboru Kannatuki. Translated by David Musto. 

    Podcast Episode 272: Not Simple

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 12, 2022 15:51


    Podcast review of the manga Not Simple by Natsume Ono. 

    Episode 271: Konosuba Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 30, 2022 16:20


    In this podcast episode I review the first volume of the light novel series Konosuba: God's Blessing on This Wonderful World!: Oh! My Useless Goddess! by Natsume Akatsuki and Kurone Mishima. 

    Podcast Episode 270: The Beast Player

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 24, 2022 20:13


    I review the young adult novel The Beast Player by Nahoko Uehashi. 

    Podcast Episode 269: From the Red Fog Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 24, 2022 13:16


    My review of this twisted manga take on Dickensian England.

    Podcast Episode 268: Good Morning

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 28, 2021 16:54


    Podcast review of the Japanese film Good Morning 

    Podcast Episode 267: Louie the Rune Soldier Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 28, 2021 22:36


    Podcast review of the first manga volume of Louie the Rune Soldier.

    Episode 266: Fly Me to the Moon Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 7, 2020 12:12


    Podcast review of Fly Me to the Moon Volume 1. 

    Episode 265: The Way of the House Husband Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 27, 2020 10:38


    Podcast review of the manga The Way of the House Husband Volume 1 by Kousuke Oono. 

    Episode 264-- Female Prisoner Scorpion: The Complete Collection

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 23, 2020 20:58


    Episode 263: Stravaganza Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 7, 2020 18:47


    Podcast Review of the first volume of Stravaganza 

    Episode 262: Weathering With You

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 20, 2020 15:27


    Podcast review of the anime movie Weathering With You. 

    Episode 261: Go With the Clouds North by Northwest Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 26, 2019 13:33


    Episode 260: Otherworldly Izakaya Nobu Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 24, 2019 13:58


    Episode 259: Classroom of the Elite Novel 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 20, 2019 16:58


    Episode 258: Aposimz Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 18, 2019 14:07


    Podcast review of Aposimz Volume 1 by Tsutomu Nihei

    Episode 257: Gleipnir Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 8, 2019 10:19


    Episode 256: Godzilla King of the Monsters

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 2, 2019 17:21


    My podcast review of the new movie Godzilla King of the Monsters 

    Episode 255: Final Fantasy

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 3, 2019 20:59


    32 years after I got to a dead end on the first Final Fantasy game, I broke out my PSP version to finally finish it and start a run of all the FF series. 

    Podcast 254: Attack on Titan Volume 22

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 5, 2019 17:56


    Eren continues to learn the truth about how his father came to be found wandering outside the walls all those years ago. Then the government must decide if the common people should know the truth about the past. 

    Attack on Titan Season 3, Part I

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 3, 2019 15:33


    Eren and the Scouts find that the nobility and the Military Police might be bigger enemies of humanity than the Titans. 

    Episode 252: Barefoot Gen, The Movies 1 & 2

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 26, 2018 16:13


    A young boy has to learn to survive in the aftermath of the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima in World War II. 

    Podcast Episode 251: Batman Ninja

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 12, 2018 16:52


    Review of Batman Ninja, an anime movie in which Batman and his family of current and former Robins are transported back to Warring States Era Japan to fight against the Joker, Harley Quinn, Grodd, Two-Face, Deathstroke, Poison Ivy, and the Penguin, who are all plotting to take over the country 

    Podcast Episode 250: Lost Stars Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 7, 2018 13:10


    Podcast review of Star Wars: Lost Stars Volume 1 by Claudia Gray and Yusaku Komiyama. Published by Yen Press, $13.00 

    Podcast Episode 249: Happiness Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 29, 2017 13:15


    Review of Happiness Volume 1 by Shuzo Oshimi

    Podcast Episode 248: Root Letter

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 27, 2016 15:18


    Review of the visual novel Root Letter, available for Playstation 4 and Vita 

    Podcast Episode 246: Gakuen Prince Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 5, 2012 19:04


    Podcast manga review of Gakuen Prince volume 1 by Jun Yuzuki. Translated by Harumi Ueno. Adapted by Abby Denson. Originally published in Japan by Kodansha. Published in US by Del Rey, $10.99, Rated OT 16+ (Should be rated Mature for sexual situations, language). From the back cover: "Joshi High is an elite school that most girls in Japan only dream of attending. Then one day everything changes-- the all-girl school goes coed. There's just one catch: The girls out-number the boys. So begins a wild, no-holds-barred competition for the boys of the school. Which smart and independent-minded girl will rise above the fray?" My Grade: A-

    Podcast Episode 245: The Flowers of Evil Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 27, 2012 14:36


    Manga podcast review of The Flowers of Evil volume 1 by Shuzo Oshimi. Translated by Paul Staar. Originally published in Japan by Kodansha. Published in US by Vertical, $10.95 From the back cover: "Nowhere to go. Nothing to do. The routine of class and endless stupidity in a provincial town is taking a toll on middle schooler Takao Kasuga. Though he gets along well enough with his peers, they'll never begin to dig any of that reading business that's his only true escape. What can he expect when he's in love with foreign stuff like the poems of Charles Baudelaire? Yet, his life threatens to take a turn for the worse when he finds and takes home, in a moment of weakness, the gym clothes of pretty, sweet, and smart Nanako Saeki on whom he has a major crush. Witness to the theft is the oddest girl in class, who seems to consider the whole world a pile of excrement and to nurse a terribly sadistic streak...." My Grade: A-

    Podcast Episode 244: Sailor Moon Volume 2

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 24, 2012 17:41


    After I lament the fact that Kodansha Comics has isolated itself socially, and the ongoing shortcomings of digital manga offerings, I review the second awesome volume of Sailor Moon!

    Podcast Episode 243: Bloody Monday Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later May 22, 2012 13:15


    Podcast review of Bloody Monday volume 1. Story by Ryou Ryumon. Art by Kouji Megumi. Translated by Mari Morimoto. Published by Kodansha. Rated 13+, $10.99.

    Podcast Episode 242: Sailor Moon Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 25, 2012 20:47


    Manga podcast review of Sailor Moon Volume 1 by Naoko Takeuchi. Translated and adapted by William Flanagan. Published by Kodansha Comics, $10.99, Rated 13+   My Grade: A

    Podcast Episode 241: Catherine

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 12, 2011 26:12


    Podcast Episode 241 is a review of the videogame Catherine for Xbox 360. Game directed by Katsura Hashino. Music composed by Shoji Meguro. Developed and published by Atlus. Available on Xbox 360 and PS3. List price: $59.99, Rated Mature 17+ From the back cover: "Vincent is trapped in a nightmare, facing a choice of marrying his longtime girlfriend Katherine or moving on to the incredible blonde he just woke up next to---named Catherine! The worst part is, if he makes the wrong choice, he could end up dead. Hang out, drink, send texts, and watch the story unfold through full HD cinematics. Addictive puzzle action has climbing fast and skirting pitfalls! Compete or cooperate with a friend!" My Grade: A- Listen to my podcast review below:  

    Podcast Episode 240: High School of the Dead Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 25, 2011 15:17


    Podcast manga review of High School of the Dead volume 1. Story by Daisuke Sato. Art by Shouji Sato. Translated by Christina Dashiell. Originally published in Japan by Fujishobo. Published in US by Yen Press, $13.99, Rated Mature. From the back cover: "A mysterious illness is spreading rapidly through the halls of Fujimi High School. In a matter of hours, the campus is transformed from a place of learning into a hive of nightmares, as the infected students collapse and are reborn as flesh-hungry zombies! Only a handful of students escape the initial outbreak — among them Takashi Komuro and his childhood friend, Rei. He manages to protect Rei from the initial onslaught, but how long can Takashi and the other students hope to survive when the whole school – maybe the whole town — is out for their blood?!" My Grade: A Listen to my podcast review below:

    Podcast Episode 239: A Certain Scientific Railgun Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 25, 2011 10:32


    Podcast manga review of A Certain Scientific Railgun volume 1. Story by Kazuma Kamachi. Art by Motoi Fuyukawa. Originally published in Japan by Media Works. Published in US by Seven Seas, Rated Teen, $10.99. From the back cover: "Welcome to a world where mysticism and science collide, and supernatural powers are derived from either science of religion. At the heart of this world is Academy City, an advanced metropolis whose population is comprised mostly of students. The majority of students are enrolled in the city's Power Curriculum Program, where they must learn to master their powers. Out of several million students, only seven are deemed powerful enough to have Level 5 status." "Meet Mikoto Misaka, the third most powerful Level 5 esper in Academy City. Together with her best friend Kuroko Shirai and the other members of Judgement, a student-run law enforcement agency, Mikoto delves deep into the dark heart of the scientific sprawl she calls home, and uncovers secrets she wishes she hadn't!" My Grade: A You can listen to my podcast review below: You can read a free preview of the manga at: http://www.gomanga.com/mv/index.php?series=railgun

    Podcast Episode 238: Borders Closing & Jmanga.com Opening

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 23, 2011 9:16


    Was originally going to do a manga review but got offtrack talking about Borders liquidation sale disillusionment and the exciting new Jmanga.com website coming next month

    Podcast Episode 237: Cross Game Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 24, 2011 16:22


    Podcast manga review of Cross Game Volume 1 by Mitsuru Adachi. Translated by Ralph Yamada and Lillian Olsen. Originally published in Japan by Shogakukan. Published in US by Viz Shonen Sunday, $19.99, Rated T for Teen. From the back cover: "Cross Game is a moving drama that is hearfelt and true, yet in the brilliant hands of manga artist Mitsuru Adachi, delightfully flows with a light and amusing touch. The series centers around a boy named Ko, the family of four sisters who live down the street and the game of baseball. This poignant coming-of-age story will change your perception of what shonen manga can be. Three in one! Contains volumes 1,2,and 3 as released in Japan" My Grade: A+ Listen to the podcast below and also read Chapter 1 of Cross Game at http://media.viz.com/flash/omv/index.php?x=crossgame/omv01

    Podcast Episode 236: Arisa Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 23, 2011 14:25


    Manga podcast review of Arisa volume 1 by Natsumi Ando. Translated and adapted by Andria Cheng. Originally published by Kodansha in Japan. Published in US by Del Rey, $10.99, rated T Ages 13+. From the back cover: "Tsubasa thinks that her pretty and popular twin sister, Arisa, has the perfect life. Everyone at school loves Arisa-- unlike the hot-tempered Tsubasa, whose nickname is the demon princess. But when Arisa attempts suicide, Tsubasa learns that her seemingly perfect sister has been keeping some dark secrets. Now Tsubasa is going undercover at school-- disguised as Arisa-- in search of the truth. But will Arisa's secrets shatter Tsubasa's life too?" My Grade: A+

    Podcast Episode 234: Day of Rage, Day of Death

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 17, 2011 20:39


    My thoughts on the death of Tokypop

    Podcast Episode 235: Toriko Episode 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 17, 2011 11:04


    Podcast review of Toriko Episode 1, now being simulcast on Thursdays at 10pm EST on www.beta.funimation.com and www.hulu.com.  Directed by Akifumi Zuko. Series composition by Isao Murayama. Gourmet Hunter Toriko searches the world for exotic flavors and ingredients for his ultimate full course meal. The problem is that those ingredients are giant monsters who want to make a meal of HIM! He is aided in this quest by Komatsu, head chef of the ritzy Hotel Gourmet. Their first mission together is to defeat the gigantic Gararagator. Will Toriko's "Knife and Fork" martial arts be enough to take it down? My Grade: B   Listen to my podcast review below: Then watch episode 1 of the anime:

    Podcast Episode 233: Lives Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Feb 7, 2011 15:55


    Podcast manga review of Lives Volume 1 by Masayuki Taguchi (Battle Royale) Translated by Monica Seya Chin. Adapted by Bryce P. Coleman. Originally published in Japan by Akita Publishing. Published in US by Tokyopop, $13.99, Rated Mature 18+. From the back cover: "A freak meteor shower devestates the Kanto region of Japan. Those caught in the blast find themselves mysteriously transported to a strange world where humans transform into cannibalistic beasts who must fight to survive! In this new, violent world, martial arts student Shinman Shingo must resist the urge to kill, and instead forge a path of peace to protect his friends--- and his own humanity." My Grade: A

    Podcast Episode 232: Tokyopop and Yen, the Artful Dodgers of Manga

    Play Episode Listen Later Feb 6, 2011 13:37


    Podcast Episode 232: In this episode I comment on the price increases of Tokyopop and Yen Press and the apathy among the manga community about the price hikes. Among the topics covered: The schizophrenia of Yen Press prices, Tokyopop's rip-off $12.99 books, incest among publishers and bloggers, the lotus eaters of the Anime News Network forum, the current American way of charging more for less, the incompetence of Manga publisher CEOS, overpricing licenses, limited edition anime shoved down our throats.

    Podcast Episode 231: Baccano! Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 1, 2011 16:08


    I've been neglecting my anime viewing for far too long so I just decided this weekend to start working through my backlog of dvds alphabetically. Sadly, I've had some of my dvds for YEARS and have never watched them. I know I'm probably not the only one guilty of this sin. And I really need to watch more online stuff as well. Well, anyway, this episode I'm going to be looking at Baccano!, an anime based on a light novel series by Ryohgo Narita who also wrote the series that the anime Durarara is based on. Baccano is directed by Takahiro Omori, who also worked on Hell Girl, Gakuen Alice, and and the Durarara anime. The writer and music composer of Baccano seem to work with Omori on most of his shows. Baccano is published by Funimation here in the States and is rated 17+ for violence as far as I can tell. From the back cover: "Don't let nobody tell you there's no future in a life of crime, because some rackets can last forever. But we'll get around to all that immortality jazz later. A mafia turf war is raging on the mean streets of the Big Apple, a place where regular joes bounce between backdoor booze joints and the breadline. But this caper ain't about a simple gangland brawl. It's about hoods who can't seem to die proper after catching a bullet or five between the eyes. Sadistic hit-men and the dames they love, mad bombers going boom, monsters going bump and soul sucking alchemists bootlegging an elixir of eternal life." My Grade: A Just hit the > symbol below to listen to my review You can watch the first episode of Baccano! below:

    Podcast Episode 230: Ratman Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 30, 2010 12:35


    Podcast review of Ratman Volume 1 by Inui Sekihiko. Translated by Adrienne Beck. Adapted by Bryce P. Coleman. Originally published in Japan by Kadokawa Shoten. Published in US by Tokyopop, $10.99, Rated Older Teen 16+ . From the back cover: "Shuto Katsuragi is a superhero otaku. Only problem is, he's too short and always getting teased for his height...especially when he tries to emulate his favorite superhero! To make matters worse, Shuto suddenly get abducted and tricked into participating in some rather sketchy and super-villainous experiments! What's a shrimp to when his dreams come true in ways he never expected?" My Grade: A+ You can look at a free preview for volume 1 at: http://www.tokyopop.com/product/2848  

    Podcast Episode 229: Omamori Himari Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 24, 2010 16:17


    Podcast manga reveiw of Omamori Himari Volume 1 by Milan Matra. Translated by Amy Forsyth. Originally published in Japan by Fujimishobo. Published in US by Yen Press, $10.99, Rated M for Mature. From the back cover: "Severely allergic to felines, Yuuto Amakawa spends his mornings nursing a drippy nose courtesy of his friend Rinko's cat. But on his sixteenth birthday, it's not just Rinko's pet that's riling up his allergies - to say nothing of his hormones! Appearing before him is Himari, a buxom, sword-wielding cat spirit in human guise who has sworn to protect Yuuto, now the target of vengeful spirits! It's clear that Yuuto's allergies are the least of his problems - he's gonna need Himari's help if he wants to live to see his seventeenth birthday!" My Grade: B+ Omamori Himari was adapted into an anime at the beginning of this year in Japan. Here is a promotional trailer for the series:

    Podcast Episode 228: Andromeda Stories Volume 2

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 19, 2010 19:56


    Podcast manga review of Andromeda Stories Volume 2 by Keiko Takemiya. Story by Ryu Mitsuse. Translated by Magnolia Steele. Published by Vertical, $11.95, Rated 13+. From the back cover: "The machine race known only as the "Enemy" has swiftly taken over the Cosmoralian Empire, but Queen Lilia and her son, Prince Jimsa, manage to flee. The only place to escape to, however, is the desert wasteland where the elements, predatory beasts, and bandits pose almost as great a threat to survival as the machine invaders. Prince Jimsa, growing ever stronger in the face of adversity, prepares to inherit his mantle as the Sun King, the descendant of combined Murat, Ayodoyan, and Cosmoralian legacies. It will fall upon his shoulders to turn the machines away before it's too late." My Grade: A

    Podcast Episode 227: Andromeda Stories Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 11, 2010 16:01


    Podcast manga review of Andromeda Stories Volume 1 by Keiko Takemiya. Story by Ryu Mitsuse. Translated by Magnolia Steele. Published by Vertical, $11.95, Rated 13+. From the back cover: Cosmoralia's Prince Ithaca is about to wed Princess Lilia of Ayodoya and be crowned Astralta III. The apparently favorable celestial bearings mean he will be no mere monarch but holy king of a new "papacy". Alas, the peaceful inhabitants of Planet Astria have no clue that they're next in line for invasion by a ruthless machine force--a threat that seems to metaphorize the inherent perils of politics and desire in this multilayered saga. The tension slowly mounts to an unbearable pitch in this ominous first volume of three. Following the conclusion of her award-winning and epochal To Terra..., Keiko Takemiya paired up with science fiction legend Ryu Mitsuse to create yet another milestone that was shortly made into an animated TV feature. Andromeda Stories is comics pioneer Takemiya's second work to appear in English. My Rating: A+ You can read a free preview of Volume 1 at: http://www.vertical-inc.com/previews/andromeda/index.html

    Podcast Episode 226: One Piece Volume 3

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 29, 2010 8:31


    Podcast manga review of One Piece Volume 3: Don't Get Fooled Again by Eiichiro Oda. Translated by Andy Nakatani. Adapted by Lance Caselman. Originally published in Japan by Shueisha. Published in US by Viz Shonen Jump, $7.95, Rated T for Teen. Show correction: I said "Jolly Roger" when I meant to say "Gold Roger". Please forgive me! From the back cover: "Sure, lots of people say they want to be the King of the Pirates, but how many have the guts to do what it takes? When Monkey D. Luffy first set out to sea in a leaky rowboat, he had no idea what might lie over the horizon. Now he's got a crew--sort of--in the form of swordsman Roronoa Zolo and treasure-hunting thief Nami. If he wants to prove himself on the high seas, Luffy will have to defeat the weird pirate lord Buggy the Clown. He'll have to find a map to the Grand Line, the sea route where the toughest pirates sail. And he'll have to face the Dread Captain Usopp, who claims to be a notorious pirate captain...but, frankly, Usopp says a lot of things..." My Grade: B

    Podcast Episode 225: Afterschool Charisma Volume 1

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 21, 2010 14:49


    Podcast manga review of Afterschool Charisma Volume 1  by Kumiko Suekane. Translated by Camellia Nieh. Originally published in Japan by Shogakukan. Published in US by Viz SigIkki, $12.99, Rated T+ (Older Teen) for boobs. From the back cover: "St. Kleio Academy is a very exclusive school. To enroll, a student must be a clone of a famous historical figure. Wolfgang Mozart, Queen Elizabeth, Sigmund Freud, Marie Curie, Adolf Hitler-- With such a combustible student body, it's only a matter of time before the campus explode! Shiro Kamiya is the only non-clone at St. Kleio, a school where his father is a teacher. Why is a regular kid taking classes at the school? Nobody seems to know for sure." My Grade: D- You can read Chapters 1 and 7-12 for free at: http://www.sigikki.com/series/afterschoolcharisma/index.shtml

    Podcast Episode 224: One Piece Volume 2

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 12, 2010 9:55


    Podcast manga review of One Piece Volume 2: Buggy the Clown by Eiichiro Oda. Translated by Andy Nakatani. Adapted by Lance Caselman. Originally published in Japan by Shueisha. Published in the US by Viz Shonen Jump, $7.95, Rated T for Teen. From the back cover: "As a kid, Monkey D. Luffy vowed to become King of the Pirates and find the legendary treasure called the "One Piece". The enchanted Gum-Gum Fruit has given Luffy the power to stretch like rubber-- and his new crewmate, the infamous Roronoa Zolo, strikes fear into the hearts of other buccaneers! But what chance does one rubber guy stand against Nami, a thief so tough she specializes in robbing pirates...or Captain Buggy, a fiendish pirate lord whose weird, clownish appearance conceals even weirder powers? It's pirate vs. pirate in the second swashbuckling volume of One Piece!" My Grade: B+ Just hit the play button below: You can also listen to my podcast review of One Piece Volume 1 at this link: http://www.sesho.libsyn.com/podcast_episode_207_one_piece_volume_1

    Claim Sesho's Anime And Manga Reviews

    In order to claim this podcast we'll send an email to with a verification link. Simply click the link and you will be able to edit tags, request a refresh, and other features to take control of your podcast page!

    Claim Cancel