A Second Opinion with Senator Bill Frist, M.D.

Follow A Second Opinion with Senator Bill Frist, M.D.
Share on
Copy link to clipboard

The goal is to have A Second Opinion be seen as the go to place for learning how to improve health and health care. Together we will have conversations with the health thought leaders, the entrepreneurs, the clinicians, the policy makers, the business leaders, and the consumers— to better understand how we all can improve health and well-being — of ourselves as individuals, of our families — and of our communities. We achieve this through education and engagement at the nexus of policy, medicine, and innovation

A Second Opinion Podcast


    • Jan 17, 2022 LATEST EPISODE
    • weekly NEW EPISODES
    • 47m AVG DURATION
    • 162 EPISODES

    Listeners of A Second Opinion with Senator Bill Frist, M.D. that love the show mention: second opinion, brings together, unique podcast, health care, innovation, thought leaders, policy, innovative, focuses, medicine, great insights, system, america, timely, happening, challenges, discussions, industry, future, thought provoking.



    Search for episodes from A Second Opinion with Senator Bill Frist, M.D. with a specific topic:

    Latest episodes from A Second Opinion with Senator Bill Frist, M.D.

    162 - Princeton University's Jessica Metcalf, Alan Blinder & Bill Dudley: “Covid-19, Fiscal Monetary and Health Policy Responses” – Part 5

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 17, 2022 87:50

    On January 14th, A Second Opinion joined with the Princeton University Griswold Center for Economic Policy Studies and Princeton's Center for Health and Wellbeing for Part 5 in a series, on the fiscal, monetary and health policy response implications of Covid-19.  You can hear Parts 1, 2, 3 & 4 of this series in our podcast episode numbers 48, 69, 96 and 122.   For our discussion, I'm joined by Princeton's leading economic and health policy experts: Jessica Metcalf, Associate Professor of Ecology, Evolutionary Biology & Public Affairs, Alan Blinder, the Gordon S. Rentschler Memorial Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, and a former Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, And Dr. Bill Dudley, former president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and now Senior Research Scholar at the Griswold Center for Economic Policy Studies.   In this wide-ranging discussion, we cover the latest on how our current public health crisis has dramatically changed and continues to impact our economy, and our fiscal and monetary policy.  You can see the video version of this talk, which includes presenters' slides, on our YouTube channel. 

    161 - Special Telehealth Academy Episode with Dr. Mike Petersen, Chief Clinical Innovation Officer of NTT DATA Services

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 10, 2022 54:24

    We're sharing with you a special discussion we had at the end of last year with Dr. Michael Petersen, who in 2021 served as the Chief Clinical Innovation Officer of NTT DATA Services.  Dr. Mike is a pediatric emergency medicine physician, served in the U.S. Army, and brings over 20 years of deep health industry knowledge of emerging technologies and strategy.  Today, he is at PwC as Managing Director - Clinical Health Transformation Lead. With his early childhood spent in a Vietnamese orphanage, his personal life experiences have informed his executive leadership in addressing complex issues of health equity. Dr. Mike and I came together as a part of an immersive Telehealth Academy series organized by the Nashville Entrepreneur Center's Project Healthcare, The Disruption Lab, and Sage Growth Partners.  Thank you to the event organizers for letting us share this discussion with our A Second Opinion audience.

    160 - Eric Hargan, former HHS Deputy Secretary, on running a $1.3 trillion agency while directing national pandemic response

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 3, 2022 56:59

    Eric Hargan served as the Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) from 2017 to 2021.  As Deputy Secretary, he oversaw the development and approval of all HHS, CMS, and FDA regulations, as well as the day-to-day operations and management of the department – the largest in the federal government with a budget in excess of $1.3 trillion and over 80,000 employees. Eric was instrumental in Operation Warp Speed, the Trump Administration's price transparency initiatives, as well as reforms that allowed for major telehealth expansion.  Also a veteran of the Bush HHS department, today Eric leads the Hargan Group and serves as an adjunct professor at Vanderbilt University.   He shares with us his fascinating experience working at the highest levels of both the public and private healthcare sectors. 

    159 - Shawn Morris, CEO of Privia Health, Shares Their Exciting, National Physician Enablement Model Focused on Quality Care & Physician Well-Being

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 27, 2021 63:38

    This episode is brought to you by MEDHOST, a Trusted EHR for Healthcare Facilities. To learn more, go to Medhost.com. Shawn Morris is CEO of Privia Health, an exciting, national physician enablement company that's shaking up primary care and other specialty areas. Shawn has led Privia since 2018, expanding into new provider areas including California and West Texas, and successfully taking it public this year.  Privia was recently recognized among Inc. Magazine's Best-Led Companies for 2021. Shawn previously served as the President and COO of Cigna-Healthspring, overseeing Cigna's multi-billion dollar Medicare Advantage business. In today's discussion, he brings his extensive knowledge of the insurance market, and how to equip physicians with the tools they need to deliver the high-value care they want to provide – and consumers want to receive. For more on Privia Health: Privia Health's Chief Clinical Officer, Keith Fernandez, MD, and Chief Medical Officer of Privia Medical Group — Mid-Atlantic, Fred Taweel, MD, were recently featured by the American Medical Association regarding Privia's ACO success within the Medicare Shared Savings Program (MSSP) for the 2020 performance year. Read it here: https://www.ama-assn.org/practice-management/payment-delivery-models/physician-leaders-patient-access-drive-privia-health-s

    158 - Dr. Wes Ely, the Vanderbilt Critical Care Physician Whose Groundbreaking Work is Changing Intensive Care

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 20, 2021 55:14

    This episode is brought to you by MEDHOST, a Trusted EHR for Healthcare Facilities. To learn more, go to Medhost.com. Dr. Wes Ely is a pulmonologist, critical care physician and tenured professor at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. He is also the founder and codirector of the Critical Illness, Brain Dysfunction, and Survivorship Center, an organization devoted to research and ongoing care for patients and families affected by critical illness. Dr. Ely's groundbreaking investigations introduced crucial changes that reshaped intensive care: minimizing sedation, maximizing mobility, attending to the family, and providing supportive aftercare. His new book, Every Deep-Drawn Breath (https://www.icudelirium.org/every-deep-drawn-breath), rethinks critical care – a shift that was sparked in Dr. Ely when suddenly he found himself not as the physician, but as the loved one at the bedside of a sick family member.  Dr. Ely is donating all his net proceeds from this book to a fund established to help ICU survivors and their families.

    157 - Dr. Ashish Jha, Dean of the Brown School of Public Health, on the Future of Public Health in America

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 13, 2021 60:23

    This episode is brought to you by MEDHOST, a Trusted EHR for Healthcare Facilities. To learn more, go to Medhost.com. Dr. Ashish Jha is a physician, health policy researcher, and the third Dean of the Brown University School of Public Health.  Dr. Jha is recognized globally as an expert on pandemic preparedness and response, has led groundbreaking research around Ebola and is now on the frontlines of the COVID-19 response, leading national and international analysis of key issues and advising state and federal policymakers.  He previously led the Harvard Global Health Institute and teaching at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and Harvard Medical School. You'll want to hear our discussion on the future of public health and how to address its increasing politicization.

    156 - Humana CEO Bruce Broussard & Transcarent CEO Glen Tullman on the Future of Care Model Innovation

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 6, 2021 44:17

    Today we're sharing with you a special episode that we recorded in front of a live audience out at my farm, Old Town. I'm joined by Bruce Broussard, President and CEO of Humana, and Glen Tullman, CEO of Transcarent, to discuss the evolution of care models and where healthcare is headed in the future. A special thanks to Emids Technologies, a leading provider of digital transformation solutions to the healthcare industry, for organizing this timely panel.  Learn more about their work at www.emids.com.   

    155 - Dr. Leana Wen & Dr. James Hildreth – Public Health Leaders Review One City's Response to Covid-19, and the Lessons Learned for Cities Nationwide

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 30, 2021 67:24

    As the nation and world continue to grapple with COVID-19, there is much to learn about how to improve our health preparedness in the midst of crisis. Nashville is one of the first communities in the nation to do a comprehensive review of lessons learned from Nashville's health, business and community response to the pandemic.   Today, we're going to share with you highlights of this review, with takeaways that all cities and communities nationwide should be considering as they assess, plan, and prepare for future.   I'm joined by Meharry Medical College President Dr. James Hildreth, a member of President Biden's COVID-19 Health Equity Task Force, and Dr. Leana Wen, an emergency physician, former Health Commissioner of Baltimore, and a senior adviser to Avalere Health.  Both have played important roles in Nashville's Covid-19 response review, and as physicians with significant public health leadership experience, they give their candid thoughts on what went right, and what went wrong.   Special thanks to NashvilleHealth, the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce, the Nashville Health Care Council, Meharry Medical College, and Avalere Health, for making this review possible.   Read the summary and the full Nashville Covid-19 Response Review here: https://www.nashvillehealth.org/covid-response/

    154 - Tom Riley & Matt Marek, Seniorlink's Senior Leadership, on Valuing The Role of the Family Caregiver in America

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 22, 2021 59:32

    This episode is brought to you by the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association. Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies are in every ZIP code in every state, working to improve health and expand access to care. Community by community. For the health of America. I'm joined today by the top leadership of Seniorlink, an innovative company that provides coaching, emotional and financial support for families caring for loved ones.  Tom Riley serves as CEO, and Matt Marek is the President and Chief Operating Officer.  Together, they are working with Medicaid-eligible and Medicare Advantage members who want an alternative to nursing home care.  Seniorlink supports and provides the needed tools to the millions of family caregivers who are key to keeping their loved ones healthy and cared for in the home setting.    With November being National Family Caregivers Month, our discussion today is both timely and needed. 

    153 - Dr. Anthony Fauci on COVID-19, the Forecast for the Holidays, 2022 & Beyond

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 18, 2021 24:37

    Today we're sharing with you a special bonus episode.  As we head into our second holiday season in the midst of a global pandemic, I sit down with NIAID Direction & President Biden's Chief Medical Advisor Dr. Anthony Fauci for the Bipartisan Policy Center's discussion on COVID-19, the Forecast for the Holidays, 2022 & Beyond. We touch on when we'll move to the endemic phase of Covid, childhood vaccinations, bipartisanship & science, and his advice for staying safe & healthy during the holidays. You can listen to the full BPC event here: https://bipartisanpolicy.org/event/covid-19-whats-the-forecast-for-the-holidays-2022-beyond/

    152 - Tom Spann, CEO of Brightside, on Solving for the Fifth Biggest Killer in America: Poor Financial Health

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 15, 2021 58:36

    Tom Spann is CEO of Brightside, a comprehensive financial health engagement platform that partners with employers to give employees and their families the financial care they need. Previously, he was the founding CEO of Accolade, which today helps over 2 million people navigate the health system.   Our discussion today is centered on how one's personal financial health has a direct impact on health and well-being.  With three out of four Americans ranking their finances as the No. 1 stress in life, Brightside is on a mission to change that, improving not just personal finances but employee happiness.

    151 - Sam Quinones, Bestselling Author & Award-Winning Journalist, on America's Evolving Drug Epidemic

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 8, 2021 69:31

    We are joined again today by one of our very first guests on the show.  Sam Quinones is an award-winning journalist and the New York Times bestselling author of Dreamland: The True Tale of America's Opiate Epidemic. Two years ago, Sam and I discussed how opioid addiction had transformed the health and healthcare landscape of our nation. Today, Sam is back to share with us his latest book, out now, The Least of Us: True Tales of America and Hope in the Time of Fentanyl and Meth. His fascinating, in-depth reporting reveals the rapidly evolving drug epidemic that, while overshadowed by a global pandemic, has in many ways intensified.  He also shares stories of hope that demonstrate we still have a path forward on this uniquely challenging public health crisis.  And if you enjoy today's episode, I encourage you to go back and listen to our original discussion in Episode #12. 

    150 - Dr. Kevin Churchwell, President and CEO of Boston Children's Hospital, on the Future of Pediatric Care

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 1, 2021 55:31

    Dr. Kevin Churchwell is the president and CEO of Boston Children's Hospital, ranked the number one pediatric hospital in the nation.  There, they treat more rare and complex pediatric cases than any other hospital in the world.   On today's show, Dr. Churchwell shares his inspiring story of how he went from being a practicing physician to leading major pediatric health systems – previously serving as CEO of the Nemours Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children in Wilmington, Delaware, the Vanderbilt Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital in Nashville, and today leading Boston Children's.

    149 - Dr. Emily Wang, Yale Professor of Medicine, on Mass Incarceration's Impact on Individual & Community Health

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 25, 2021 69:19

    Dr. Emily Wang is a professor in the Yale School of Medicine and directs Yale's new SEICHE Center for Health and Justice, which works to stimulate community transformation by identifying the legal, policy, and practice levers that can improve the health of individuals and communities impacted by mass incarceration.  Today with Dr. Wang, we're covering a topic we've never touched on in A Second Opinion: the effect of mass incarceration on individual and community health.  It's an issue that's overlooked and ignored by our traditional healthcare systems – yet so many are impacted: half of Americans have family members who have been incarcerated.  Dr. Wang's expertise on this issue will have you rethinking our approaches to jail, prison, and healthcare.  To read more about what doctors, health system leaders and policymakers can do to support decarceration, Dr. Wang recommends: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2773226.  For a general review on mass incarceration: https://www.thelancet.com/pdfs/journals/lancet/PIIS0140-6736(17)30259-3.pdf.  Additional information on the Transitions Clinic Network: Website: https://transitionsclinic.org/ NPR article: https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2016/12/05/499775644/helping-ex-inmates-stay-out-of-the-er-brings-multiple-benefits   NY Times article: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/29/health/ex-prisoners-health-california.html

    148 - Healthcare Disparities in Our Own Backyard: Panel Discussion with Meharry's Dr. James Hildreth, VUMC's Dr. Consuelo Wilkins, HCA's Dr. Tama Van Decar, and Ascension's Mary Kate Mouser

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 18, 2021 53:34

    On October 6th, the United Way of Greater Nashville hosted a timely and compelling discussion on “Healthcare Disparities in Our Own Backyard.”  The panel was made possible by the United Way's de Tocqueville Society, a now-global society that was founded in 1981 by my brother Dr. Tommy Frist, Jr., to deepen relationships between the United Way and community leaders. We're sharing this discussion with you as a close look at the health and healthcare disparities in one southern city, my hometown of Nashville, Tennessee, as well as examine how our leading healthcare providers are working to specifically address these shortfalls. In the discussion, we highlight some of the concerning statistics uncovered in a recent community health and well-being survey, which you can find at: www.nashvillehealth.org/survey Now let me turn to our panel, where I'm joined by: James Hildreth, President & CEO of Meharry Medical College, and a member of the Biden-Harris COVID-19 Health Equity Task Force; Consuelo Wilkins, Senior Vice President & Senior Associate Dean for Health Equity and Inclusive Excellence at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Tama Van Decar, Chief Medical Officer of HCA Healthcare – TriStar Division; who prior to joining the private sector had a highly decorated 20-year military career, and Mary Kate Mouser, Director of Community Health and Benefits at Ascension Saint Thomas, where she works to establish strategies to improve the health of communities.

    147 - Dr. Harvey Fineberg, Moore Foundation CEO, former Harvard Provost & IOM head, on Philanthropy, Swine Flu, American Medical Education & More

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 11, 2021 67:36

    Dr. Harvey Fineberg is president of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. He previously served as president of the U.S. Institute of Medicine (now the National Academy of Medicine), as provost of Harvard University, and as dean of the Harvard Chan School of Public Health. Our wide-ranging discussion today hits on so many topics, including the role of foundations in impacting health, his research on the controversial 1976 federal immunization program against swine flu – and its applications today, and how we should reform American medical education. It's a discussion you don't want to miss. 

    146 - Dr. Scott Gottlieb, former FDA Commissioner, on Vaccine Mandates, Covid Vaccines for Kids, and His New Book “Uncontrolled Spread”

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 27, 2021 73:54

    This episode is brought to you by MEDHOST, a Trusted EHR for Healthcare Facilities. To learn more, go to Medhost.com. Dr. Scott Gottlieb is the 23rd commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration, serving from 2017 through 2019.  Today, he's a fellow at the American Enterprise Institute, serves on the board of Pfizer, and is one of the most knowledgeable, sought-after experts on drug and device regulation and our nation's public health. He also has a new book out called, Uncontrolled Spread: Why COVID-19 Crushed Us and How We Can Defeat the Next Pandemic.  In today's discussion, Dr. Gottlieb shares with us what he learned in writing this authoritative account, including everything that went wrong that left us excessively vulnerable to Covid-19, including how we over-focused on political failures and continue to overlook our nation's systemic shortcomings.  He gives an update on when we can expect Covid vaccine approval for kids, and what we need to do to be prepared for the next pandemic. Learn more about Dr. Gottlieb's new book, including where to buy it, here: www.uncontrolledspread.com/ A note for listeners: we are taking a short break and won't have a podcast next week on October 4th, but we'll be back in your feed on Monday, October 11th.

    145 - Dr. Keith Churchwell, President of Yale New Haven Hospital, on Moving from Clinical Care to Executive Leadership, With an Eye Towards Equity

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 20, 2021 64:44

    This episode is brought to you by MEDHOST, a Trusted EHR for Healthcare Facilities. To learn more, go to Medhost.com. Dr. Keith Churchwell is the president of Yale New Haven Hospital. A strategic and innovative leader, Dr. Churchwell is leading Yale New Haven into the new era of hospital care with an eye towards equity and diversity. With his roots here in Nashville, Dr. Churchwell shares with us how his family's commitment to excellence shaped his career – he and his two brothers are all hospital system leaders. And we talk about what it takes to make the tough calls in healthcare that take guts but result in true breakthroughs. For more insights from Dr. Churchwell, read the following resources: Call to action in Circulation: structural racism as a major driver of health disparities: https://www.ahajournals.org/doi/10.1161/CIR.0000000000000936 Working towards more equitable communities: https://www.ynhh.org/publications/bulletin/111220/an-interview-with-keith-churchwell-md-president-yale-new-haven-hospital.aspx Fighting Covid-19 vaccine hesitancy: https://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/ynhh_naacp_town_hall/ Pushing for diversity in clinical trials: https://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/churchwell_interview/

    144 - Dr. Kelly Arnold, Clinica Medicos Founder, on Creating a Comprehensive Medical Home for the Underserved and Uninsured

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 13, 2021 65:19

    Dr. Kelly Arnold is a pioneering physician who founded Clinica Medicos, a medical clinic designed to meet the unique needs of Chattanooga, Tennessee's Latino community. Will an entirely bilingual medical staff and a commitment to address all patients needs in a culturally sensitive approach, the clinic is based on a principle that no one who walks in will ever be turned away. In just over five years, Dr. Arnold has grown Clinica Medicos to treat thousands of patients, in a model that communities nationwide should look to as a way to provide care for the underserved and minority populations.

    143 - Jason Kelly, PhD, CEO & Co-founder of Ginkgo Bioworks, the $15 Billion Synthetic Biology Company That's Starting the Next Industrial Revolution

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 6, 2021 55:01

    Today we are doing a deep dive into the revolutionary new field of synthetic biology.  I'm thrilled to be joined by Dr. Jason Kelly, the CEO and co-founder of the company that's leading this revolution, Ginkgo Bioworks.   Ginkgo is the largest designer of synthetic DNA in the world, and programs cells for customers in the chemical, pharmaceutical, food, and energy industries. It's valued at $15 billion and has been listed for the past three years on CNBC's Disruptor 50 List of fast-growing companies. I truly believe this field will dramatically transform future industries in the way that Apple and Microsoft have changed our lives with technology – and Jason tells the story of how this future is possible on today's show.

    142 - John Doran, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Montana & Dr. Julie Kelso, Riverstone Health: Collaboratively Addressing Rural Mental Healthcare Shortages

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 30, 2021 62:17

    This episode is brought to you by the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association. Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies are in every ZIP code in every state, working to improve health and expand access to care. Community by community. For the health of America. Today we're focusing in on rural behavioral health, looking at Montana as an example for some of the barriers we're seeing nationwide, and a model for potential solutions to these challenges.   I'm joined by two experts providing the clinical and insurer perspectives:   Julie Kelso, a board-certified adult psychiatrist who served at the Billings Clinic from 2007-2021 as Department Chair, Program Director for the UW Montana Track psychiatry residency and medical director of Integrated Behavioral Health. Now at Riverstone Health in Yellowstone County, she's a collaborative care psychiatrist.   John Doran is the Divisional Vice President of External Affairs at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Montana. With a background in journalism and communications, John oversees all government, public and media relations, community outreach, and corporate strategy for Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Montana.

    141 - Policy & Innovation in Price Transparency: Economist Larry Van Horn, Sidecar Health CEO Patrick Quigley, & MDSave CEO Paul Ketchel

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 25, 2021 70:27

    Today we're having a compelling discussion about pricing in healthcare. I'm joined by three thought leaders who are disrupting the status quo in both the business and policy arenas.  By popular demand, we've invited back my longtime friend and colleague, Professor Larry Van Horn.  Larry is a renowned expert and researcher on health care management and economics at the Vanderbilt University Owen Graduate School of Management.  Larry served as an advisor to the Trump Administration on healthcare price transparency and on the Health and Human Services Quality Summit Panel.  I'm also joined by Patrick Quigley, co-founder and CEO of Sidecar Health, an innovative new health insurance model that gives consumers the ability to pay directly for care — often at steep discounts to the prices that patients would be charged through traditional insurance plans. And by Paul Ketchel, Founder & CEO of MDsave, a company whose unique bundling technology makes medical procedures price transparent, shoppable, and instantly transactable – ending surprise billing for consumers.   In our discussion today, we ask the tough questions regarding how to reform our healthcare system to make it more transparent and affordable and look at some solutions geared to better serve the patient.

    140 - Mike Uchrin, CEO & Co-Founder, Monogram Health – The Innovative Start-Up that's Disrupting Kidney Care

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 16, 2021 60:42

    Mike Uchrin is the CEO & Co-Founder of Monogram Health, an innovative, exciting new company that's transforming one of the most complex and underserved areas of healthcare: managing chronic kidney disease and end-stage renal disease. Based in Nashville, Tennessee, Monogram partners with health plans to fill a systemic gap in kidney disease care with a new, in-home, evidence-based model that improves patient outcomes and quality of life while dramatically reducing costs for the health care system. One in 7 adults suffer from chronic kidney disease and ESRD, and the cost of covering people with kidney disease represents 20% — or $114 billion — of traditional Medicare expenditures. In our discussion today, Mike shares how Monogram is creatively and proactively addressing this national care challenge.

    139 - CDC Director Rochelle Walensky, MD, MPH with the latest on Delta, the pandemic, and the future of the CDC

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 9, 2021 64:48

    Dr. Rochelle Walensky is the 19th Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Prior to leading the CDC, she served as Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Massachusetts General Hospital and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Walensky was on the frontlines of the COVID-19 pandemic and conducted research on vaccine delivery and strategies to reach underserved communities. She is also an influential scholar whose pioneering research has helped advance the national and global response to HIV/AIDS. We are honored to have her on the show today, where she'll be sharing the latest on the Delta variant, how our pandemic response is shifting, and where the CDC is headed in the years to come beyond Covid-19.

    138 - Dr. Shantanu Nundy, CMO of Accolade, Asks the Tough Questions About Our Healthcare System – and Shares How We Can Change

    Play Episode Listen Later Aug 2, 2021 53:28

    Dr. Shantanu Nundy is a primary care physician, technologist, and business leader who serves as Chief Medical Officer for Accolade, which helps over 2 million people navigate the health system. In addition, he practices primary care in the greater Washington, DC, area and serves as a senior advisor to the World Bank and a lecturer in health policy at the George Washington University Milken Institute for Public Health.   He is the author of the powerful new book, Care After Covid: What the Pandemic Revealed Is Broken in Healthcare and How to Reinvent It: https://www.amazon.com/Care-After-Covid-Pandemic-Healthcare/dp/1264259123   In our discussion today, Dr. Nundy shares compelling patient stories that force us to ask some hard questions about our healthcare system – and think about how we need to change to meet the needs of all patients – not just those who can make it to the clinic and afford care.   For more from Dr. Nundy: Nundy penned an op-ed in the Washington Post about how the pandemic changed healthcare and uses his mom's experience reversing her diabetes with a virtual program as an example: https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/health-care-covid-diabetes-home/2021/05/12/ae298558-b26e-11eb-ab43-bebddc5a0f65_story.html   Nundy's interview on the NPR Shots blog: https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2021/05/13/996233365/how-health-care-in-the-u-s-may-change-after-covid-an-optimists-outlook

    137 - Adam Boehler & Nick Loporcaro: Two Landmark Health CEOs Detail Successful Transition, Culture Change, and a Surprising Experience in Government

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 26, 2021 58:44

    This past year has sparked a major care transition and greater awareness of the need for and value of home-based care. And that is our topic today – focusing on Landmark Health I have with me today two experts in the field: Adam Boehler, the founder and CEO of Landmark Health for its initial five years, and since then, former head of the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation, the first CEO of the new U.S. International Development Finance Corporation, and now founder & CEO of Nashville-based Rubicon Founders.  And Nick Loporcaro, CEO of Landmark Health, who has led the company since 2018 following Adam's departure to government service.  Landmark is the largest provider of in-home medical care for seniors with complex chronic conditions, and operates in 18 states and growing. Our conversation today is a fascinating look at how two brilliant leaders can make a seamless management transition that allows an innovative, fast growing-company to maintain its culture and continue to grow, thrive, and further its mission for seniors with chronic disease.

    136 - Jacob Sattelmair, Co-founder and CEO of Wellframe on using high-tech to deliver high-touch care solutions

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 19, 2021 58:09

    This episode is brought to you by the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association. Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies are in every ZIP code… in every state, working to improve health and expand access to care. Community by community. For the health of America.   Jacob Sattelmair is Co-Founder and CEO of Wellframe, a digital health management company… providing care management and advocacy solutions to health plans nationwide. Under his leadership, Wellframe has partnered with dozens of health plans all across the country ...  to improve their relationships with members, to close gaps in care, …and improve health outcomes.   Jake is a Harvard-trained epidemiologist who has also been a World Economic Forum Young Global Shaper.  He shares with us how his own personal health experiences and doctoral research influenced his decision to take a risk, to innovate,  and start Wellframe. He's got an amazing story which will inspire you.

    135 - Dr. William Schaffner, Medical Director, National Foundation for Infectious Diseases: Learnings from 18 Months of Covid and the Future of Vaccine Science

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 12, 2021 59:01

    Dr. William Schaffner, a familiar and nationally recognized face and trusted voice on all matters COVID during the pandemic, is an infectious disease colleague of mine … when I was doing heart and lung transplants at Vanderbilt University medical enter. Today he is the medical director and past president of the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases. He's Professor of Preventive Medicine in the Department of Health Policy and Professor of Medicine in the Infectious Diseases at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. A little over a year ago, Dr. Schaffner joined us as one of the nation's leading experts in infectious diseases… to shed light on the novel virus we now …all know too well, …Covid-19. Today he's joining us again to share all that we've learned, what we're still learning, what we can anticipate, and how this record-setting scientific progress is changing the future of science forever. Stay tuned and together we will learn a lot. For more information about the topics in today's episode: • Article by Dr. William Schaffner, “With a global pandemic, it is more important than ever to keep up on recommended vaccinations,” https://www.bcbsprogresshealth.com/insights/with-a-global-pandemic,-it-is-more-important-than-ever-to-keep-up-on-recommended-vaccinations • Vaccines: Safe, effective and necessary: https://www.bcbsprogresshealth.com/data/vaccines-safe-effective-and-necessary • Vaccine Myth vs. Fact: https://www.bcbsprogresshealth.com/myth-vs-fact For more on how BlueCross BlueShield companies are working to address Covid-19 and the health challenges brought on by the pandemic: • Aiding the most vulnerable seniors with vaccines: https://www.bcbsprogresshealth.com/five-min-read/aiding-the-most-vulnerable-seniors-with-vaccines- • Postponement of routine care due to COVID-19 increases public health risk: https://www.bcbsprogresshealth.com/data/postponement-of-routine-care-due-to-covid-19-increases-public-health-risk • Fighting for America's health since the start of the pandemic: https://www.bcbsprogresshealth.com/community/fighting-for-americas-health-since-the-start-of-the-pandemic

    134 - A Conversation on Covid-19 and Re-opening Nashville, with Dr. James Hildreth & Dr. Alex Jahangir

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 9, 2021 49:56

    On June 30th, community health collaborative NashvilleHealth, the Metro Nashville Public Health Department and the Nashville Health Care Council hosted a timely discussion on Covid and re-opening Music City, USA – Nashville, Tennessee.  We're sharing this discussion with you as a close look at how one southern city is handling vaccine distribution, addressing vaccine hesitancy, adapting to new variants of Covid, and adjusting to our new normal. I want to thank our event sponsor, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Tennessee, for making this panel possible.

    133 - Andy Slavitt, Biden Covid-19 Advisor and former CMS head on “Preventable: The Inside Story of How Leadership Failures, Politics, and Selfishness Doomed the U.S. Coronavirus Response

    Play Episode Listen Later Jul 5, 2021 59:35

    Today we're sharing with you a special episode.  I recently sat down with Andy Slavitt for Book TV's After Words program, where we discussed in detail Andy's new book: Preventable: The Inside Story of How Leadership Failures, Politics, and Selfishness Doomed the U.S. Coronavirus Response. Andy Slavitt is uniquely qualified to tell this story.  As the former head of Medicare and Medicaid and one of our nation's most recognizable and influential voices in healthcare, Andy was working with key players inside and outside of the government throughout the pandemic.  Most recently, he served in the Biden Administration as the lead White House advisor on the country's Covid-19 response. You'll want to hear his incredible insights, the stories he has from the frontlines of the response, and what we need to do to prevent unnecessary loss of life in future health crises. Thanks to C-SPAN's Book TV for allowing A Second Opinion to share this important content with our listeners.  Find more compelling After Words conversations here: https://www.c-span.org/series/?afterWords

    132 - Medical Malpractice Litigation with Georgetown's Dr. David Hyman & The Doctors Company CEO Dr. Richard Anderson

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 28, 2021 55:54

    Today we're sharing with you a discussion we had on June 22nd with the Cato Institute on medical malpractice litigation, legislation, and the future of reform.   I'm joined by Professor David Hyman, a physician, the Scott K. Ginsburg Professor of Health Law & Policy at Georgetown University Law Center, and an adjunct scholar at the Cato Institute.  He is the coauthor of Medical Malpractice Litigation: How It Works — Why Tort Reform Hasn't Helped, the book we are discussing today. You can find it linked in our show notes.   I'm also joined by Dr. Richard Anderson, the chairman and CEO of The Doctors Company, the nation's largest physician-owned medical malpractice insurer.  He was a clinical professor of medicine at the University of California, San Diego, and is past chairman of the Department of Medicine at Scripps Memorial Hospital, where he served as senior oncologist for 18 years.  Dr. Hyman and Dr. Anderson agree there are serious problems with medical malpractice litigation today, but each advocate different solutions.  

    131 - Adam Schechter, Chairman, President & CEO of LabCorp – Scaling from 3,000 tests per week to over 300,000 a day, only months into his role as CEO

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 21, 2021 60:51

    Adam Schechter is the Chairman, President, and CEO of LabCorp, a leading global life sciences company, with a presence in over 100 countries and annual revenue of $14 billion.  LabCorp has become a household name during the global pandemic, and Adam was only a few months into his role as CEO when Covid-19 hit.  He has a fascinating story of pivoting to scale the company to respond to this unforeseen challenge, and how he did it all while expanding LabCorp's reach beyond its core of diagnostics, into life sciences and health. In getting to know Adam, I found we both share a passion for water – and by that I mean we both care deeply about improving access to clean water globally.  Nearly 1 million people die each year from diseases that could be prevented if families have access to safe water and sanitation. Adam is helping to close that gap as Chairman of the Board of Water.org. I also loved hearing his thoughts, as a diagnostic leader integral to our Covid response, on the top three things we need to do to be better prepared for future health crises. 

    130 - Dr. Marty Makary, Johns Hopkins Surgeon & NY Times Bestselling Author: What Broke American Healthcare, and How to Fix It

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 14, 2021 65:45

    Dr. Marty Makary is a New York Times bestselling author, Johns Hopkins gastrointestinal surgeon and Professor of Health Policy.  His newest book, The Price We Pay, is just out now in paperback with new Covid-19 updates, and has been called the “The Big Short” of American Medicine.  Marty's research has led to actionable solutions that reduce waste and overtreatment, improving quality of care to the patient AND saving our health care system millions of dollars. You'll want to stay tuned to hear his thoughts on, “what broke American health care – and how to fix it.”

    129 - Dr. Stephen Klasko, President & CEO of Thomas Jefferson University and Jefferson Health on the Old Math vs. the New Math in Healthcare

    Play Episode Listen Later Jun 7, 2021 61:02

    Today's episode is one of the most fun, insightful, thought-provoking discussions I've had on the show.  Our guest is the only physician executive I know who started as a disc jockey, and went on to become one of the most transformational thought leaders in the healthcare space today.  Dr. Stephen Klasko is the President & CEO of Thomas Jefferson University and Jefferson Health.  He's constantly challenging the status quo, writing in his new book UnHealthcare that, “The not-so-dirty secret of the old healthcare system is that almost everybody makes more money when more people are sick.” You'll want to hear our discussion on how he's trying to change that – marrying 21st-century technology with person-centered care to reimagine our industry. 

    128 - Former Rep. Patrick Kennedy: How His Own Mental Health Journey Equipped Him to Positively Impact Mental Healthcare Today

    Play Episode Listen Later May 31, 2021 58:46

    I'm really excited to have my friend and colleague, former Congressman Patrick Kennedy joining me today. Patrick has used his own personal experience with mental health and addiction to become one of the nation's most influential advocates to reduce the stigma around mental illness, and to make real change to increase affordable access to care. He's the co-author of the landmark Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equality Act, the founder of The Kennedy Forum, and co-chair of the Bipartisan Policy Center's Behavioral Health Integration Task Force. The Task Force just released a terrific report on integrating behavioral health treatment into primary care, and we've included a link to it in our show notes. Definitely check it out. You'll want to stay tuned to hear the powerful turning point that changed how Patrick thought about mental health, and we'll also talk about an exciting company, Psych Hub, that we're collaborating on today. Links and more information on issues discussed in our podcast with Rep. Kennedy: • Read the Bipartisan Policy Center's new report, “Tackling America's Mental Health and Addiction Crisis Through Primary Care Integration,” here: https://bipartisanpolicy.org/report/behavioral-health-2021/  Report is authored by the Task Force Co-Chaired by Rep. Kennedy. • Find Patrick Kennedy's book, A Common Struggle: A Personal Journey Through the Past and Future of Mental Illness and Addiction, here: https://www.amazon.com/Common-Struggle-Personal-Journey-Addiction/dp/0399185712 • Learn more about The Kennedy Forum's events here: https://www.thekennedyforum.org/events/ • Rep. Kennedy's latest op-ed is here: https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/mental-health-care-must-be-treated-health-care-my-friend-ncna1266861  

    127 - Assessing a New Era of Payer-Provider Partnerships with Vim CEO Oron Afek & OptumCare SVP Tim Kaja

    Play Episode Listen Later May 24, 2021 53:23

    On May 11th, A Second Opinion joined with Vim, a technology company building digital infrastructure for improved healthcare performance, for a live virtual discussion on “Assessing a New Era of Payer-Provider Partnerships.” For our conversation, I'm joined by: • Oron Afek, Co-Founder & CEO of Vim; he's a serial entrepreneur who was previously part of the Israeli Special Forces, and • Tim Kaja, Senior Vice President of OptumCare, who is a 36-year veteran of United Health Group. We cover evolving payment models, advancing information technology, and the shifting marketplace dynamics that are fueling accelerated collaboration between payers and providers.

    126 - Paul Diaz, President & CEO of Myriad Genetics, on applying the power of data-driven genetic insights

    Play Episode Listen Later May 17, 2021 41:49

    Paul Diaz is President & CEO of Myriad Genetics. Thirty years ago, Myriad Genetics played a pivotal role in one of the most important breakthroughs in the history of healthcare: discovering the precise location and sequence of the BRCA1 and BRCA2 genes, which increase the risk of breast cancer. This led to the emergence of genetic testing as a tool that has saved millions of lives. Now, with Paul at the helm, Myriad Genetics aims to play as pivotal a role in the next 30 years of genetics and precision medicine as they did in the first 30, applying the power of data-driven genetic insights. You'll want to hear how Paul and Myriad are empowering patients and physicians to better detect, treat, and prevent disease. To learn more about the work Paul and Myriad Genetics are doing to lead the way on genetic testing and precision medicine, read Paul's latest blog post: https://myriad.com/health-illuminated/

    125 - Paul Kusserow, Chairman & CEO of Amedisys – Leading a turnaround, to stabilization, to record growth

    Play Episode Listen Later May 10, 2021 74:49

    Paul Kusserow is the Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of Amedisys, a publicly traded, leading provider of home health, hospice, palliative and personal care services with over 22,000 employees in 39 states and Washington, DC, making over 12.3 million patient visits per year. Under his leadership, the company has grown its value 9-times itself and has been established as a clinical leader in the fast-growing home health and hospice industry. You'll want to hear how Paul completely revamped his board to mirror his employees and the patients he's serving, and why the biggest career risk he's ever taken changed his life.

    124 - Dr. Mark Hyman on Food as Medicine & The Pegan Diet

    Play Episode Listen Later May 3, 2021 67:47

    Dr. Mark Hyman is the Head of Strategy and Innovation of the Cleveland Clinic for Functional Medicine, a fourteen-time New York Times bestselling author, founder and director of the Ultra Wellness Center, and Board President for Clinical Affairs for the Institute for Functional Medicine. Dr. Hyman's latest book—if you pick it up you will read it cover to cover -- is The Pegan Diet: 21 Practical Principles for Reclaiming Your Health in a Nutritionally Confusing World. It's packed with super practical information about food, -- and your health, the role it plays in our environment and the world around us.  You will look at what you eat in a whole different context. Dr. Hyman is the host of, the top, most listened to health and wellness podcast, The Doctor's Farmacy. Dr. Hyman Is leading a health revolution —one revolving around using food as medicine, to support longevity, energy, mental clarity, happiness, and to improve the health of the planet. Did you realize that wheat bread is worse for you than sugar. You will learn why – and more.

    123 - Jennifer Morris, CEO of The Nature Conservancy, on the Inextricable Link Between Environmental & Human Health

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 26, 2021 54:10

    Jennifer Morris is Chief Executive Officer of The Nature Conservancy, a global conservation organization working with partners around the world to conserve the lands and waters on which all life depends. Jennifer leads nearly 4,000 global staff who are dedicated to creating a world where people and nature thrive together.  Better than anyone, Jennifer understands that the health of each individual and each family is inextricably linked to the health of the environment.  Earth Day was just last week, and I want to challenge our listeners to think about conservation as not only a good thing to do for the natural world, but as something that is vital to our health and long-term well-being. The pandemic we've all been living through is just one example of how nature affects us all.  How we choose to interact with nature can dramatically shape our nation's and our world's trajectory.  Below are some resources to learn more about the topics Jennifer discusses in the podcast: • Investing in Nature for a Resilient Future By Jennifer Morris, Chief Executive Officer | April 23, 2021 https://www.nature.org/en-us/what-we-do/our-insights/perspectives/jennifer-morris-investing-in-nature-resilient-future/ • Flush it and Forget it? Three Things to Know About Sewage Pollution By Stephanie Wear, Senior Scientist and Strategy Advisor | March 12, 2021 https://www.nature.org/en-us/what-we-do/our-insights/perspectives/flush-and-forget-three-things-about-sewage-pollution/ • Nature: Our Best Prescription for a Healthy World | April 06, 2021
https://www.nature.org/en-us/what-we-do/our-insights/perspectives/nature-prescription-healthy-world/ • The Global Food System Is Ripe for Change By Jennifer Morris, CEO, The Nature Conservancy, United States | October 28, 2020
https://www.nature.org/en-us/what-we-do/our-insights/perspectives/grow-positive-regenerative-global-food-system/ • A Silver Lining Amid Northwest India's Thick Smog | November 27, 2019
https://www.tncindia.in/what-we-do/stories-in-india/silver-lining-northwest-india-smog/

    122 - Princeton University's Jessica Metcalf, Alan Blinder & Bill Dudley: “Covid-19, Fiscal Monetary and Health Policy Responses” – Part 4

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 22, 2021 90:26

    On April 16th, A Second Opinion joined with the Princeton University Griswold Center for Economic Policy Studies and Princeton's Center for Health and Wellbeing for Part 4 in a series, on the fiscal, monetary and health policy response implications of Covid-19. You can hear Parts 1, 2 & 3 of this series in our podcast episodes numbers 48, 69 and 96. For our discussion, I'm joined by Princeton's leading economic and health policy experts: • Dr. Jessica Metcalf, Assistant Professor of Ecology, Evolutionary Biology & Public Affairs, • Dr. Alan Blinder, the Gordon S. Rentschler Memorial Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, and a former Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, • And Dr. Bill Dudley, former president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and now Senior Research Scholar at the Griswold Center for Economic Policy Studies. Before we dive in – I just want to reflect back for a moment. The four of us first got together a year ago this April for our very first virtual event on Covid and the economy – and I don't think any of us predicted at that time all the challenges our nation would face in the year that followed. In this wide-ranging discussion, we cover what the latest economic indicators mean, what we can learn from the events of the past year, and how the pandemic will influence policy going forward.

    121 - Stephen Ubl, President & CEO of PhRMA, on drug pricing, supply chains, and the industry's miraculous Covid-19 response

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 19, 2021 63:02

    Stephen Ubl is the president and CEO of the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America, known as PhRMA, which represents America's leading biopharmaceutical research companies.  The U.S. biopharmaceutical sector directly employs more than 800,000 Americans and invests more than $100 billion in research and development annually -- more than any other industry in America.  Steve leads the advocacy for this industry in Washington, DC and across the country.  A policy expert with a record of enacting meaningful healthcare reform, Steve joins me today to do a deep dive on the drug industry – examining costs, the supply chain, and the industry's unprecedented response to Covid-19.

    120 - Dr. Rich Besser, President & CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, on Building a Culture of Health in America's Communities

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 12, 2021 55:13

    Dr. Richard Besser is president and CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest private foundation in the country devoted solely to improving the nation's health.   A practicing pediatrician, Dr. Besser is also the former acting director for CDC, and ABC News' former chief health and medical editor.   Dr. Besser is a leading voice on the importance of health equity, advocating for racial justice, full inclusion of people with disabilities, and a COVID-19 response and recovery that prioritizes those most impacted.   In our conversation today, you'll hear how a 14-mile difference in where you're born can translate into a 14-year difference in life expectancy, and what we can do about it. 

    119 - Senator Frist on the Transformative Impact of Virtual Care on Health

    Play Episode Listen Later Apr 5, 2021 28:56

    Today we're doing something a little different. For the next 15 minutes I'll be sharing my thoughts – as a provider with a 60-year history with telehealth – on the virtual care revolution we are living through now that will forever change healthcare as we know it.    I shared a version of this talk at a recent National Academy of Medicine event, where I joined with other leaders in the field to discuss the Academy's Vital Directions for Health and Health Care: Priorities for 2021.  

    118 - David Dill, LifePoint Health President & CEO on Building the Leader in Community-Based Healthcare in 29 States

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 29, 2021 63:12

    David Dill is President & CEO of LifePoint Health, a Brentwood, Tennessee-based health system with 88 hospital campuses across 29 states. Under his leadership, the company has expanded its footprint, with revenue growing from $3 billion in 2009 to more than $8 billion in 2018, and enhanced its focus on quality and patient safety.   David shares with us how he as a CEO stays connected with each community his health system serves, and how his small town upbringing shaped his career and approach to leadership.

    117 - Dr. Patty Gabow, former CEO of Denver Health, on Why the Time is Now for More Women Leaders in Healthcare

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 22, 2021 66:59

    Dr. Patty Gabow is a nationally known leader in delivery system innovation who served for 20 years as CEO of Denver Health and Hospital Authority, an integrated safety net health care system.  Dr. Gabow has a background as a physician-scientist specializing in nephrology, focusing on polycystic kidney disease.  She served as a founding member of the federal Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission.    She's also the author of more than 130 articles, 37 books and book chapters, and a recent book, TIME'S NOW for Women Healthcare Leaders: A Guide to the Journey.  In today's discussion, we do a deep dive on her learnings in researching and writing “Time's Now.”  Women make up 75 to 80 percent of the healthcare workforce but less than 15 percent of the top leadership positions.  We explore why, and what we need to do to change that.

    116 - Jason Gorevic, CEO of Teladoc Health on the Virtual Care Revolution and Doing the Largest Digital Health Deal in a Pandemic

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 15, 2021 66:42

    This episode is brought to you by the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association. Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies are helping more people access health care by expanding telehealth and virtual care. Rising to meet the challenge, for the Health of America.   Jason Gorevic is CEO of the global virtual healthcare leader, Teladoc Health.  2020 was a monumental year for Teladoc as demand for telehealth exploded in the midst of the pandemic.  Jason shares the behind-the-scenes story of how he and his team navigated this rapid growth while meeting critical health care needs, all while completing the major acquisition of digital disease management company Livongo.    I've worked closely now with Jason as a member of the Teladoc board for seven years, and I'm constantly inspired by his vision, his leadership, and how he's transformed a near start-up to a billion-dollar global enterprise.  He is truly rethinking American health.

    115 - Alex Gorsky, Johnson & Johnson Chairman & CEO on their new single-dose Covid vaccine and preparing for the next public health crisis

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 8, 2021 58:00

    Alex Gorsky is Chairman and CEO of Johnson & Johnson – a 135-year-old company that is at the forefront of innovation in pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and consumer health products.  It's perhaps the only American business that has played a leading role responding to both the 1918 Spanish flu and today's Covid-19 pandemic – and today is the largest and most admired drug company in the world.   Alex is a brilliant leader who brings us the latest on J&J's newly authorized, game-changing Covid-19 vaccine, and shares his compelling insights into how J&J has stayed competitive, on top, cutting-edge and profitable for generations.  You will love his thoughts on how this life-altering pandemic is changing health and science for years to come.

    114 - Dr. David Feinberg, the head of Google Health, shares how their technology can save lives & transform care

    Play Episode Listen Later Mar 1, 2021 61:56

    Dr. David Feinberg is the head of Google Health. He is a visionary leader in healthcare, having previously run Geisinger and the UCLA health system.  A triple-board certified psychiatrist, Dr. Feinberg is a champion for improving mental healthcare and making healthcare compassionate. Our discussion today covers so much exciting ground – from the breakthrough health work Google is leading on, to their innovative efforts to respond to Covid-19, to the role technology can and will play in advancing healthcare of the future. Background on Google's response to Covid-19: https://blog.google/inside-google/covid-19/ Google providing timely info on Covid-19 vaccines: https://blog.google/technology/health/accurate-timely-information-covid-19-vaccines/ Covid-19 Community Mobility Reports: https://www.google.com/covid19/mobility/ LinkedIn article by Dr. Feinberg: “Children's mental health is an unseen, yet very real casualty of the coronavirus”: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/childrens-mental-health-unseen-yet-very-real-casualty-david-feinberg/

    113 - Bob Ortenzio, Co-Founder & Executive Chairman, Select Medical on Leading in the Post-Acute Care Space

    Play Episode Listen Later Feb 22, 2021 63:43

    Bob Ortenzio co-founded Select Medical in 1997, serving as its CEO for nearly 13 years, and now serves as its Executive Chairman.  Select is one of the largest operators of critical illness recovery hospitals, rehabilitation hospitals, physical therapists, and outpatient rehab clinics in the United States. In today's discussion, we discuss the evolution of this company and the long-term acute care industry, how to build an accountable culture in an organization, and what's next for Select Medical.  

    112 - 2021 Health Policy Projections with Larry Levitt, Executive Vice President for Health Policy, Kaiser Family Foundation

    Play Episode Listen Later Feb 15, 2021 47:39

    Larry Levitt is the Executive Vice President for Health Policy at the Kaiser Family Foundation, overseeing KFF's policy work on Medicare, Medicaid, the health care marketplace, the Affordable Care Act, women's health, and global health.  Prior to joining KFF, he served as a Senior Health Policy Advisor to the Clinton White House and Department of Health and Human Services.   Larry is a true policy wonk who breaks down the latest complicated health issues into language we all can understand – which in many ways is part of KFF's mission, serving as a non-partisan, non-profit source for information on national health issues.  In today's episode, we do a deep dive on what to expect in health policy from the Biden Administration and the new Democratic Congress in 2021 and beyond.

    Claim A Second Opinion with Senator Bill Frist, M.D.

    In order to claim this podcast we'll send an email to with a verification link. Simply click the link and you will be able to edit tags, request a refresh, and other features to take control of your podcast page!

    Claim Cancel