Sound Opinions

Follow Sound Opinions
Share on
Copy link to clipboard

Sound Opinions is the World's only rock and roll talkshow. Hosted by Jim DeRogatis of WBEZ and Greg Kot of the Chicago Tribune. Each week Jim and Greg bring you the latest music reviews. Plus, tune in to hear exclusive interviews and performances. Sound Opinions is a production of WBEZ Chicago and d…

WBEZ Chicago


    • Jan 27, 2023 LATEST EPISODE
    • weekdays NEW EPISODES
    • 52m AVG DURATION
    • 937 EPISODES

    4.3 from 1,867 ratings Listeners of Sound Opinions that love the show mention: sound opinions, music news, music show, best album, dissections, gabba, marvin gaye, music related, bowie, discover new music, best music podcast, wah, favorite music podcast, you'll love this show, love music, music fans, whether you agree, rock and roll, music lovers, greg.



    More podcasts from WBEZ Chicago

    Search for episodes from Sound Opinions with a specific topic:

    Latest episodes from Sound Opinions

    Songs About Photography, Marty Perez & RIP David Crosby

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 27, 2023 50:51


    Jim and Greg talk with longtime music photographer Marty Perez about his new career-spanning book, "Kill A Punk For Rock & Roll." They also share their favorite songs about photography and pay tribute to David Crosby.Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsFeatured SongsThe Kinks, "People Take Pictures of Each Other," The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, Pye, 1968The Beatles, "With A Little Help From My Friends," Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, Capitol, 1967Crosby, Stills and Nash, "Long Time Gone," Crosby, Stills and Nash, Atlantic, 1969David Crosby, "Cowboy Movie," If I Could Only Remember My Name, Atlantic, 1971Spoon, "I Turn My Camera On," Gimme Fiction, Matador, 2005Yes, "Into the Lens," Drama, Atlantic, 1980Pink, "Family Portrait," Missundaztood, Arista, 2001Ringo Starr, "Photograph," Ringo, Apple, 1973Kevin Morby, "This Is A Photograph," This Is A Photograph, Dead Oceans, 2022Patti Smith, "Gloria," Horses, Arista, 1975The Kinks, "Picture Book," The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, Pye, 1968Duran Duran, "Girls On Film," Duran Duran, EMI, 1981Ice Cube, "Who Got the Camera," The Predator, Priority, 1992Outkast, "Hey Ya!," Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, Arista, 2003Mission of Burma, "This Is Not a Photograph," Signals, Calls and Marches, Ace of Hearts, 1980The Cure, "Pictures of You," Disintegration, Fiction, 1989Labradford, "S," Mi Media Naranja, Kranky, 1998

    An Obscure British Band You've Probably Never Heard Of

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 25, 2023 12:15


    In this bonus episode, Jim digs deep into the British music scene of the '60s to add an obscure song to the Desert Island Jukebox. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Dry Cleaning, Reviews of Margo Price and SZA, and RIP Jeff Beck

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 20, 2023 50:52


    Post-punk tunes topped with dadaist deadpan lyrics are an unlikely formula for popularity in music, but that's the secret to Dry Cleaning's success. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with band members Florence Shaw and Nick Buxton about one of their favorite albums of 2022. They also review new albums by SZA and Margo Price and pay tribute to Jeff Beck.Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsFeatured SongsDry Cleaning, "Don't Press Me," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022SZA, "Shirt," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022SZA, "Nobody Gets Me," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022SZA, "Kill Bill," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022SZA, "Gone Girl," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022Margo Price, "Been To The Mountain," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Radio," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Time Machine," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Lydia," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Change of Heart," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Dry Cleaning, "Magic of Meghan," Sweet Princess, It's OK, 2019Dry Cleaning, "Scratchcard Lanyard," New Long Leg, 4AD, 2021Dry Cleaning, "Unsmart Lady," New Long Leg, 4AD, 2021Dry Cleaning, "Anna Calls From The Artic," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022Dry Cleaning, "No Decent Shoes For Rain," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022The Yardbirds, "Shapes of Things," (Single), Epic, 1966Jeff Beck, "Beck's Bolero," Truth, Epic, 1968The Kinks, "People Take Pictures of Each Other," The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, Pye, 1968 

    A Great Girl Group Song from 2007

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 18, 2023 5:35


    In this bonus episode, Jim shares a girl group song from 2007 that can stand alongside more famous tracks from the 1960s. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Cameron Crowe on Almost Famous the Musical, His Movies & More

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 13, 2023 50:10


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot catch up with longtime friend, screenwriter and director Cameron Crowe. They discuss his films, most notably Almost Famous, which recently wrapped up a run on Broadway as a musical. They talk about the differences between making a movie and a stage production, getting Peter Gabriel's “In Your Eyes” for Say Anything… and more. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Casey Likes and the Cast of Almost Famous, "No Friends," No Friends (Single), Sony Masterworks Broadway, 2022Dean Jones & Susan Browning, "Barcelona," Company (Original Broadway Cast), Columbia, 1970Stillwater, "Fever Dog," Almost Famous, DreamWorks, 2000Solea Pfeiffer and the Cast of Almost Famous, "Morocco," Morocco (Single), Sony Masterworks Broadway, 2022Peter Gabriel, "In Your Eyes," So, Real World, 1986Jónsi, "Sinking Friendships," Go, XL, 2010Dry Cleaning, "Don't Press Me," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022

    Two Late-Breaking 2022 Obituaries

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 11, 2023 8:38


    In this bonus episode, we pay tribute to even more musicians who died at the end of 2022. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    The Best Songs of 2022, Obits & Greg's Annual Mixtape

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 6, 2023 51:12


    This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot look at the music of 2022 from the rearview mirror. Jim and the producers share some of their favorite singles of the year, review some missed obituaries and Greg plays an excerpt from his legendary annual mixtape. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Bad Bunny, "Moscow Mule," Un Verano Sin Ti, RIMAS ENTERTAINMENT, 2022Irene Cara, "Flashdance...What a Feeling," Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture, Casablanca, 1983Irene Cara, "Fame," Fame: The Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture, RSO, 1980The Clean, "Anything Could Happen," Compilation, Flying Nun, 1986Hawkwind, "Master of the Universe," In Search of Space, United Artists, 1971Public Image Ltd, "Public Image," Public Image: First Issue, Virgin, 1978Robyn Hitchcock, "The Man Who Loves the Rain," Shufflemania!, Tiny Ghost, 2022Ateez, "Guerilla," The World EP.1 : Movement, KQ Entertainment, 2022Lil Nas X, "That's What I Want," Montero, Columbia, 2021Glass Animals, "Heat Waves," Dreamland, Wolf Tone, 2020Superchunk, "If You're Not Dark," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022GAYLE, "abc (nicer)," abc (nicer) (Single), Atlantic, 2021Nicki Minaj, "Super Freaky Girl," Super Freaky Girl (Single), Young Money, 2022Taylor Swift, "Would've, Could've, Should've," Midnights (3am Edition), Republic, 2022Dummy, "Mono Retriever," Mono Retriever (Single), Sub Pop, 2022PLOSIVS, "Hit the Breaks," Hit the Breaks (Single), Swami, 2021Bodega, "Statuette on the Console," Broken Equipment, What's Your Rupture?, 2022Thee Oh Sees, "A Foul Form," A Foul Form, Castle Face, 2022Anna Calvi, "Ain't No Grave," Tommy - EP, Domino, 2022Brittany Davis, "I Choose to Live," I Choose to Live - EP, Loosegrove, 2022Say Sue Me, "To Dream," The Last Thing Left, Damnably & Beach Town Music, 2022Yola, "Strange Things Are Happening Every Day," ELVIS (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), RCA, 2022Stillwater, "Fever Dog," Almost Famous, DreamWorks, 2000

    Jim's Favorite Springsteen Songs

    Play Episode Listen Later Jan 4, 2023 7:47


    In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that was written by Bruce Springsteen, doubling the total number of songs by the Boss that he likes. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Low Live on Sound Opinions, RIP Loretta Lynn & Anton Fier

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 30, 2022 51:18


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit Low's 2011 session on Sound Opinions in honor of singer and drummer Mimi Parker, who died in November. The hosts also pay tribute to Loretta Lynn and drummer Anton Fier, who also died in 2022. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Low, "More," Hey What, Sub Pop, 2021Low, "Try to Sleep (Live on Sound Opinions)," C'mon, Sub Pop, 2011Robert Plant, "Monkey," Band of Joy, Decca, Rounder, 2010Led Zeppelin, "Black Dog," Led Zeppelin IV, Atlantic, 1971Low, "You See Everything (Live on Sound Opinions)," C'mon, Sub Pop, 2011Low, "Long Way Around the Sea," Christmas, Kranky, 1999Low, "Witches (Live on Sound Opinions)," C'mon, Sub Pop, 2011Low, "California," The Great Destroyer, Rough Trade, 2005Loretta Lynn, "Story of My Life," Van Lear Rose, Interscope, 2004Loretta Lynn, "The Pill," Back to the Country, MCA, 1975The Feelies, "Raised Eyebrows," Crazy Rhythms, Stiff America, 1980The Golden Palominos, "Clustering Train (feat. Michael Stipe)," Visions of Excess, Celluloid, 1985Taylor Swift, "Anti-Hero," Midnights, Republic, 2022

    Travels With Greg: The Dylan Center

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 28, 2022 9:18


    In this bonus episode, Greg recounts his experience visiting the Bob Dylan Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    D'Angelo's Voodoo & Bassist Pino Palladino

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 23, 2022 50:49


    This week, Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot dissect D'Angelo's masterpiece album Voodoo. They chat with author Faith Pennick about the record's context, impact and more. Then, the hosts will talk with the bassist who played on that album, among many others, Pino Palladino. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:D'Angelo, "One Mo'gin," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Playa Playa," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Chicken Grease," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Brown Sugar," Brown Sugar, EMI, 1995D'Angelo, "Devil's Pie," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Untitled (How Does It Feel)," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Africa," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "The Root," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Just Wrong," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Off The Cuff," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021Paul Young, "Come Back and Stay (Extended Version)," No Parlez, Columbia, 1983D'Angelo, "Send It On," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Feel Like Makin' Love," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000The Who, "Baba O'Riley (Live at the Hollywood Bowl 2002)," Who's Next, Decca, 1971The Who, "My Generation," My Generation, Brunswick, 1965Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Soundwalk," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Ekuté," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021D'Angelo, Femi Kuti, Macy Gray, and the Soultronics, "Water No Get Enemy (feat. Nile Rodgers and Roy Hargrove)," Red Hot + Riot: The Music and Spirit of Fela Kuti, MCA, 2003John Mayer Trio, "Who Did You Think I Was (Live at the House of Blues, Chicago, Illinois, September 22, 2005)," Try! Live in Concert, Columbia, 2005Low, "Long Way Around the Sea," Christmas, Kranky, 1999

    One more Cirzan Christmas tune

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 21, 2022 9:14


    In this bonus episode, Andy Cirzan shares a song from his annual holiday obscura mix that was too weird for the radio.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    The 2022 Holiday Spectacular with Andy Cirzan

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 16, 2022 51:05


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot welcome our crate-digging Kris Kringle, Andy Cirzan to share great holiday songs that aren't played-out. This year's collection is called "The Reindeer Sessions... Further Adventures in Holiday Obscura." Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Lenny Dee, "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer," Happy Holi-Dee, Decca, 1961Andy Claus, Santa's Singing Cousin, "Andy's Reindeer Song," (Single), Snowflake, unknownAnn Bennett, "Another Christmas Rolls Around Again," (Single), Bertlen, unknownTommy Hester, "Daddy's Drinking Up Our Christmas," (Single), Luck, unknownLeonard Feather and Friends, "Comet (the Reindeer)," Winter Sequence, MGM, 1954Lenny Dee, "Sleigh Ride," Happy Holi-Dee, Decca, 1961Cristy Lane, "Jesus Is A Soul Man," (Single), Extremely Brave, 1971Jimmie Dale, "There Are Reindeer Running (Down The Christmas Trail)," (Single), Original, 1953Modern Jazz Quartet, "Variation No. 1 On "God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen"," The Modern Jazz Quartet At Music Inn, Atlantic, 1956Unknown, "Santa Claus Is Coming To Town," unknown, unknown, unknownMartin Newell (w/ Andy Partridge), "Christmas In Suburbia," The Greatest Living Englishman, Pipeline, 1993Tom Waits, "New Years Eve," Bad As Me, Anti-, 2011Prince, "Another Lonely Christmas," (Single), Warner Bros, 1984Old Musicbox Melodies, "Auld Lang Syne," (Single), unknown, unknown

    More Best Albums of 2022

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 14, 2022 15:30


    In this bonus episode, Jim and Greg share more of their favorite albums of 2022.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    The Best Albums of 2022, Plus RIP Christine McVie

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 9, 2022 50:43


    As 2022 comes to a close, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot reveal their Best Albums of the Year, music they loved and couldn't stop listening to. They also hear selections from their production staff and pay tribute to the late, great Christine McVie of Fleetwood Mac. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:MUNA, "Anything But Me," MUNA, Saddest Factory, 2022Fleetwood Mac, "Everywhere," Tango in the Night, Warner, 1987Chicken Shack, "I'd Rather Go Blind," I'd Rather Go Blind (Single), Blue Horizon, 1969Fleetwood Mac, "Homeward Bound," Bare Trees, Reprise, 1972Katie Kim, "Eraser," Hour of the Ox, Katie Kim, 2022Santigold, "Fall First," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Lizzo, "2 Be Loved (Am I Ready)," Special, Nice Life, Atlantic, 2022Pinkshift, "i'm not crying you're crying," Love Me Forever, Hopeless, 2022Viagra Boys, "Punk Rock Loser," Cave World, Year0001, 2022Trupa Trupa, "Uniforms," B Flat A, Lovitt, 2022MUNA, "Kind of Girl," MUNA, Saddest Factory, 2022Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul, "Thank You," Topical Dancer, Deewee, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Lydia Wears A Cross," Pre-Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022The Linda Lindas, "Nino," Growing Up, Epitath, 2022Danger Mouse & Black Thought, "Belize (feat. MF DOOM)," Cheat Codes, BMG, 2022Wet Leg, "UR Mum," Wet Leg, Domino, 2022Sharon Van Etten, "I'll Try," We've Been Going About This All Wrong, Jagjaguwar, 2022Dry Cleaning, "Stumpwork," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022Nnamdi, "Dedication," Please Have A Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022

    Ganser adds to the Desert Island Jukebox

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 7, 2022 22:07


    In this bonus episode, Jim and Greg continue their discussion with Alicia Gaines of Ganser, including getting a few additions to the Desert Island Jukebox. Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Margo Price, Plus Opinions on Robyn Hitchcock & Plains

    Play Episode Listen Later Dec 2, 2022 50:33


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot welcome Margo Price back to the show to discuss her memoir, "Maybe We'll Make It." Since her first appearance in 2018, Price has recorded two albums, joined the board of Farm Aid and met almost all of her heroes. Plus, Jim and Greg review the new albums from Robyn Hitchcock and Plains, a new group from Waxahatchee and Jess Williamson. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Margo Price, "Change of Heart," Change of Heart (Single), Loma Vista, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "The Shuffle Man," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "The Man Who Loves the Rain," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "The Sir Tommy Shovell," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "Noirer Than Noir," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Plains, "Abilene," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Plains, "Summer Sun," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Plains, "Bellafatima," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Plains, "Hurricane," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Margo Price, "This Town Gets Around," Midwest Farmer's Daughter, Third Man, 2016Buffalo Clover, "Hey Child," Test Your Love, Self-Released, 2013Margo Price, "Weekender (Funk Version, Live at The Ryman, 2018)," Perfectly Imperfect at The Ryman, Loma Vista, 2020Loretta Lynn, "One's On The Way (feat. Margo Price)," Still Woman Enough, Sony Music, 2021Margo Price, "Hands of Time," Midwest Farmer's Daughter, Third Man, 2016Margo Price, "All American Made," All American Made, Third Man, 2017Margo Price, "Since You Put Me Down (Live on SNL)," (unreleased), N/A, 2016Margo Price, "Been To The Mountain," Been To The Mountain (Single), Loma Vista, 2022Wet Leg, "Chaise Longue," Wet Leg, Domino, 2022

    A Flying Saucer Love Song

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 30, 2022 7:49


    In this bonus episode, Jim pays tribute to Tropicália legend Gal Costa, who died in November.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Buried Treasures & Ganser

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 25, 2022 51:07


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share some of their favorite new, under-the-radar music you need to hear. Plus a conversation with vocalist and bassist for the band Ganser, Alicia Gaines. They discuss their latest EP, her extensive music knowledge and more. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Ganser, "People Watching," Nothing You Do Matters, Felte, 2022Susan Voelz, "Oyster," Trust The Wave Will Hold You, Pravda, 2022Fruit Juice, "I Don't Know," I Don't Know (Single), Swoon, 2021Stuck, "Do Not Reply (feat. Miranda Winters)," Do Not Reply (feat. Miranda Winters) (Single), Born Yesterday, 2022Katie Kim, " Eraser," Hour of the Ox, Katie Kim, 2022NoSo, "Suburbia," Stay Proud of Me, Partisan, 2022Soul Glo, "Gold Chain Punk (whogonbeatmyass?)," Diaspora Problems, Epitaph, 2022COIN, "Chapstick," Uncanny Valley7, 10K Projects, 2022Medicine Singers, "Sanctuary (feat. Medicine Singers, Yonatan Gat and Jaimie Branch)," Medicine Singers, Stone Tapes, 2022The Monkey Power Trio, "Turn And See Her," Cry Mama, 550392 Records DK, 2022Panic Shack, "The Ick," Baby Shack - EP, Brace Yourself, 2022Talkdemonic, "Barely Dawn," Various Seasides, Talknumeric Learning Center, 2022Ganser, "Lucky," Just Look At That Sky, Felte, 2020Ganser, "Bags For Life," Just Look At That Sky, Felte, 2020Ganser, "Emergency Equipment and Exits," Just Look At That Sky, Felte, 2020Ganser, "What Me Worry," Nothing You Do Matters, Felte, 2022Margo Price, "Change of Heart," Change of Heart (Single), Loma Vista, 2022

    D.H. Peligro: A virtuoso punk

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 23, 2022 6:12


    In this bonus episode Greg adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox in honor of D.H. Peligro, the drummer of Dead Kennedys. Peligro died in October at age 63.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Nnamdï, Opinions on Alvvays & Makaya McCraven, Plus RIP Mimi Parker from Low

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 18, 2022 50:41


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with genre-defying artist Nnamdi. They also review new albums by Alvvays and Makaya McCraven and pay tribute to Low's Mimi Parker. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:NNAMDÏ, "I Don't Wanna Be Famous," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022Alvvays, "Pharmacist," Blue Rev, Polyvinyl, 2022Alvvays, "Pomeranian Spinster," Blue Rev, Polyvinyl, 2022Alvvays, "Easy On Your Own?," Blue Rev, Polyvinyl, 2022Alvvays, "Belinda Says," Blue Rev, Polyvinyl, 2022Makaya McCraven, "Dream Another," In These Times, International Anthem/Nonesuch, 2022Makaya McCraven, "This Place That Place," In These Times, International Anthem/Nonesuch, 2022Makaya McCraven, "In These Times," In These Times, International Anthem/Nonesuch, 2022NNAMDÏ, "Touchdown," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022NNAMDÏ, "Dibs," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022NNAMDÏ, "Heartless," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022NNAMDÏ, "You Are Here (For Now)," Krazy Karl, Sooper,NNAMDÏ, "Anti," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022NNAMDÏ, "Careful," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022Low, "More," Hey What, Sub Pop, 2021Low, "Just Make It Stop," The Invisible Way, Sub Pop, 2013Low, "Long Way Around the Sea," Christmas, Chairkickers Music, 1999

    A Tribute to Low's Mimi Parker

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 16, 2022 13:39


    In this bonus episode, Jim and Greg give an expanded obituary for Mimi Parker of Low.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Video Game Music, Opinions on Rina Sawayama & Brian Eno

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 11, 2022 50:23


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot explore the expansive world of video game soundtracks. They chat with Los Angeles Times critic Todd Martens about the innovative ways video game music is exciting listeners and enhancing gaming interactivity. They'll also review new albums by Rina Sawayama and Brian Eno, and hear messages from Sound Opinions listeners. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Junebug & Ben Babbitt, "Too Late to Love You," Kentucky Route Zero (Original Soundtrack), Annapurna Interactive, 2020Rina Sawayama, "This Hell," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022Rina Sawayama, "Frankenstein," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022Rina Sawayama, "Hold The Girl," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022Rina Sawayama, "Send My Love To John," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022Rina Sawayama, "Forgiveness," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022Brian Eno, "Who Gives a Thought," Foreverandevernomore, Verve, 2022Brian Eno, "Garden of Stars," Foreverandevernomore, Verve, 2022Brian Eno, "We Let It In," Foreverandevernomore, Verve, 2022Jim Guthrie, "Lone Star," Sword & Sworcery LP - The Ballad of the Space Babies, Dark Flute, 2011Tycho, "Send and Receive," Hohokum (Original Game Soundtrack), Ghostly International, 2004Robyn Miller, "Myst Theme," Myst - The Soundtrack, Cyan, 1995Austin Wintory, "I Was Born for This," Journey (Original Video Game Soundtrack), Sony, 2012OFK, "Follow/Unfollow," Follow/Unfollow (Single), Teddy Dieff, 2021Daniel Olsén & Jonathan Eng, "Dead of Night (feat. Linnea Olsson)," Sayonara Wild Hearts, Simogo AB, 2019Melissa Carper, "Makin' Memories," Daddy's Country Gold, Melissa Carper/Mae Music, 2021Fantastic Negrito, "Oh Betty," White Jesus Black Problems, Storefront, 2022Teen Mortgage, "S.W.A.S.," Life/Death, King Pizza, 2019Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, "The Mercy Seat," Tender Prey, Mute, 1988Dead Man's Bones, "Pa Pa Power," Dead Man's Bones, Anti Inc., 2009Scorpions, "In Search of the Peace of Mind," Lonesome Crow, Brain, 1972The Who, "Sea and Sand," Quadrophenia, Track, 1973NNAMDÏ, "I Don't Wanna Be Famous," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022

    Representing Tulsa in Song

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 9, 2022 6:51


    In this bonus episode, Greg adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox from a band that always represented their hometown of Tulsa, Oklahoma. Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Superchunk Live, RIP Jerry Lee Lewis

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 4, 2022 51:05


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot are joined by indie rock stalwarts Superchunk for a live performance and interview at the Goose Island Tap Room in Chicago. The hosts also pay tribute to Jerry Lee Lewis. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Superchunk, "Endless Summer," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022Jerry Lee Lewis, "Great Balls of Fire," Great Balls of Fire (Single), Sun, 1957Jerry Lee Lewis and the Nashville Teens, "Good Golly, Miss Molly (Live 1964)," Live at the Star Club, Hamburg, Philips, 1964Jerry Lee Lewis, "Middle Age Crazy," Country Memories, Mercury, 1977Superchunk, "This Night," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022Superchunk, "Wild Loneliness," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022Superchunk, "City of the Dead," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022Superchunk, "Endless Summer (Live on Sound Opinions)," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022Superchunk, "If You're Not Dark," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022Superchunk, "Learned to Surf (Live on Sound Opinions)," Majesty Shredding, Merge, 2010

    Songs About Frankenstein

    Play Episode Listen Later Nov 2, 2022 6:06


    In this bonus episode, Jim adds his favorite song about Frankenstein to the Desert Island Jukebox.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Jimmy Jam on Working with Janet Jackson, Prince & More

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 28, 2022 50:14


    Since the 1980s, producers and songwriters Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis have made huge hits with artists like Janet Jackson, Boyz II Men and Mariah Carey. But finally in 2021, the duo released their debut album as artists. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot chat with Jimmy Jam about the record and his illustrious past work. Plus, we hear the song that got Garbage's Shirley Manson Hooked on Sonics. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Jam & Lewis, "Spinnin (feat. Mary J. Blige)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021Jam & Lewis, "Somewhat Loved (There You Go Breakin' My Heart) (feat. Mariah Carey)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021Janet Jackson, "What Have You Done for Me Lately," Control, A&M, 1986Jam & Lewis, "The Next Best Day (feat. Boyz II Men)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021The S.O.S. Band, "Tell Me If You Still Care," On the Rise, Tabu/Epic, 1983Cornbread Harris and Friends, "PutThe World," Cornbread Supreme Volume 1, 2631577 Records DK, 2002Janet Jackson, "Control," Control, A&M, 1986The S.O.S. Band, "Just Be Good to Me," On the Rise, Tabu/Epic, 1983Jam & Lewis, "Happily Unhappy (feat. Toni Braxton)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021New Edition, "Can You Stand the Rain," Heart Break, MCA, 1987Janet Jackson, "Nasty," Control, A&M, 1986The S.O.S. Band, "Take Your Time (Do It Right)," SOS, Tabu, 1980Janet Jackson, "Miss You Much," Janet Jackson's Rhythm Nation 1814, A&M, 1989Chaka Khan, "Angel," Funk This, Burgundy, 2007Garbage, "No Gods No Masters," No Gods No Masters, Infectious Music, 2021Stray Cats, "Stray Cat Strut," Stray Cats, Arista, 1981Superchunk, "Endless Summer," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

    Correcting the Record

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 26, 2022 6:57


    In this bonus episode Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox in response to a Patron's complaint about giving a legendary band short shrift. Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Pearl Jam's Long Road, Opinions on Björk & the Yeah Yeah Yeahs

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 21, 2022 50:38


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with music critic Steven Hyden about his new book on Pearl Jam. They recount the group's quixotic attempt to fight Ticketmaster at the height of their fame and how they've maintained their career since. Jim and Greg also review new albums by Björk and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Pearl Jam, "Even Flow," Ten, Epic, 1991Björk, "Atopos (feat. Kasimyn)," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022Björk, "Fossora (feat. Kasimyn)," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022Björk, "Sorrowful Soil," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022Björk, "Mycelia," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Wolf," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Spitting Off the Edge of the World," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Different Today," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Fleez," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022Pearl Jam, "Jeremy," Ten, Epic, 1991Pearl Jam, "Alive," Ten, Epic, 1991Pearl Jam, "Porch (Live at Lollapalooza 92)," Ten, Epic, 1991Pearl Jam, "Rearviewmirror," Vs., Epic, 1993Pearl Jam, "Better Man," Vitalogy, Epic, 1994Pearl Jam, "All Those Yesterdays," Yield, Epic, 1998Pearl Jam, "Yellow Ledbetter," Jeremy (Single), Epic, 1992Neil Young and Pearl Jam , "Rockin in the Free World (Live at the MTV Video Music Awards 93)," Freedom, Reprise, 1989Pearl Jam, "Release (Live in Chicago 2013)," Ten, Epic, 1991Pearl Jam, "Even Flow (Live in Chicago 2013)," Ten, Epic, 1991Mary J. Blige, "No More Drama," No More Drama, MCA, 2001

    The Second Hardest Working Band in the Midwest

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 19, 2022 4:51


    In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that celebrates musicians with a work ethic strong enough to give a great performance no matter how big or small the gig.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    John Carpenter & Spooky Movie Music

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 14, 2022 51:21


    It's that time of year again…spooky season! Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit their conversation with horror writer, director and composer John Carpenter. Then, they share their favorite spooky movie music. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:John Carpenter, "Halloween Theme - Main Title," Halloween (Original 1978 Motion Picture Soundtrack), Columbia, 1979John Carpenter, "The Shape Stalks," Halloween (Original 1978 Motion Picture Soundtrack), Columbia, 1979Bebe Barron and Louis Barron, "Forbidden Planet Soundtrack - a) Main Titles - Overture - b) Giant Footprints In The Sand," Forbidden Planet, Planet, 1976Bernard Herrmann, Joel McNeely & Royal Scottish Orchestra, "Scotty Trails Madeline (Including: Madeline's First Appearance, Madeline's Car, The Flower Shop, The Alleyway, The Mission, Graveyard, and Tombstone)," Vertigo: Original Motion Picture Score, Varèse Sarabande, 1995John Carpenter, "Dark Star," Anthology: Movie Themes 1974-1998, Rodeo Suplex, 2017John Carpenter, "Skeleton," Lost Themes III: Life After Death, Sacred Bones, 2021Dimitri Tiomkin, "High Noon - Theme," Movie Memories: Music from the Greatest Films, Colosseum, 1995John Carpenter, "Dead Eyes," Lost Themes III: Life After Death, Sacred Bones, 2021Frankie Valli, "The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine (Anymore)," The 4 Seasons Present Frankie Valli Solo, Philips, 1967Goblin, "Suspiria," Suspiria: The Complete Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, Cinevox, 1977Childish Gambino, "Redbone," "Awaken, My Love!", Glassnote, 2016Tobe Hooper and Wayne Bell, "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre," The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, N/A, 1974Magnet, "Willow's Song," The Wicker Man, Trunk, 1998David Lynch and Peter Ivers, "In Heaven (Lady in the Radiator Song)," Eraserhead: Original Soundtrack, I.R.S., 1982Luniz, "I Got 5 On It (feat. Michael Marshall)," Operation Stackola, C Note, 1995Mike Oldfield, "Tubular Bells, Part One," Tubular Bells, Virgin, 1973Tangerine Dream, "Rain In the Third House," Near Dark (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), Varèse Sarabande, 1987Colin Newman, "Alone," A-Z, Beggars Banquet, 1980Krzysztof Komeda, "Main Title," Rosemary's Baby (Music from the Original Motion Picture Score), Dot, 1968Bauhaus, "Bela Lugosi's Dead," Press the Eject and Give Me the Tape, Beggars Banquet, 1982Philip Glass, "Helen's Theme," Candyman (Original 1992 Motion Picture Soundtrack), One Way Static, 2014Pearl Jam, "Yellow Ledbetter," Lost Dogs, Epic, 2003

    A Tribute to Loretta Lynn

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 12, 2022 8:35


    In this bonus episode, Greg pays tribute to country great Loretta Lynn.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Kurt Vile Live at the Goose Island Brewhouse, Opinions on Amanda Shires & Nova Twins

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 7, 2022 51:13


    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot are joined by singer-songwriter Kurt Vile and a roomful of fans for a live performance and interview at the Goose Island Brew House in Chicago. The hosts also review new albums by Amanda Shires and Nova Twins. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Kurt Vile, "Wakin on a Pretty Day," Wakin on a Pretty Day, Matador, 2013Amanda Shires, "Take It Like a Man," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022Amanda Shires, "My Own Galaxy," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022Amanda Shires, "Hawk For The Dove," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022Amanda Shires, "Don't Be Alarmed," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022Nova Twins, "K.M.B.," Supernova, Marshall Amplification Plc and Nova Twins Ltd, 2022Nova Twins, "Cleopatra," Supernova, Marshall Amplification Plc and Nova Twins Ltd, 2022Nova Twins, "Antagonist," Supernova, Marshall Amplification Plc and Nova Twins Ltd, 2022Kurt Vile, "Pretty Pimpin'," B'lieve I'm Goin Down..., Matador, 2015The Sadies, "It's Easy (Like Walking) (feat. Kurt Vile)," Northern Passages, Yep Roc, 2017Kurt Vile, "Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone) (Live on Sound Opinions)," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022Kurt Vile, "Freeway," Constant Hitmaker, Gulcher, 2008Kurt Vile, "Flyin (Like a Fast Train) (Live on Sound Opinions)," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022Kurt Vile, "Like Exploding Stones," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022Kurt Vile, "Goin on a Plane Today," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022Kurt Vile, "Wages of Sin," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022Kurt Vile, "Pretty Pimpin' (Live on Sound Opinions)," B'lieve I'm Goin Down..., Matador, 2015John Carpenter, "Halloween Theme - Main Title," Halloween (Original 1978 Motion Picture Soundtrack), Columbia, 1979

    One of the Best Songs from the 2000s

    Play Episode Listen Later Oct 5, 2022 5:22


    In this bonus episode, Greg adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that he says, on certain days, would be in his top three songs released since 2000. Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Buried Treasures!

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 30, 2022 46:44


    As often as possible, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot love to share new, exciting, under-the-radar music. This week, they've got a brand new batch of buried treasures. They'll also hear some selections from the production staff and play messages from listeners. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Cari Cari, "Last Days On Earth," Welcome To Kookoo Island, perla nera, 2022Say She She, "Pink Roses," Prism, Karma Chief, 2022Ibibio Sound Machine, "Protection From Evil," Electricity, Merge, 2022Timothy Bailey & the Humans, "Great Man Singing," Timothy Bailey & the Humans, N/A, 2022Off Peak Arson, "Vivid," Vivid (Single), 3131749 Records DK, 2022Lev UFO, "Again!," Again! (Single), LevUFOrever Galactic, 2022Brittany Davis, "I Choose to Live," I Choose to Live (EP), Loosegroove, 2022Shannon & The Clams, "Year Of The Spider," Year Of The Spider, Easy Eye, 2021Lifeguard, "I know I know," I know I know (Single), Born Yesterday, 2022Polyphia, "Playing God," Playing God (Single), Rise, 2022CMAT, "I Wanna Be a Cowboy, Baby!," If My Wife New I'd Be Dead, AWAL, 2022Jake Blount, "Didn't It Rain," The New Faith, Smithsonian Folkways, 2022Korean Boyfriend, "Millions of Reasons," Yellow, Flowers, 2022Big Joanie, "In My Arms," Back Home, Kill Rock Stars, 2022Oneida, "Beat Me to the Punch," Success, Joyful Noise, 2022Pale Blue Eyes, "Star Vehicle," Souvenirs, Full Time Hobby, 2022Idles, "Danny Nedelko," Joy as an Act of Resistance, Partisan, 2018Jimmie Anderson, "Hero," Hero (Single), Jimmie Anderson, 2018MUNA, "Silk Chiffon (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)," Muna, Saddest Factory and Dead Oceans, 2022Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Kurt Vile, "Like Exploding Stones," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022

    A Tribute to Anton Fier

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 28, 2022 7:31


    In this bonus episode, Jim pays tribute to drummer Anton Fier by adding a song to the Desert Island Jukebox and sharing two life lessons he learned from interacting with Fier.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Women in Country Music, Opinions on Santigold & Sudan Archives

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 23, 2022 50:35


    Author Marissa Moss's new book "Her Country" details the challenges the country music industry puts before female artists. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with Moss about three artists who've succeeded in spite of the obstacles. Plus, they review new albums from Santigold and Sudan Archives and hear feedback from listeners. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Kacey Musgraves, "Merry Go 'Round," Same Trailer Different Park, Mercury Nashville, 2013Santigold, "High Priestess," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Santigold, "Fall First," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Santigold, "No Paradise," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Santigold, "Shake," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Sudan Archives, "Selfish Soul," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "Ciara," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "OMG Britt," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "ChevyS10," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "NBPQ (Topless)," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Mickey Guyton, "Black Like Me," Remember Her Name, Capitol Nashville, 2021Maren Morris, "My Church," HERO, Columbia Nashville, 2016The Highwomen, "Loose Change," The Highwomen, Elektra, 2019Mickey Guyton, "What Are You Gonna Tell Her?," Remember Her Name, Capitol Nashville, 2021Kacey Musgraves, "Good Ol' Boys Club," Pageant Material , Mercury Nashville, 2015Boogie Down Productions, "Jack of Spades," Ghetto Music: The Blueprint of Hip Hop, Jive/RCA, 1989Sinéad Lohan, "Diving to be Deeper," No Mermaid, Interscope, 1998Off Peak Arson, "Vivid," Vivid (Single), 3131749 Records DK, 2022

    A Canadian Euro-disco Song Bridging the 80s and 90s Sounds

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 21, 2022 5:06


    In this bonus episode, Jim shares a song from a forgotten Canadian act that he recently heard in the German TV show, Kleo.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU 

    Common's Like Water for Chocolate

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 16, 2022 49:51


    Over 20 years later, Common's album Like Water for Chocolate remains a socially conscious, hip hop masterpiece. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit an interview they did with Common during this time, plus they talk about the music, production history and lasting impact. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Common, "The Light," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Time Travelin' (A Tribute to Fela)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Take It EZ," Can I Borrow a Dollar?, Relativity, 1992Common, "I Used to Love H.E.R.," Resurrection, Relativity, 1994D'Angelo, "Brown Sugar," Brown Sugar, Virgin, 1995Common, "Funky for You," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "A Song for Assata," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Payback Is a Grandmother," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "The 6th Sense," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Thelonius," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Geto Heaven, Pt. 2 (Remix T.S.O.I.) [feat. Macy Gray]," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "A Film Called (Pimp)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Kanye West, "We Don't Care," The College Dropout, Roc-A-Fella, 2004Kendrick Lamar, "Institutionalized (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)," To Pimp a Butterfly, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2015Kacey Musgraves, "justified," Star-Crossed, MCA Nashville, 2021

    A Tribute to Joey DeFrancesco

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 14, 2022 7:11


    In this bonus episode, Greg pays tribute to the jazz organist Joey DeFrancesco, who died on August 25, 2022.Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Pedro the Lion Live, Opinions on Horsegirl & Julia Jacklin

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 9, 2022 51:07


    This week hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot welcome Pedro The Lion to the Goose Island Tap Room in Chicago for a live performance and interview. David Bazan recently brought back the Pedro The Lion band name for a five album cycle about each of the places he lived while growing up. The second installment, Havasu, came out earlier this year. Plus Jim and Greg review new albums from Horsegirl and Julia Jacklin. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Horsegirl, "Billy," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Horsegirl, "Live and Ski," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Horsegirl, "Anti-glory," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Horsegirl, "Homage to Birdnoculars," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Ignore Tenderness," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "I Was Neon," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Too In Love To Die," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "End of Friendship," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Be Careful With Yourself," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Foregone Conclusions," Achilles Heel, Jade Tree, 2004Pedro the Lion, "Don't Wanna Move (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Magazine," Control, Jade Tree, 2002Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Teenage Sequencer," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Making the Most of It (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Common, "Time Travelin' (A Tribute to Fela)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

    The true origins of grunge?

    Play Episode Listen Later Sep 7, 2022 6:18


    In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that he learned about from this article in Bust magazine. Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsJoin our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Claim Sound Opinions

    In order to claim this podcast we'll send an email to with a verification link. Simply click the link and you will be able to edit tags, request a refresh, and other features to take control of your podcast page!

    Claim Cancel