Kermode and Mayo's Film Review

Follow Kermode and Mayo's Film Review
Share on
Copy link to clipboard

Mark Kermode joins Simon Mayo to give his verdict on the week's movies

BBC Radio 5 live

  • British Podcast Awards
    2018 Listener's Choice

  • British Podcast Awards
    2017 Listener's Choice


  • Dec 3, 2021 LATEST EPISODE
  • weekly NEW EPISODES
  • 1h 52m AVG DURATION
  • 380 EPISODES

Listeners of Kermode and Mayo's Film Review that love the show mention: best film review, nazis, mayo, film reviews, irreverant, simon, one of the highlights, mark's, critic, review podcast, film podcast, bbc, movie review, best movie, opinionated, hello, don't always agree, love movies, directors, movie podcast.



Search for episodes from Kermode and Mayo's Film Review with a specific topic:

Latest episodes from Kermode and Mayo's Film Review

03/12/2021

Play Episode Listen Later Dec 3, 2021 115:07

Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo review the week's movies. Also on the programme, interviews with key figures from the world of cinema, as well as your emails and the latest Box Office top ten. Download the Kermode and Mayo podcast from the BBC Sounds app. Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Keira Knightley, Encanto, House of Gucci and Pirates

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 26, 2021 115:59

Keira Knightley talks to Simon about her role as Nell in Silent Night. Plus reviews of new Disney animation Encanto, about a young Colombian girl who has to face the frustration of being the only member of her family without magical powers; House of Gucci, which features last week's guest Adam Driver as Maurizio Gucci, and tells the story of Patrizia Reggiani, an outsider from humble beginnings, who marries into the Gucci family; Pirates, written and directed by Reggie Yates, and tells the story of three eighteen-year-old friends on their journey from North to south London on New Year's Eve 1999; documentary First Wave, which follows nurses, doctors, and administrators as they responded to the COVID-19 pandemic; historical drama Lapwing, about an isolated group of salt farmers who arrange illegal passage to Europe for an Indian Gypsy family in hiding; horror Shepherd, and Bad Luck Banging or Loony Porn, about a school teacher who finds her career and reputation under threat after a personal sex tape is leaked on the Internet. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:00:00 Podcast starts 00:18:50 Box Office Top Ten 00:43:18 Pirates 00:49:25 Keira Knightley 01:02:56 First Wave 01:04:54 WTF 1 01:10:04 Lapwing 01:25:04 Bad Luck Banging or Loony Porn 01:33:06 House of Gucci 01:42:03 Shepherd 01:49:44 DVD of the Week

Adam Driver talks about his role as Mauricio Gucci in House of Gucci, plus film reviews.

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 19, 2021 124:00


Adam Driver talks about his role as Maurizio Gucci in House of Gucci. Plus reviews of Jane Campion's The Power of the Dog, with Benedict Cumberbatch as charismatic rancher Phil Burbank; Ghostbusters Afterlife, about a single mother and her two kids who arrive in a small town and begin to discover their connection to the original Ghostbusters and the secret legacy their grandfather left behind; Céline Sciamma's Petite Maman, about a girl called Nelly who has just lost her grandmother and one day meets a girl her same age building a treehouse; Halle Berry stars and directs in Bruised, about a disgraced MMA fighter who finds redemption in the cage and the courage to face her demons when the son she had given up as an infant unexpectedly reenters her life; KIng Richard, which stars Will Smith as Richard Williams, father of tennis superstars Venus and Serena Williams; Drive My Car, about a stage actor and director happily married to his playwright wife who one day she disappears and documentary Dear Future Children, about three young female activists in Hong Kong, Chile, and Uganda coping with the staggering personal impacts of their activism. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:00:00 Pod starts 00:25:00 Top Ten 00:49:10 Petite Maman review 00:53:40 Adam Driver 01:11:40 Bruised review 01:31:26 King Richard Review 01:36:40 Drive my car review 01:46:10 Ghostbusters Afterlife 01:54:37 Dear Future Children


Andrew Garfield, tick, tick… BOOM!, Morthering Sunday and Cry Macho

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 12, 2021 119:42

Andrew Garfield talks about his role in Tick, Tick… Boom!, about a promising young theatre composer who on the cusp of his 30th birthday navigates love, friendship and the pressures of life as an artist in New York City. Plus reviews of Clint Eastwood's neo-Western Cry Macho, about a one-time rodeo star and washed-up horse breeder who takes a job to bring a man's young son home and away from his alcoholic mother; Mothering Sunday, starring Olivia Colman and Colin Firth in a film about a maid living in post-World War I England who secretly plans to meet with the man she loves before he leaves to marry another woman; Keyboard Fantasies, about Beverly Glenn-Copeland, a Black transgender musician, who becomes a cult icon three decades after the release of his album Keyboard Fantasies; documentary Becoming Cousteau, which takes a look at the life, passions, achievements and tragedies surrounding the famous explorer and environmentalist; Hungarian war drama Natural Light and documentary Procession, about a group of survivors of sexual abuse by Catholic priests who battle for justice. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:25:10 Top ten 00:52:28 Andrew Garfield 01:07:72 Tick Tick Boom review 01:14:23 Cry Macho 01:25:09 Procession 01:33:49 Mothering Sunday 01:41:54 Natural Light 01:46:20 Keyboard Fantasies 01:49:47 Dettori

05/11/2021

Play Episode Listen Later Nov 5, 2021 121:08

Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo review the week's movies. Also on the programme, interviews with key figures from the world of cinema, as well as your emails and the latest Box Office top ten. Download the Kermode and Mayo podcast from the BBC Sounds app. Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Chloe Zhao, Thomasin McKenzie, Last Night in Soho and Antlers

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 29, 2021 106:13


Chloe Zhao talks about her new film Eternals, Thomasin McKenzie tells us about starring in Edgar Wright's new film. Plus we have reviews of Harry Potter & The Philosopher's Stone on its 20th Anniversary re-release; Antlers, set in an isolated Oregon town, about a middle-school teacher and her sheriff brother who become embroiled with her enigmatic student, starring Jesse Plemons; Last Night In Soho, Edgar Wright's film about an aspiring fashion designer who is mysteriously able to enter the 1960s where she encounters a dazzling wannabe singer; Azor, about a private banker from Geneva who goes to Argentina in the midst of a dictatorship to replace his partner, who disappeared overnight; Sadie Frost's documentary Quant, about the life and legacy of 1960s fashion icon, Mary Quant, which features Kate Moss and Vivienne Westwood; Seven Samurai, Akira Kurosawa's seminal film about a poor village attacked by bandits; The Nowhere Inn, St. Vincent's film in which she sets out to make a documentary about her music, but when she hires a close friend to direct, notions of reality, identity, and authenticity grow increasingly distorted and bizarre; and the reissue of Blade, which stars Wesley Snipes as a half-vampire, half-mortal man who becomes a protector of the mortal race, while slaying evil vampires. Edith and Anna also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Denis Villeneuve, Dune, The French Dispatch, The Harder They Fall and The Boss Baby 2: Family Business

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 22, 2021 139:41


Simon and Mark's guest is Denis Villeneuve, who talks about his film Dune, based on Frank Herbert's 1965 science fiction novel and starring Timothée Chalamet, Rebecca Ferguson and Zendaya. Plus we have reviews of The Boss Baby 2: Family Business, in which the grown Templeton brothers have become and drifted away from each other; The Harder They Fall, Jeymes Samuel's Western starring Regina King; Wes Anderson's The French Dispatch, set in an outpost of an American newspaper in a fictional twentieth century French city, starring Léa Seydoux, Timothée Chalamet and Christoph Waltz; Dear Evan Hansen, the film adaptation of the Tony and Grammy Award-winning musical about Evan Hansen, a high school senior with Social Anxiety disorder and his journey of self-discovery and acceptance following the suicide of a fellow classmate; Bigfoot Hunters, in which a clickbait journalist is sent to the Appalachian foothills to cover a Bigfoot Convention and discovers there's more to this listicle than meets the eye; The Bacchus Lady, which deals with the issue of elderly prostitution in South Korea and Lucky Chan-sil, about a film producer who finds herself unemployed with the sudden death of her long-time collaborated director. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. . Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Sir Michael Caine, Halloween Kills, Venom, Ron's Gone Wrong, The Last Duel and The Velvet Underground

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 15, 2021 135:33


Sir Michael Caine talks about his new movie Best Sellers, about a cranky, retired author who reluctantly embarks on a final book tour to help out a young publisher. Plus we have reviews of Halloween Kills, starring Jamie Lee Curtis in the continuing saga of Michael Myers and Laurie Strode; The Last Duel, Sir Ridley Scott's film about King Charles VI declaring that Knight Jean de Carrouges settle his dispute with his squire by challenging him to a duel, written by Matt Damon and Ben Affleck and starring Jodie Comer; Venom: Let There Be Carnage, Andy Serkis's sequel starring Tom Hardy, Woody Harrelson and Michelle Williams; The Velvet Underground, Todd Hayne's documentary about the seminal sixties band; Ron's Gone Wrong, the story of Barney, an awkward middle-schooler and Ron, his new walking, talking, digitally-connected device; and Ear for Eye, Debbie Tucker Green's film following British and American Black characters of different generations navigating their way through today's society, offering a critical perspective on the state of the nation. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Jeymes Samuels & Regina King, No Sudden Move, The Addams Family 2 and Deadly Cuts.

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 8, 2021 134:03

Jeymes Samuel and Regina King talk about their new Western, The Harder They Fall. Plus we have reviews of Claudia Llosa's Fever Dream; animation The Addams Family 2, a sequel to the 2019 animated film, in which The Addams get tangled up in more wacky adventures and find themselves involved in hilarious run-ins with all sorts of unsuspecting characters; John and the Hole, a coming-of-age psychological thriller; black comedy Deadly Cuts, set in a working-class Dublin hair salon; drama My Little Sister; Romantic Road, a documentary about a leading London lawyer and his wife who motor across rural India in their battered 1936 Rolls-Royce; documentary Pier Kids, about about the gay and transgender youth who congregate around Manhattan's Chelsea Piers; and Steven Soderbergh's No Sudden Move, which stars Don Cheadle, Benicio Del Toro and David Harbour, about a group of criminals who are brought together under mysterious circumstances. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub-20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 09.42: CORRESPONDENCE 31.26: CELEBRATING CINEMA 34.00: BOX OFFICE TOP TEN / LAST WEEK 53.11: John and the Hole 57.56: Jeymes and Regina 01.14.45: No Sudden Move 01.18.56: Bond emails 01.26.55: WTF 1 01.33.03: Deadly Cuts 01.36.22: TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01.40.50: My Little Sister 01.43.17: WTF 2 01.44.57: The Addams Family 2 01.49.00: Fever Dream 01.51.36: LAST EVER FOOD AND DRINK IN FILMS 01.57.13: Pier Kids 02.05.36: Romantic Road 02.09.25: DVD OF THE WEEK

Ridley Scott and Jodie Comer, Anne at 13000 ft, Next Door and No Time to Die

Play Episode Listen Later Oct 1, 2021 140:41

Ridley Scott and Jodie Comer talk about their new film The Last Duel , about King Charles VI declaring that Knight Jean de Carrouges should settle his dispute with his squire by challenging him to a duel. Plus we have reviews of Next Door, Daniel Brühl's film exploring the subject of gentrification and social inequality in Berlin; Freakscene: The Story of Dinosaur Jr., which tells the story of one of the most influential bands on the American East Coast, who inspired the rock scene; Redemption of a Rogue, a black comedy about a prodigal son returning to his hometown to seek salvation for his sins; Christopher Walken in Percy v Goliath, about a Canadian farmer who takes on a giant corporation after their GMOs interfere with his crops; Anne at 13000 ft, about a volatile young woman challenged by everyday social and professional encounters; No Time to Die, about a retired secret service agent who is called back into action; Freshman, about a lonely college fresher who forges a strong connection with his resident assistant during a fraternity party; and European animation Even Mice Belong in Heaven, about two mortal enemies - a little Mouse and a Fox, who after an unfortunate accident, meet in animal heaven. And we'll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What's That Film. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. . Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

24/09/2021

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 24, 2021 129:33

Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo review the week's movies. Also on the programme, interviews with key figures from the world of cinema, as well as your emails and the latest Box Office top ten. Download the Kermode and Mayo podcast from the BBC Sounds app. Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Luke Wilson, 12 Mighty Orphans, Gunpowder Milkshake, The Starling and Everybody's Talking About Jamie.

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 17, 2021 130:48

Mark and Simon's guest is Luke Wilson, who stars in depression-era sports drama 12 Mighty Orphans. Plus we have reviews of Mandibles, about simple-minded friends Jean-Gab and Manu who find a giant fly trapped in the boot of a car, and decide to train it in the hope of making their fortune; Fauci, a glimpse into the life of infectious disease specialist, Dr. Anthony Fauci who has led the U.S. fight against every epidemic the country has faced from AIDS to SARS to Ebola, and of course COVID-19; Gunpowder Milkshake, about three generations of women who fight back against those who could take everything from them, starring Karen Gillan and Lena Headey; The Starling, starring Melissa McCarthy and Timothy Olyphant; musical adaptation Everybody's Talking About Jamie, about a teenager from Sheffield who wants to be a drag queen; Nic Cage's Prisoners of the Ghostland about a sadistic gang leader who is imprisoned and volunteers for a conduct-aversion experiment; and Mark reviews Stanley Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange, which is re-released this week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:25:31 Box Office Top 10 00:46:14 Gunpowder Milkshake Review 00:53:09 12 Mighty Orphans Luke Wilson Interview 01:07:16 12 Mighty Orphans Review 01:11:23 WTF 01:15:55 Rose Plays Julie Review 01:25:52 The Starling Interview 01:29:13 Mandibles Review 01:32:02 A Clockwork Orange Reissue Review 01:43:34 Prisoners of the Ghostland 01:51:03 Fauci Review 01:56:00 Everybody's Talking About Jamie Review

Jennifer Hudson, Respect, Herself, Copshop and The Voyeurs

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 10, 2021 128:22

Mark and Simon's guest is Jennifer Hudson, who talks to us about her role as Aretha Franklin in Respect, which tells the story of the icon's career from a child singing in her father's church's choir, to her international superstardom. Plus we have reviews of Herself, Phyllida Lloyd's film about a young mother who escapes her abusive husband and fights back against a broken housing system; First World War drama The War Below about a group of British miners who are recruited to tunnel underneath no man's land in the hope of breaking a deadly stalemate; The Collini Case, about a young lawyer who stumbles upon a vast conspiracy while investigating a brutal murder case; Copshop, about a cunning con artist on the run from a lethal assassin; The Voyeurs, starring Sydney Sweeney; Sweet Thing, about two siblings and their struggle to find solid ground in the homes of their alcoholic father and negligent mother. And classic drama The Servant is reissued. Plus we'll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What's That Film. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:22:13 Box Office Top 10 00:46:11 The Collini Case Review 00:49:32 Respect Clip / Jennifer Hudson Interview 01:02:48 Respect Review 01:18:49 Herself Review 01:24:30 TV Movie of the Week 01:29:20 The Voyeurs Review 01:32:53 Ninjababy Review 01:35:38 The War Below Review 01:44:54 Copshop Review 01:55:08 The Servant Review

Phyllida Lloyd, Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings and Here Today

Play Episode Listen Later Sep 3, 2021 124:00


Mark and Simon's guests are director Phyllida Lloyd and producer Sharon Horgan, who talk about their new film Herself, about a young mother who escapes her abusive husband and fights back against a broken housing system. Mark reviews Leos Carax's collaboration with Ron and Russell Mael of Sparks, Annette; Misha and the Wolves, the story of a woman whose holocaust memoir took the world by storm; Marvel's Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, about the master of unarmed weaponry-based Kung Fu, who is forced to confront his past after being drawn into the Ten Rings organization; drama The Champion of Auschwitz, the story of the pre-war boxing champion Tadeusz "Teddy" Pietrzykowski, who in 1940 arrives with the first transport of prisoners to the newly created concentration camp; Here Today, Billy Crystal's comedy drama about a veteran comedy writer who meets a New York street singer; Wildfire, the story of two sisters who grew up on the fractious Irish border; and Kay Cannon's modern take on Cinderella. Plus we'll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What's That Film. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 03.44- Correspondence 16.34- Welcome 20.20- Celebrating Cinema 24.36- Box Office Top Ten 37.10- WTF 43.45- Shang-Chi review 49.33- Herself, interview with Phyllida Lloyd 1.02.01- Cinderella review 1.08.10- WTF 1.11.30- Annette 1.18.30- TV Movies of the Week 1.22.50- Here Today review 1.28.35- Correspondence 1.33.00- WTF 1.34.35- Wildfire review 1.44.10- Misha and the Wolves review 1.49.37- Champion of Auschwitz review 1.53.30- Correspondence 1.58.13- DVD of the week


Timothy Spall, The Last Bus, Candyman, The Toll and Our Ladies

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 27, 2021 131:22

Actor Rufus Jones guest presents this week alongside regular supersub Anna Bogutskaya. Anna reviews Candyman, which is a direct sequel to the 1992 horror Candyman; Our Ladies, about a group of Catholic schoolgirls in 1990s Scotland; The Nest, starring Jude'Law, about an entrepreneur and his American family whose life begins to take a twisted turn after moving into an English country manor; darkly comic thriller The Toll, which stars Michael Smiley and Iwan Rheon; Souad, Ayten Amin's film about two teenage sisters in Egypt's Nile Delta; Demonic, which is about a young woman who unleashes terrifying demons when supernatural forces are ruthlessly revealed, and The Last bus, which stars this week's guest Timothy Spall. Plus we'll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What's That Film. Rufus and Anna also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. . Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 27th August: 12.10- Correspondence 25.15- Welcome 29.30- Box Office top ten 51.40- Soad Review 1.00.01- Tim Spall and The Last Bus review 1.16.16- Our Ladies Review 1.24.52- TV Movie of the Week 1.30.16- TV Movies of the Week, so bad it's bad! 1.34.53- The Toll review 1.41.23- Candyman review 1.52.13- Demonic review 1.58.30- The Nest 2.05.25- DVD of the Week

Kurupt FM, Niamh Algar and Prano Bailey-Bond

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 20, 2021 119:48

Ali and Robbie interview the cast of Kurupt FM about the new documentary, following their ill-fated trip to Tokyo - People Just Do Nothing: Big In Japan. Ali also talks to the star and director of new horror chiller, Censor - Niamh Algar and Prano Bailey-Bond. The film follows the story of Enid, a British film censor, who links a disturbing horror movie to the mysterious disappearance of her sister. Robbie and Ali also review Nicolas Cage in Pig, about a truffle hunter who returns home looking for his beloved pig; Reminiscence , about a scientist who discovers a way to relive the past using technology to search for his long lost love; David Bruckner's The Night House, a spooky new horror starring Rebecca Hall; and Henry Golding in Snake Eyes: GI Joe Origins, the latest of this superhero franchise. What's That Film continues, in which your mysterious half-remembered films are (hopefully) identified. Ali and Robbie also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Ryan Reynolds, Free Guy, The Courier, Wendy and I'm Your Man

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 13, 2021 117:31

Ali and Robbie's guest this week is Ryan Reynolds, who talks about his role as a bank cashier who discovers that he's actually inside a brutal, open world video game in Free Guy. Robbie and Ali also review Benedict Cumberbatch in The Courier, about Cold War spy Greville Wynne trying to put an end to the Cuban Missile Crisis; Coda, about Ruby, who is the only hearing person in her deaf family; Beasts of the Southern Wild director Benh Zeitlin's film Wendy, a reimagining of Peter Pan; Minamata, which stars Johnny Depp as war photographer W. Eugene Smith who travels back to Japan where he documents the devastating effect of mercury poisoning in coastal communities; WeWork: Or the Making and Breaking of a $47 Billion Unicorn, Jed Rothstein's documentary about the collapse of the office space company; and Dan Stevens in I'm Your Man, about a scientist who in order to obtain research funds for her studies, accepts an offer to participate in an extraordinary experiment. What's That Film continues, in which your mysterious half-remembered films are (hopefully) identified. Ali and Robbie also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:15:34 Box Office Top 10 00:35:03 Minamata review 00:43:54 Ryan Reynolds interview 00:55:38 Free Guy review 00:59:45 The Courier review 01:08:53 TV Movie of the Week 01:12:57 Wendy review 01:18:15 WeWork review 01:33:47 I'm Your Man review 01:41:46 Coda Review

Felicity Jones, The Last Letter from Your Lover, Zola and Stillwater

Play Episode Listen Later Aug 6, 2021 93:12


Edith Bowman and Anna Bogutskaya are joined by Felicity Jones, who talks about her new film, romantic drama The Last Letter from Your Lover, in which she stars alongside Shailene Woodley. Anna reviews drama Profile, in which an undercover journalist infiltrates the online propaganda channels of the so-called Islamic State; Stillwater, which stars Matt Damon as a dad who travels from Oklahoma to France to help his estranged daughter, who is in prison for a murder she claims she didn't commit; Zola, a black comedy film based on a viral Twitter thread, in which Taylour Paige plays the titular stripper who is convinced by her new friend (Riley Keough) to travel to Tampa, Florida, in order to earn money, only to get in over her head; Beasts Clawing At Straws, a crime drama in which a struggling restaurant owner, caring for his sick mother, finds a bag of cash in a sauna locker; and reissue Now, Voyager, which stars Bette Davis as a frumpy spinster who blossoms under therapy and becomes an elegant, independent woman; and Boys From County Hell, about a crew of hardy road workers who must survive the night when they accidentally awaken an ancient Irish vampire. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:13:04 WTF? 00:23:40 Box Office Top 10 00:37:27 Profile review 00:42:55 Now, Voyager review 00:47:19 Zola review 00:52:15 Felicity Jones interview 01:06:29 The Last Letter From Your Lover review 01:08:24 Stillwater review 01:12:45 Beasts Clutching at Straws review 01:15:51 Boys From County Hell review 01:22:42 TV Movies of the Week 01:28:25 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Jungle Cruise, Old, Vivo, Space Jam, The Sparks Brothers, The Suicide Squad

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 30, 2021 98:11


Mark reviews musical animation Vivo, which features all-new original songs from Lin-Manuel Miranda, The Sparks Brothers, Edgar Wright's documentary about the seminal band, who were our guests last week; James Gunn's The Suicide Squad, the ‘spiritual sequel' to the 2016 film, in which a team of dysfunctional heroes are sent on a dangerous mission; equestrian animation Spirit Untamed, in which a girl goes to live with her father over the summer in a small town, where she befriends a wild mustang stallion; Jungle Cruise, which stars The Rock and Emily Blunt in a film based on Disneyland's theme park ride where a small riverboat takes a group of travellers through a jungle; Limbo, a British comedy drama in which a Syrian musician awaits the result of his asylum application on a remote Scottish island and The Most Beautiful Boy in the World, a documentary about the Swedish actor Björn Andrésen who achieved instant stardom as a teenager in the 1971 film Death in Venice. Plus Mark finally reviews Space Jam and M. Night Shyamalan's Old. And Mark and Simon's North American Movie Road Trip concludes with films that best represent Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:11:46 Celebrating Cinema 00:15:09 Box Office Top 10 00:24:21 Old review 00:30:02 Space Jam: A New Legacy review 00:36:27 Ordering Food Scene 00:38:32 Jungle Cruise review 00:43:03 WTF? (What's That Film?) 00:50:33 Limbo review 00:53:41 Vivo review 00:57:10 Spirit Untamed review 01:01:43 North American Movie Road Trip 01:07:46 The Sparks Brothers review 01:16:10 TV Movies of the Week 01:20:36 The Suicide Squad review 01:26:58 The Most Beautiful Boy in the World review 01:30:08 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Edgar Wright & Sparks, The World to Come, Riders of Justice and Off the Rails

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 23, 2021 98:41

Mark and Simon are joined by Edgar Wright & Sparks, who talk about The Sparks Brothers. Mark reviews Vanessa Kirby and Katherine Waterston in period romance The World to Come, about two neighbouring couples along the mid-19th century American East Coast frontier; action drama Riders of Justice, in which Mads Mikklesen plays Markus, who has to go home to his teenage daughter when his wife dies in a tragic train accident; Night of the Kings, about a young man sent to ‘La Maca', a prison in the Ivory Coast; Werewolves Within, an adaptation of the video game; British comedy Off the Rails; and Bye Bye Morons, Albert Dupontel's comedy drama about a seriously ill woman who tries to find her long-lost child with the help of a man in the middle of a burnout and a blind archivist. Plus Mark will give his verdict on Space Jam 2: A New Legacy. And Mark and Simon's North American Movie Road Trip continues into New Brunswick. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:16:21 Celebrating Cinema 00:18:02 Box Office Top 10 00:25:00 Space Jam: A New Legacy (non) review 00:33:41 Werewolves Within review 00:39:12 Ordering Food Scene 00:41:17 Off The Rails review 00:45:12 Edgar Wright and Sparks interview 01:01:36 Here We Are review 01:05:43 North American Movie Road Trip 01:08:33 Riders of Justice review 01:12:43 Night of the Kings review 01:14:57 TV Movies of the Week 01:18:43 The World to Come review 01:23:20 Bye Bye Morons review 01:31:00 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Vanessa Kirby, The Croods 2: A New Age, The Forever Purge and Summer of Soul

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 16, 2021 114:14

Mark and Simon are joined by Vanessa Kirby who talks about her film The World to Come. Mark reviews animated sequel The Croods 2: A New Age; The Forever Purge, the fifth film in the American anthology media franchise; Nowhere Special, which stars James Norton as a young father searching for the perfect replacement family when he learns he only has months left to live; Questlove's concert documentary Summer of Soul; Jean Dujardin in Deerskin and Two of Us, a drama about two retired women, Nina and Madeleine, who have been secretly in love for decades. And Mark and Simon's North American Movie Road Trip continues into Newfoundland and Labrador. Plus for one week only, a quiz called ‘Where's Ray?' They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:17:49 Box Office Top 10 00:42:18 Nowhere Special review 00:46:46 Vanessa Kirby interview 01:04:52 Two Of Us review 01:07:08 Ordering Food Scene 01:10:40 The Forever Purge review 01:15:21 North American Movie Road Trip 01:22:49 Summer of Soul review 01:28:02 TV Movies of the Week 01:33:24 Deerskin review 01:36:51 Where's Ray? 01:43:29 The Croods: A New Age review 01:50:05 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Eddie Izzard, Black Widow, Tove, Truffle Hunters

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 9, 2021 111:13

Mark and Simon are joined by Eddie Izzard, who talks about her film Six Minutes to Midnight. Mark reviews The Truffle Hunters, about older Italian men who hunt for the rare and expensive white Alba truffle; Jason Isaacs in action sci-fi Occupation: Rainfall about survivors of an alien invasion; David Oyelowo's The Water Man, about a boy who sets out on a quest to save his ill mother by searching for a mythic figure said to have magical healing powers, To Be Someone, a drama set in the world of the mods; Tove, about the life of Tove Jansson, creator of the Moomin books; drama Jumbo, which stars Noemie Merlant as Jeanne, a shy young woman who works in an amusement park; and the latest Marvel film Black Widow. And Mark and Simon's North American Movie Road Trip continues into Québec. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:13:23 Celebrating Cinema 00:16:27 Digital releases 00:18:08 Box Office Top 10 00:35:27 The Truffle Hunters review 00:41:46 Tove review 00:44:04 Eddie Izzard interview 00:59:36 Jumbo review 01:04:22 To Be Someone review 01:09:25 North American Movie Road Trip 01:15:01 Occupation: Rainfall review 01:21:14 The Water Man review 01:28:03 TV Movies of the Week 01:32:55 Black Widow review 01:44:52 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Vin Diesel, FF9, Freaky, Fear Street, Another Round & Cannes preview

Play Episode Listen Later Jul 2, 2021 126:42

Ali and Robbie are joined by Vin Diesel who talks about his new film Fast and Furious 9. They will also review Nick Broomfield's examination of the unsolved murders of hip-hop artists Biggie Smalls and Tupac Shakur; Another Round, Thomas Vinterberg's Oscar-winning story of four secondary school teachers who consume alcohol on a daily basis to see how it affects their social and professional lives; Michelle Pfieffer as an ageing Manhattan socialite in French Exit; Vince Vaughn & Kathryn Newton as a serial killer and a schoolgirl who swap bodies; Chris Pratt in actioner The Tomorrow War; Fear Street Part 1: 1994, the first in a trilogy based on the books by R.L.Stine about a circle of teenage friends who accidentally encounter the ancient evil responsible for a series of brutal murders that have plagued their town for over 300 years; and Robbie will also preview the Cannes Film Festival and they'll briefly review Fast and Furious 9. Ali and Robbie will also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week which this week features a Dad Joke Battle. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:07:28 French Exit review 00:17:18 Celebrating Cinema 00:20:26 Digital Releases 00:25:55 Box Office Top 10 00:43:45 Last Man Standing review 00:53:51 Another Round review 01:08:42 Vin Diesel interview 01:18:11 F9 review 01:23:52 Fear Street Part 1: 1994 review 01:29:53 Cannes preview 01:34:52 Freaky review 01:41:48 TV Movies of the Week 01:46:54 The Tomorrow War review 01:56:16 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

David Oyelowo, Fast and Furious 9, Supernova and Sweat

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 25, 2021 110:40


Mark and Simon are joined by David Oyelowo who talks about his forthcoming film The Water Man. Mark also reviews the latest in the automotive action series Fast and Furious 9, in which Cipher enlists the help of Jakob, Dom's younger brother, to take revenge on Dom and his team; Supernova, which stars Colin Firth as Sam, and Stanley Tucci Tusker, who has been diagnosed with dementia; The Man Standing Next, a thriller set in 1970s Korea which is under the absolute control of the president Park; Sweat, Magnus von Horn's drama about three days in the life of fitness motivator Sylwia Zajac; Kindred, a horror/ thriller about a pregnant woman who suspects that the family of her deceased boyfriend has intentions for her unborn child; plus in the return of much loved feature Cream of the Streams, Mark reviews Fatherhood with Kevin Hart. And Mark and Simon's North American Movie Road Trip continues into Ontario. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:22:28 Celebrating Cinema 00:25:43 Digital Releases 00:27:06 Box Office Top 10 00:42:13 Kindred review 00:46:12 David Oyelowo interview 01:04:45 The Man Standing Next review 01:08:11 Fast and Furious 9 review 01:14:47 North American Movie Road Trip 01:20:42 Sweat review 01:23:52 Supernova review 01:28:33 TV Movies of the Week 01:35:35 Fatherhood review 01:41:47 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Ben Wheatley, In the Earth, Luca, Monster Hunter and The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 18, 2021 123:52

Mark and Simon are joined by Ben Wheatley who talks about his new film In the Earth. Mark also reviews new Disney animation Luca, about an unlikely but strong friendship between a human being and a sea monster disguised as a human on the Italian riviera; Monster Hunter from director: Paul W.S. Anderson, based on the CapCom computer game; The Reason I Jump, based on the book by Naoki Higashida, which explores the experiences of non-speaking autistic people around the world; It Must Be Heaven by Elia Suleiman; In The Heights, Jon M. Chu‘s film version of the Broadway musical in which Usnavi, a sympathetic New York bodega owner, saves every penny every day as he imagines and sings about a better life; and Ryan Reynolds, Salma Hayek, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and Samuel L. Jackson in action crime comedy The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard. Plus Mark and Simon's Movie Road Trip continues into Manitoba. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:26:48 Celebrating Cinema 00:30:33 Digital Releases 00:32:25 Box Office Top 10 00:46:37 Ben Wheatley interview 01:06:20 In The Earth review 01:13:14 In The Heights review 01:20:00 Monster Hunter review 01:26:03 North American Movie Road Trip 01:30:52 The Reason I Jump review 01:37:28 Luca review 01:42:55 The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard review 01:48:28 TV Movies of the Week 01:51:55 It Must Be Heaven review 01:59:13 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Olivia Colman and Florian Zeller, The Father and Ellie and Abby and Ellie's Dead Aunt.

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 11, 2021 110:03


Mark and Simon are joined by Olivia Colman and Florian Zeller, star and director respectively of Oscar-winning drama The Father. Mark also reviews Bob Odenkirk's new action thriller Nobody, about a mild-mannered bystander who intervenes in a crime; Ellie and Abby and Ellie's Dead Aunt, about a 17 year old who is struggling to find the courage to ask her classmate to an event; 69: The Saga of Danny Hernandez, a documentary about the ne'er-do-well rapper, Tekashi69, sci-fi Parallel, Ethiopian drama Running Against the Wind and another re-release of the classic Fargo. Plus Mark and Simon's Movie Road Trip continues into Nunavut. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents'. 00:23:58 Celebrating Cinema 00:28:24 Digital releases 00:29:34 Box Office Top Ten 00:43:11 69: The Saga of Danny Hernandez review 00:48:02 Ellie & Abbie (& Ellie's Dead Aunt) review 00:51:51 Olivia Colman and Florian Zeller interview 01:07:42 The Father review 01:13:52 North American Movie Road Trip 01:20:22 Nobody review 01:25:39 Parallel review 01:27:57 Running Against The Wind review 01:29:03 TV Movies of the Week 01:34:52 Fargo review 01:40:50 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


John Krasinski, A Quiet Place Part II, Land, After Love and Gunda.

Play Episode Listen Later Jun 4, 2021 104:03

Mark and Simon are joined by John Krasinski, who talks about his new film A Quiet Place Part II, about the Abbott family’s continued fight for survival. Other reviews include; Land, Robin Wright’s film about a bereaved woman seeks out a new life, off the grid in Wyoming; Flashback, starring Dylan O'Brien, about a man who both literally and metaphorically journeys into his past; After Love, which stars Joanna Scanlan as Mary Hussain, who suddenly finds herself a widow following the unexpected death of her husband; Gunda, a documentary looking at the daily life of a pig and its farm animal companions: two cows and a one-legged chicken, The Killing Of Two Lovers, about a man desperately trying to keep his family of six together during a separation from his wife and Shiva Baby, about a student who runs into her sugar daddy at a Jewish funeral service with her parents. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Saskatchewan. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:26:47 - TOP TEN 00:39:00 - LAND REVIEW 00:44:15 - AFTER LOVE REVIEW 00:49:12 - JOHN KRASINSKI INTERVIEW 01:03:23 - A QUIET PLACE PART II REVIEW 01:10:18 - CANADIAN ROADTRIP 01:15:21 - FLASHBACK REVIEW 01:20:36 - GUNDA REVIEW 01:23:57 - KILLING OF TWO LOVERS REVIEW 01:25:54 - TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:30:32 - SHIVA BABY 01:38:33 - DVD OF THE WEEK

Emma Stone, Cruella, First Cow, The Conjuring III and Demon Slayer

Play Episode Listen Later May 28, 2021 111:15

Mark and Simon are joined by Emma Stone, who talks about her role in Disney’s Cruella, along with director Craig Gillespie. Plus your essential cinematic and streaming reviews including; frontier drama First Cow, which stars last week’s guest Toby Jones; Surge, in which Ben Whishaw plays a man who goes on a 24 hour bold and reckless journey of self-liberation; new animations Earwig And The Witch, about an orphan girl who is adopted by a witch and comes home to a house filled with mystery and magic and Demon Slayer the Movie: Mugen Train; Dinner in America, a romcom about a disaffected punk and a young woman obsessed with his band unexpectedly falling in love; Ira Sach’s Frankie, in which three generations grapple with a life-changing experience during one day of a holiday in Portugal; and The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It, the latest in the horror franchise starring Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Alberta. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:14:48 Celebrating Cinema 00:17:22 Digital releases 00:19:34 Box Office Top Ten 00:30:50 Director of Peter Rabbit 2, Will Gluck interview 00:52:36 First Cow review 00:54:48 Dinner In America review 00:57:58 Emma Stone and Craig Gillespie interview 01:13:04 Cruella review 01:16:21 Frankie review 01:18:23 North American Movie Road Trip 01:23:35 The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It review 01:27:48 Earwig and the Witch review 01:29:49 Demon Slayer the Movie: Mugen Train review 01:31:30 TV Movies of the Week 01:36:36 Surge review 01:45:43 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Toby Jones, Peter Rabbit 2, Army of the Dead, My New York Year & Rare Beasts

Play Episode Listen Later May 21, 2021 102:52

In the first show back after some UK cinemas reopened, Mark and Simon are joined by Toby Jones, who talks about his new film First Cow. Plus your essential cinematic and streaming reviews including Irritating Rabbit 2, Billie Piper’s ‘anti romcom’ Rare Beasts, which she wrote, directed and starred in, Sigourney Weaver in My New York Year, about a graduate who takes a job working for reclusive writer J.D. Salinger’s agent, Zack Snyder’s Army of the Dead about a zombie outbreak in Las Vegas, documentary The 8th, about the fight to repeal Ireland’s 8th Amendment, The Human Factor, which tells the behind-the-scenes story of America’s thirty year battle to secure peace in the Middle East and The Dog Who Wouldn't Be Quiet. As audiences return to some UK cinemas we’ll take another look at the films that are available theatrically. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Northwest Territories. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:19:36 Celebrating Cinema 00:20:51 Current releases 00:23:22 Box Office Top Ten! 00:31:35 Peter Rabbit 2: The Runaway review 00:40:13 The 8th review 00:42:53 My New York Year review 00:47:09 Toby Jones interview 01:03:40 Rare Beasts review 01:08:32 North American Movie Trip 01:12:05 Army of the Dead review 01:18:01 The Dog Who Wouldn’t Be Quiet review 01:20:48 TV Movies of the Week 01:24:39 The Human Factor review 01:36:09 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Sigourney Weaver, Tilda Swinton, Those Who Wish Me Dead and Oxygen

Play Episode Listen Later May 14, 2021 105:55


In the last show back before cinemas reopen, Mark and Simon are joined by Sigourney Weaver, who talks about her new film My New York Year. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Taylor Sheridan’s action drama Those Who Wish Me Dead, which stars Angelina Jolie and Nicholas Hoult, Lance Oppenheim’s intriguing documentary Some Kind of Heaven, about the lives of people in a Floridian retirement village, Undergods, Oxygen (Oxygène), Alexandre Aja’s film about a woman who wakes in a cryogenic chamber with no recollection of how she got there, and Servants, about two students of a theological seminary in totalitarian Czechoslovakia. Plus there’s another chance to hear from Tilda Swinton about her new film, Pedro Almodóvar’s The Human Voice, a reworking of Jean Cocteau’s play of the same name. Our rotating and final chart is Top Five of Your Life, in which listeners share their five most treasured films. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Yukon. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:28:06 Celebrating Cinema 00:31:58 Chart: Top 5 Films of Your Life 00:37:35 Current releases 00:41:05 Servants review 00:43:30 Sigourney Weaver interview 00:58:31 Those Who Wish Me Dead review 01:03:21 Tilda Swinton interview 01:06:00 The Human Voice review 01:09:05 North American Movie Road Trip 01:13:00 Spiral: From the Book of Saw review 01:21:01 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:25:35 Undergods review 01:28:35 TV Movies of the Week 01:30:53 Some Kind of Heaven review 01:32:30 Oxygen review 01:37:42 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Steve Zahn, Cowboys, End of Sentence, Mortal Kombat and Fried Barry

Play Episode Listen Later May 7, 2021 106:02

Mark and Simon are joined by Steve Zahn, who talks about his new film Cowboys, about a father and son’s journey through the Montana wilderness. Plus your essential streaming reviews including martial arts actioner Mortal Kombat, Christos Nikou’s Apples, about a worldwide pandemic that causes sudden amnesia, End of Sentence, with last week’s guest John Hawkes starring alongside Logan Lerman, Agnieszka Holland’s latest, Charlatan, and Fried Barry, a Shudder Original, about a drug-addled South African who is abducted by aliens. And we hear from cinema expert David Hancock about the future of movies. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip heads over the border into Canada. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:31:31 Celebrating Cinema 00:32:14 David Hancock interview 00:43:24 Current releases 00:46:46 Apples review 00:50:49 Fried Barry review 00:53:59 Steve Zahn interview 01:08:45 Cowboys review 01:11:47 Charlatan review 01:15:45 North American Movie Road Trip 01:22:52 Mortal Kombat review 01:27:37 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:32:19 TV Movies of the Week 01:35:43 End of Sentence review 01:41:14 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

John Hawkes, Nomadland, The Mitchells vs The Machines and Wild Mountain Thyme

Play Episode Listen Later Apr 30, 2021 103:07


Mark and Simon are joined by John Hawkes, who talks about his new film End of Sentence. Plus your essential streaming reviews including big Oscar winner Nomadland, Emily Blunt and Jamie Dornan as lovers in Ireland who get caught up in a family land dispute, Michael B Jordan as John Clark, a US Navy SEAL, who goes on a path to avenge his wife's murder only to find himself inside of a larger conspiracy in Tom Clancy adaptation Without Remorse. We’ll also review The Artist’s Wife, about the wife of a renowned abstract artist who is plunged into a late-life crisis when her husband is diagnosed with Alzheimer's. And The Mitchells vs. the Machines, a new science fiction comedy produced by Sony Pictures for Netflix. Our rotating chart this week is the Official Film Chart. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip concludes with Alaska and Hawaii. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:25:18 Celebrating Cinema 00:27:14 Current releases 00:29:31 Chart: Official Film Chart 00:36:41 Identifying Features review 00:42:33 Wild Mountain Thyme review 00:48:16 John Hawkes interview 01:03:55 The Mitchells vs. the Machines review 01:08:38 US Movie Road Trip 01:15:29 Nomadland review 01:22:05 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:25:00 Without Remorse review 01:26:34 TV Movies of the Week 01:30:27 The Artist’s Wife review 01:37:11 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Cate Blanchett, Sisters with Transistors, Stowaway and Black Bear

Play Episode Listen Later Apr 23, 2021 112:18


Ben Bailey Smith and Anna Bogutskaya are joined by Cate Blanchett and Christos Nikou, who talk about their new film Apples, about a worldwide pandemic that causes sudden amnesia. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Black Bear, which stars Aubrey Plaza, documentary Sisters with Transistors which tells the untold story of electronic music’s female pioneers, House of Cardin, a documentary about designer Pierre Cardin which gives exclusive access to his archives and his empire, and new Homeward, in which a father and a son from a Crimean Tatar family transport the body of deceased older son and brother from Kyiv to bury him in Crimea, and Laddie: The Man Behind the Movies, about Alan Ladd Junior, the man who greenlit some of cinema's greatest hits including Star Wars, Alien, Chariots of Fire and Thelma & Louise. Our rotating chart this week is Top Fives of Your Life, in which wittertainees share their five most treasured movies. Plus Ben and Anna will be looking forward to the Oscars. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:13:40 Oscars look ahead 00:20:08 Celebrating Cinema 00:26:09 Current releases 00:31:07 Chart: Top 5 Films of Your Life 00:36:40 Black Bear review 00:42:28 Cate Blanchett & Nichos Kristou interview 01:04:15 Sisters with Transistors review 01:08:27 Oscars look ahead part 2 01:15:12 House of Cardin review 01:20:18 Stowaway review 01:23:32 TV Movies of the Week 01:33:57 The Race to Save the World review 01:36:23 Laddie: The Man Behind The Movies review 01:39:39 Homeward review 01:44:22 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. . We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Aubrey Plaza, Promising Young Woman & I Blame Society

Play Episode Listen Later Apr 16, 2021 89:11

Edith Bowman and Anna Bogutskaya are joined by Aubrey Plaza, who talks about her new film Black Bear, in which she plays a filmmaker at a creative impasse seeking solace at a rural retreat. Plus your essential streaming reviews including the new Neil Marshall film The Reckoning, about a young widow haunted by the recent suicide of her husband, The Sound of Scars, a documentary about the influential metal band Life of Agony, Emerald Fennell’s Promising Young Woman and Gillian Wallace Horvat’s I Blame Society, in which a filmmaker realises that the skill set to make a movie is the same to commit the perfect murder. Our rotating chart this week is from the week our presenter Edith Bowman joined BBC Radio 1 in 2003. Plus Edith and Anna will be looking back at the BAFTAs. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:09:10 Celebrating Cinema 00:13:09 Current releases 00:17:00 Chart: 2003 00:26:25 Promising Young Woman review 00:34:09 Aubrey Plaza interview 00:53:13 The Sound of Scars review 00:56:46 The Reckoning review 01:00:50 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:03:36 True Mothers review 01:07:59 TV Movies of the Week 01:14:12 I Blame Society review 01:16:48 Steelers review 01:22:06 Valley of Souls review 01:24:10 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Elizabeth Lo, Sound of Metal, Palm Springs and Assimilate

Play Episode Listen Later Apr 10, 2021 100:13

Mark and Simon are joined by Elizabeth Lo, who talks about her new movie Stray about stray dogs in Istanbul. Plus your essential streaming reviews including a 70s-set British supernatural thriller called The Power, Sci-fi horror Assimilate, Cornwall-set drama Wilderness, Andy Samberg in time-loop comedy/ fantasy Palm Springs and Riz Ahmed in Sound of Metal, who was interviewed on the show last week. Our rotating chart this week is the Official Film Chart. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through California and Oregon. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:31:06 Chart: Digital Top 10 00:40:39 The Power review 00:46:15 Elizabeth Lo interview 01:03:35 Assimilate review 01:06:10 US Movie Road Trip 01:15:07 Palm Springs Review 01:19:41 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:22:44 Sound of Metal review 01:27:26 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:31:38 A Common Crime 01:33:45 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Riz Ahmed, Godzilla vs Kong, Antebellum, Minari and The Mauritanian

Play Episode Listen Later Apr 2, 2021 118:14


Mark and Simon are joined by Riz Ahmed, who talks about his new movie The Sound of Metal, in which he plays a heavy-metal drummer whose life is thrown into freefall. Plus your essential streaming reviews including: Godzilla vs Kong, which pits two of the greatest icons in motion picture history against one another, Antebellum, in which a successful author finds herself trapped in a horrifying reality, Minari, nominated for six Oscars, about a Korean family who start a farm in 1980s Kansas, The Mauritanian, which stars Jodie Foster and Tahar Rahim in a story about a man detained and imprisoned without charge by the U.S. Government at Guantanamo Bay and Chaos Walking, an adaptation of Patrick Ness’s novel The Knife of Never Letting Go, directed by Doug Liman and starring Tom Holland and Daisy Ridley. Our rotating chart this week is the top fives of your life, in which listeners talk us through the most important films. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Arizona, Utah and Nevada. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:25::54 CELEBRATING CINEMA 00:36:16 LISTENER CHARTS - TOP FIVES 00:46:27 UNDINE REVIEW 00:49:55 CHAOS WALKING REVIEW 00:56:45 RIZ AHMED INTERVIEW 01:13:45 THE MAURITANIAN REVIEW 01:20:40 AMERICAN ROADTRIP 01:28:40 MINARI REVIEW 01:33:28 LOBBYDOWN CORRESPONDENCE 01:36:46 GODZILLA VS KONG REVIEW 01:40:11 TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:44:52 ANTEBELLUM REVIEW Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Carey Mulligan and Emerald Fennell, Tom and Jerry: The Movie

Play Episode Listen Later Mar 26, 2021 103:10

Mark and Simon are joined by Carey Mulligan and Emerald Fennell who talk about their forthcoming film Promising Young Woman, which has been nominated for five Oscars. Plus your essential streaming reviews including the latest cinematic adaptation of the classic Hanna-Barbera cartoon Tom and Jerry: The Movie, Ammonite, starring Saorise Ronan and Kate Winslet in a romantic drama set in 1840s England, Stray, a documentary about the world of Zeytin, a stray dog living life on the streets of Istanbul, haunted house flick The Banishing and explicit horror Violation. Our rotating chart this week is the box office top ten from this weekend in 2001. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through New Mexico, Colorado and Wyoming.. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk

Jodie Foster, Zack Snyder’s Justice League and Silk Road

Play Episode Listen Later Mar 19, 2021 119:13

Mark and Simon are joined by Jodie Foster, who talks about her new film The Mauritanian, based on the book Guantánamo Diary. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Amber & Me, a documentary about twin sisters, one of whom has Down's Syndrome, as they navigate through their first 4 years of primary school, Creation Stories, about the influential record label, and Zack Snyder’s Justice League, a longer cut of 2017’s Justice League. Our rotating chart this week is the box office top ten from last weekend in South Korea, where all cinemas are open. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:39:42 Chart: South Korea 00:45:48 Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown Period of Time 00:53:15 A Month of Single Frames review 00:54:53 Guest: Jodie Foster 01:10:59 Amber and Me review 01:15:32 US Movie Road Trip 01:22:20 Oleg review 01:25:02 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:29:54 Zack Snyder’s Justice League review 01:39:34 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:44:19 Silk Road review 01:46:49 Creation Stories 01:54:17 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Liam Neeson & Micheál Richardson, Judas and the Black Messiah, Locked Down and Cherry

Play Episode Listen Later Mar 12, 2021 102:34

Mark and Simon are joined by Liam Neeson and Micheál Richardson, who talk about their new film Made in Italy, about a bohemian artist who travels from London to Italy with his estranged son to sell the house he inherited from his late wife. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Judas and the Black Messiah, which stars Daniel Kaluuya and Lakeith Stanfield, about the FBI’s infiltration of The Black Panthers, crime romance Locked Down, in which a couple, played by Chiwetel Ejiofor and Anne Hathway, attempt a high-risk, high-stakes jewellery heist at a department store and Cherry, which stars Tom Holland as an Army medic suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Iowa, South Dakota and Nebraska. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:29:46 - CHART 00:37:27 - THE COLLUMIST REVIEW 00:44:45 - LIAM NEESON AND MICHAEL RICHARDSON 01:02:46 - MOUTHPIECE REVIEW 01:08:42 - US MOVIE ROADTRIP 01:15:48 - JUDAS AND THE BLACK MESSIAH REVIEW 01:21:11 - TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:24:25 - THE LITTLE THINGS REVIEW 01:26:55 - LOBBYDOWN CORRESPONDENTS 01:30:12 - LOCKED DOWN REVIEW 01:34:30 - DVD OF THE WEEK

Guy Pearce, The Last Vermeer, Raya and the Last Dragon, Moxie and Coming 2 America

Play Episode Listen Later Mar 5, 2021 101:37

Mark and Simon are joined by Guy Pearce who talks about his new movie The Last Vermeer, in which he stars as "Han" van Meegeren, a Dutch painter and portraitist, one of the most ingenious art forgers of the 20th century. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Raya and the Last Dragon, the new Disney animation starring Kelly Marie Tran, Awkwafina and Gemma Chan, Moxie, directed by Amy Poehler about a shy 16-year-old finding inspiration from her mother's rebellious past, and Coming 2 America, sequel to the 1988 film Coming To America. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Louisiana, Arkansas and Missouri. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:29:34 Chart: Top Five Of Your Life 00:43:11 Moxie review 00:47:02 Guest: Guy Pearce 01:02:50 The Last Vermeer review 01:08:25 Coming 2 America 01:13:29 US Movie Roadtrip 01:18:53 Raya and the Last Dragon 01:21:54 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:24:39 Into the Darkness 01:26:52 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:30:24 The Dissident 01:34:50 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Sienna Miller, Wander Darkly and The United States vs Billie Holiday

Play Episode Listen Later Feb 26, 2021 106:39

Mark and Simon are joined by Sienna Miller, star of disorientating new movie Wander Darkly, in which she stars alongside Diego Luna as new parents Adrienne and Matteo who are forced to reckon with trauma amidst their troubled relationship, revisiting the memories of their past and unravelling haunting truths. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Lee Daniels’ biopic The United States vs Billie Holiday, the documentary Poly Styrene: I Am a Cliché about the singer of X-Ray Spex, horror Wrong Turn and Erēmīta (Anthologies). Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Mississippi, Tennessee and Kentucky. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:36:32 Chart: Time Tunnel - 1991 00:42:53 Wrong Turn review 00:48:18 Algorithm review 00:51:29 Guest: Sienna Miller 01:07:24 Wander Darkly review 01:11:41 US Movie Road Trip 01:14:55 The United States vs Billie Holiday 01:19:02 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:22:09 Poly Styrene: I Am a Cliche 01:26:47 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:31:33 Erēmīta (Anthologies) review Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Lakeith Stanfield, I Care a Lot, Zappa and Music

Play Episode Listen Later Feb 19, 2021 111:18

Mark and Simon are joined by Lakeith Stanfield, who talks about his new film Judas and the Black Messiah, in which he stars as FBI informant Bill O’Neal, opposite Daniel Kaluuya as Fred Hampton, chairman of the Illinois chapter of the Black Panther Party, Plus your essential streaming reviews including Alex Winter’s documentary Zappa, Rosamund Pike as a crooked legal guardian who drains the savings of her elderly wards in I Care a Lot and Sia’s directorial debut Music, about newly sober Zu who receives news that she is to become the sole guardian of her half-sister named Music, a young girl on the autism spectrum. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Virginia, North and South Carolina, Georgia, Florida and Alabama. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:34:25 Chart: Australia 00:41:22 Bad Tales Review 00:45:05 Algorithm 00:47:35 Guest: LaKeith Stanfield 01:08:38 US Road Trip 01:15:28 I Care A Lot review 01:20:09 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:23:15 Music review 01:26:41 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:30:40 Zappa 01:35:55 Stump the Guesser 01:37:15 The Twentieth Century 01:39:41 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Paul Greengrass, The News of the World, Barb and Star and Willy’s Wonderland

Play Episode Listen Later Feb 12, 2021 108:25


Mark and Simon are joined by Paul Greengrass, who talks about his new western The News of the World, which stars Tom Hanks as a Civil War veteran who agrees to deliver a girl, taken by the Kiowa people years ago, to her aunt and uncle, against her will. Plus your essential streaming and cinema reviews including Kristen Wiig in new comedy Barb and Star and Nicolas Cage in horror thriller Willy’s Wonderland. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, the District of Columbia and West Virginia. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:21:19 Celebrating Cinema 00:36:41 The Chart: Digital 00:41:58 Willy’s Wonderland review 00:46:55 Algorithm 00:49:11 Paul Greengrass interview 01:04:13 News of the World review 01:08:18 US Movie Road Trip 01:15:57 Barb and Star 01:19:29 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:23:10 Slalom 01:25:06 TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:29:10 PVT Chat 01:31:11 Sator 01:36:16 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Sam Neill, Rams, Malcolm and Marie and Greenland

Play Episode Listen Later Feb 5, 2021 117:31

Mark and Simon are joined by Sam Neill, who talks about his new film Rams. Mark reviews of A Glitch in the Matrix which asks if we are living in a simulation, Stewart Lee’s documentary King Rocker, about Robert Lloyd, the lead singer of Birmingham post-punk band The Nightingales, new Netflix drama Malcolm and Marie, and Gerard Butler in actioner Greenland. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. 00:30:04 Celebrating Cinema 00:34:43 Current releases 00:40:28 Chart: Top 5s of all time 00:46:00 Simple Passion review 00:48:28 Algorithm Is Gonna Get You 00:53:47 Malcolm & Marie review 00:58:33 Sam Neil interview 01:10:30 Rams review 01:14:19 US Movie Road Trip 01:21:48 King Rocker review 01:25:18 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:29:02 Greenland review 01:32:56 TV Movies of the Week 01:35:58 A Glitch in the Matrix review 01:42:42 Life in a Day 2020 review 01:49:52 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Adam Curtis, Synchronic, The Dig and Palmer

Play Episode Listen Later Jan 29, 2021 102:08

Mark and Simon are joined by Adam Curtis, who talks about his new film Can't Get You Out Of My Head: An Emotional History of the Modern World. Mark reviews Synchronic, starring Jamie Dornan as a New Orleans paramedic, Beginning, which is Georgia’s submission for 'Best International Feature Film' at this year’s Oscars, Apple TV’s Palmer, starring Justin Timberlake as an ex-convict who strikes up a friendship with a boy from a troubled home and The Dig, which stars Ralph Fiennes as a self-taught archaeologist. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. 00:18:57 Celebrating Cinema 00:26:58 Chart: 2011 00:39:52 Beginning review 00:43:48 Adam Curtis interview 00:56:35 Algorithm Is Gonna Get You 01:01:51 The Capote Tapes review 01:05:09 Assassins review 01:06:35 US Movie Road Trip 01:12:24 The Dig review 01:16:53 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:22:05 Palmer review 01:25:12 TV Movies of the Week 01:27:41 Synchronic review 01:32:39 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Kevin Macdonald, Quo Vadis, Aida? 76 Days and White Tiger

Play Episode Listen Later Jan 22, 2021 106:46

Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo review the week's movies, including Quo Vadis, Aida? 76 Days and White Tiger. Plus an interview with director Kevin Macdonald to talk about Life In A Day 2020. 00:22:38 Celebrating Cinema 00:32:13 Algorithm Is Gonna Get You 00:39:28 Quo Vadis, Aida? review 00:44:02 The White Tiger review 00:48:34 Kevin Macdonald interview 01:05:26 Persian Lessons review 01:10:06 US Movie Road Trip 01:16:42 Baby Done review 01:21:32 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:26:07 Are We Lost Forever review 01:28:57 TV Movies of the Week 01:32:49 76 Days review 01:38:17 DVD of the Week Download the Kermode and Mayo podcast from the BBC Sounds app. Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Ralph Fiennes, Stardust, MLK/FBI, Blithe Spirit and Dear Comrades!

Play Episode Listen Later Jan 15, 2021 102:17


Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo review the week's movies, including Stardust, MLK/FBI, Blithe Spirit and Dear Comrades! Plus Ralph Fiennes talks about his new film, The Dig. Also on the programme, interviews with key figures from the world of cinema, as well as your emails, and the latest Box Office top ten. 00:22:37 Virtual American road trip films 00:29:28 Rotating charts 00:31:21 Pieces of a Woman correspondence 00:32:43 Top 10 Digital Downloads 00:39:06 Blithe Spirit review 00:42:25 Archive review 00:46:18 Ralph Fiennes interview 01:04:16 Dear Comrades! review 01:10:53 Stardust review 01:18:17 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:22:40 Imperial Blue review 01:26:47 TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:30:23 MLK/FBI review 01:35:22 DVD OF THE WEEK Download the Kermode and Mayo podcast from the BBC Sounds app. Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Vanessa Kirby, Pieces of a Woman, Sylvie’s Love and Vanguard

Play Episode Listen Later Jan 8, 2021 100:27


Ben Bailey Smith and Anna Bogutskaya are joined by Vanessa Kirby who talks about her new film Pieces of a Woman. Plus your essential streaming reviews including the new Jackie Chan film Vanguard, Tessa Thompson and Nnamdi Asomugha in Sylvie’s Love and drama documentary Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets, about the last days of a Las Vegas dive bar. Ben and Anna also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and count down the top ten films in UK cinemas. 00:25:25 Box Office Top 10 00:39:23 The Basilisks 00:43:04 Vanessa Kirby interview 00:57:46 Pieces of a Woman 01:05:07 Sylvie’s Love 01:08:17 Ham on Rye 01:11:50 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:15:43 Vanguard 01:20:12 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:26:07 Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets 01:35:05 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Best of 2020

Play Episode Listen Later Jan 1, 2021 76:27


Simon and Mark present their favourite bits of the show from across the year including reviews of The Ringmaster, Dolittle and I'm Thinking of Ending Things and interviews with Werner Herzog, Charlize Theron and Richard Dreyfuss. Download the Kermode and Mayo podcast from the BBC Sounds app. Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Pete Docter, Soul, One Night in Miami and Adoration

Play Episode Listen Later Dec 25, 2020 145:49

Mark and Simon are joined by Director Pete Docter who talks about his new film Soul. We’ll also have your essential streaming film reviews including documentaries Mayor and Sing Me a Song, and French drama Adoration. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and count down the top ten films in UK cinemas. Podcast timings: 00:47:47 Box Office Top 10 Of the Year 00:55:55 One Night in Miami review 01:02:54 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:07:52 TV MOVIE OF BOXING DAY 01:10:50 Adoration review 01:39:04 Sing Me A Song review 01:42:46 Pete Doctor interview 01:57:51 Soul review 02:09:39 The Mayor review 02:19:16 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Viola Davis, Wonder Woman 1984, Come Away and Let Him Go

Play Episode Listen Later Dec 18, 2020 112:31


Mark and Simon are joined by Viola Davis who talks about her film Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom. We’ll also have your essential streaming film reviews including Patty Jenkins’ Wonder Woman 1984, the sequel to 2017’s Wonder Woman, Kevin Costner in thriller Let Him Go and David Oyelowo in Come Away. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and count down the top ten films in UK cinemas. 00:39:08 Box Office Top 10 00:51:48 Let Him Go review 00:56:53 Viola Davis interview 01:12:39 The Woman Who Ran review 01:15:28 Come Away review 01:20:42 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:23:50 Wonder Woman 1984 review 01:29:22 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:32:59 The Macaloso Sisters 01:35:56 Farewell Amor 01:45:02 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment


Claim Kermode and Mayo's Film Review

In order to claim this podcast we'll send an email to with a verification link. Simply click the link and you will be able to edit tags, request a refresh, and other features to take control of your podcast page!

Claim Cancel